• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Happy 4870 User - But would like a new BIOS!

IceRich

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi all,

I have had my 4870 Sapphire 512mb ATI card for a few months now and its great. I have fitted a T-Rad2 and temps are now low. I have flashed the bios with that new one Sapphire released not to long back.

At the moment I put my clocks down to the minimum through cat control center (500/450) and move them to defaults when gaming. I would love to create a BIOS which has better power efficiency i.e automatically adjust the core/mem speeds when needed. And whilst in 2d mode have the clocks set to even lower what the cat center will allow me.

Can anyone offer any help?

Kind regards,

Rich
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
I anticipate a fella named FastMix posting up in here shortly.. or seek him out here, he has some very nice bios' for you card.:toast:
 

IceRich

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#3
Thanks for your reply erocker,

I have seen some of his posts, I may indeed seek him out - if he don't find me first ;)
 

IceRich

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#5
I guess I found you first.

There are 3 bioses attached to my signature, I use the second one but if you want higher clocks..go for the third one.;)
Thanks Fastmix,

What I am looking for really is more efficiency rather then extra volts (less volts really) or clock speed - unless gaming when I would like default clocks. What would you suggest I use? As said earlier, the one I am using now is that recently released Sapphire one :)

Also, I flashed my card last time through windows using a package someone made and it automatically installed through DOS, would you recommend doing it via the usb route next time. I have my card in PCIe slot 2 (if that makes any difference).

Thanks
 

Squark

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
Merry ol' England
Processor AMD X4 9950 @3Ghz (232*13)
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Air
Memory 4Gb (1Gb*4) Corsair XMS2 Pc6400C4DHX
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2
Storage 4*Sata
Display(s) Samsung 2253LW
Software Vista x64
#6
Are there any new BIOSs for the 4870X2?
I seem to have the crashing problems reported by 4870 owners with my X2

It it possible to lower the 2D clocks without a BIOS flash, mine are currently 300Mhz and 34°c
I'll post up how once I've remembered how to do it :)

(For me in Vista)
C:\Users\*name*\AppData\Local\ATI\ACE\Profiles
Open the XML file of the CCC profiles in note pad and change:

<Feature name="CoreClockTarget_0">
<Property name="Want_0" value="50700" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="80000" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="MemoryClockTarget_0">
<Property name="Want_0" value="50000" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="96000" />

<Feature name="CoreClockTarget_1">
<Property name="Want_0" value="50700" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="80000" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="MemoryClockTarget_1">
<Property name="Want_0" value="50000" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="96000" />

Edit the '50700 and 50000 values to the desired clock (I use 30000 - 300Mhz)
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Shanghai, China
System Name Windows XP
Processor AMD OP144
Motherboard DFI
Cooling T120
Memory DDR400
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage WD 1T Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative
#7
Wired! My 4850 can go to higher core/mem automatically. According to my practice, you'd better not set the Vol too low, and please have a look at my bois setting.



The two red panes I connected, actually, have some relations. And I found that we can not save our setting in the PP states structure. Maybe it's a bug.

Anyway, you can low down the clock, but do not low down the Vol too much.
 

IceRich

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#8
Hi guys,

Im now using a 4870 bios Fastmix posted (his second one in sig). I can't remember my exact power draw on the stock bios but im pretty sure im seeing an improvement. What do you guys think?



Would it be possible though to have 2d clocks reduced further?

Thanks,
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#10
much better than my 4870 ever was for low heat output / low power consumption