• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Hard drive damage....

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#1
ok so i got the girl friends laptop. her hard drive is fucked ok?....so i can do a low level format using xp (ntfs (quick)) however ntfs long or normal format hangs at 49%.....same w/ windows 2000 (same format system only long format is avalible) so i do a quicjk low level format ntrfs(quick) and i proceed to install the install gets about half way through than an error happens saying something bout broken cylinders...at this point i knew it was the HDD you see she gave it to me because it would hang at the boot screen the bar would keep going until it restarted.......so iv been running diagnostics currently its on a level 5 run of spinrite6 (amazing program) but if the recovery doesnt work and its been a tad successful...is their any way i can partition around the bad spot? so i can aleast get an OS on her?...i mean ill buy my GF a new HDD but i want the comp to work for her for now till i can buy one any ideas?
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#2
ok so i got the girl friends laptop. her hard drive is fucked ok?....so i can do a low level format using xp (ntfs (quick)) however ntfs long or normal format hangs at 49%.....same w/ windows 2000 (same format system only long format is avalible) so i do a quicjk low level format ntrfs(quick) and i proceed to install the install gets about half way through than an error happens saying something bout broken cylinders...at this point i knew it was the HDD you see she gave it to me because it would hang at the boot screen the bar would keep going until it restarted.......so iv been running diagnostics currently its on a level 5 run of spinrite6 (amazing program) but if the recovery doesnt work and its been a tad successful...is their any way i can partition around the bad spot? so i can aleast get an OS on her?...i mean ill buy my GF a new HDD but i want the comp to work for her for now till i can buy one any ideas?
no you cant partition the bad spot because either way when you use a hard drive the cylinders aren't actually seperated like you think its only a file on the hard drive telling it to split the space in 2. your best bet (and safest) is to get a new hard drive and stop messing around with that one, so that maybe just maybe you can recover some of her important data off of it before you completely destroy it.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3
;) already one step ahead of you haow dare you doubt my ability i have already recovered all of her data it sits on a dvd-r right next to me. hmmm well that blows..thnx for the advice but i shall continue to see what i can do w/ this.
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#4
wild shot try to install linux then you can make a scandisk it might work
or you can use the win 98 scandisk which have the option of corrects the bad cluster or areas
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#5
wild shot try to install linux then you can make a scandisk it might work
or you can use the win 98 scandisk which have the option of corrects the bad cluster or areas
did that but i think ill try again it hung at like 56% and held for hours so i gavbe up and just shut her down....but i think i might im just going to let spinrite run down then maybe ill plop suse on shit i love suse its wicked easy maybe if linux will install ill just give that to her after i set it all up..she doesnt game at all so it would be good.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#6
buy her an 8 gb pen drive for now...and install xp onto that :p or 2000 so its smaller and have her use it as an operating system until she can get a h.d.d (if her lappy allows boot from usb device)
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
iv tried making bootable drives but i never succeded any ideas whanna give me a quick run through....
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#8
iv tried making bootable drives but i never succeded any ideas whanna give me a quick run through....
depending on the actual laptop or desk top is if you can make a external device or pen drive a primary OS drive..usually you have to go into the bios and have the boot up config set to. "usb legacy device...than floppy...than cd rom as long as it picks up the usb device first it will see it in the windows setup but make sure you pull out the h.d.d first.
 

kha1i1

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
ottawa
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F
Cooling Masscool ALuminium cooler (i know, i know)
Memory 512 x 2 Corsair Value Select @ 2.5-3-3-8-2T
Video Card(s) ATI x700 Pro w/ 256MB DDR2 Ram
Storage 200GB Western Digital SATA-I
Display(s) Acer AL1916B
Case pos
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Enermax ~400/450W i
Software Vista Ultimate 64...ftw ;)
#9
ntfs quick is not a low level format, it just deletes the table with the pointer to the files, making the spots rewritable. everything you've described points to this drive being completely fucked. however, here are some things to try.

boot from the xp cd
go into the recovery console (i think it's r from 1st screen NOT repair windows.)
type fixmbr
type fixboot
type format X:/ where X is drive letter

that will attempt to overwrite the mbr in cse that's where the prblm is ; u can throw a scandisk in there but i find it's useless.

going to linux, while it may work, is not a valid t.s step. find the cause of the problem.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
ok new question....so its an averatec laptop and their site and customer service blows hard core...so i went on newegg...and im checking out..laptop hdds their cheap seagates WD hetachies etc...anything i should look for in particular..for example does it need to be..5400rpm etc? will their be computability issues?
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#11
ntfs quick is not a low level format, it just deletes the table with the pointer to the files, making the spots rewritable. everything you've described points to this drive being completely fucked. however, here are some things to try.

boot from the xp cd
go into the recovery console (i think it's r from 1st screen NOT repair windows.)
type fixmbr
type fixboot
type format X:/ where X is drive letter

that will attempt to overwrite the mbr in cse that's where the prblm is ; u can throw a scandisk in there but i find it's useless.

going to linux, while it may work, is not a valid t.s step. find the cause of the problem.

well yes you see i kinda understand that...however you miss were im looking for a temp fix for a week or 2 until i can buy her a new harddrive... and i know it seems to be completely fucked...i mean everything im getting all the errors and the diagnostic data from spinrite and boot and nuke tell my its physical damage however im buying time not really trying to repair though that would be nice i knew the second i booted the comp their was a thin chance.



sorry for my questions i know like everything bout desktops but laptops are not my cup of tea.
 

kha1i1

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
ottawa
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F
Cooling Masscool ALuminium cooler (i know, i know)
Memory 512 x 2 Corsair Value Select @ 2.5-3-3-8-2T
Video Card(s) ATI x700 Pro w/ 256MB DDR2 Ram
Storage 200GB Western Digital SATA-I
Display(s) Acer AL1916B
Case pos
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Enermax ~400/450W i
Software Vista Ultimate 64...ftw ;)
#12
ok new question....so its an averatec laptop and their site and customer service blows hard core...so i went on newegg...and im checking out..laptop hdds their cheap seagates WD hetachies etc...anything i should look for in particular..for example does it need to be..5400rpm etc? will their be computability issues?
all laptops (including teh averatec's ive seen) take 2.5" hd's. speed isn't usually an issue because a) 90% of 2.5's are 5400 RPM ; b) 7200RMP for 2.5 is ungodly expensive.

edit 2: i almost forgot. be sure to check ide/sata. im sure you're using ide but some drives for sale (especially oem/online) don't specify.

edit: post above. i understand your issue now.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#13
kk thnx...so i can use 5400 i just looked and it uses some mad slow ass 4200rpm drive ewww...so an upgrade to 5400 wouldnt hurt cause those are cheaper than the 4200 mainly cause their are more sized (GB wise) available.



EDIT::: damn ok so newegg has sata and sata 3gb/s and ata6...wtf is ata6?...so i did a little more researching...and the hdd is ide ata-100 are ata-6 and 100 intercompatable?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
Temporary solution? You've done it, the data is on a dvd-r...that's it really. Unless you are really lucky and install XP temporarily and it doesn't touch any bad spots, then you'll be able to run it, but don't install anything.

You could always get a live CD/DVD of a linux distro just so she can browse the net/emails etc.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#15
ya but what hard drive..will i be able to use ata-6 on a comp that has an ata-100 drive in it?...i mean wtf speed and interface diff.....i hate laptops..
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
I can run any laptop HDD with my adapter.

It's a normal IDE to USB adapter, and I have another adapter which turns the IDE into laptop compatible.

I hate laptops too....PITA.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#17
but i dont know what to buy...i mean newegg has ata-6 sata and sata 2 laptop HDD's and this laptop has an ide interface only thing is its speed is ata-100...so....im pretty sure it will work as long as i get an ide drive but is ata-6 slower or a diff name for ata-100?...and i dont want to buy an adapter this is the GF werew talking bout that shit would get BROKEN
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#18
but i dont know what to buy...i mean newegg has ata-6 sata and sata 2 laptop HDD's and this laptop has an ide interface only thing is its speed is ata-100...so....im pretty sure it will work as long as i get an ide drive but is ata-6 slower or a diff name for ata-100?...and i dont want to buy an adapter this is the GF werew talking bout that shit would get BROKEN
Uhh I think ata-6 and ata-100 are the same. Just googled it and one sight tells me that.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#19
lol yup just googled it myself..same damn thing ok thnx sooo much for the help guys time to hook the GF uop with 100 as apposed to 80gb..woot..gettin laid.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
ATA-6 is ATA-100. ATA-7 is ATA-133 or...SATA I lol
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,071
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#21
lol wtf im sooo dumb dude...i look underspecifications..at newegg and its like seagatye 100bg notebook drive ata-6 then under harddrive specs rated speeed ata-100...lol man...
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#22
lol wtf im sooo dumb dude...i look underspecifications..at newegg and its like seagatye 100bg notebook drive ata-6 then under harddrive specs rated speeed ata-100...lol man...
YEY for skim reading :p
 

kha1i1

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
ottawa
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo4-F
Cooling Masscool ALuminium cooler (i know, i know)
Memory 512 x 2 Corsair Value Select @ 2.5-3-3-8-2T
Video Card(s) ATI x700 Pro w/ 256MB DDR2 Ram
Storage 200GB Western Digital SATA-I
Display(s) Acer AL1916B
Case pos
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Enermax ~400/450W i
Software Vista Ultimate 64...ftw ;)
#23
lol glad u got it worked out. post the linky of the thing you're buying if u like. darknova is spot on with the ata6 explanation. then there's ide , lol. its such a retarded set of naming schema for standards/connectors/etc i dont know how ppl are supposed to figure it out.

e.g. i, in the know, did the same thing u did (skim read) and ended up with a mobo that doesn't support sataII. when i spec'd it, i saw sata and was expecting sataii (for my sataII hd, lol). i was wrong. mobo is k8n neo4-f <---another great FAILED naming schema.