• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hard drive gone MIA

Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,376 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#1
Was working fine yesterday. Was playing games and listening to music (game/backup drive). I have my entire music collection along with several backups on that drive with no recent hard copies that I desperately need. If I have lost all my music I will be pissed.

The drive does not show up in My Computer, during POST, or in the BIOS. I have no idea where it went and frankly, no idea how to get it back. What I need to do is throw it in another computer and see if it will show up that way, but im to tired and lazy to do it at this very moment. To much of a hassle. Any ideas guys?

Thanks
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,732 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,520
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
Well start at the beginning...we just gave someone else with a similar situation some help to diagnose his HDD, but when it was all done...it ended up a loose power plug.

Seems like a good place to start....jiggle it on boot up and see if it spins!?!
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#3
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,376 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#4
Well start at the beginning...we just gave someone else with a similar situation some help to diagnose his HDD, but when it was all done...it ended up a loose power plug.

Seems like a good place to start....jiggle it on boot up and see if it spins!?!
Heh. Your ever so close. Upon me trying another sata power plug, i noticed that there was a loose sata data cable going to the sata connection on the motherboard. Jiggled it back in and got back in windows and Vista read the drive. XD

Thanks for the possible solutions. Though you, sneekypeet, you are very close.

What I want to know is how it was working fine when i went to bed, then got loose by the time i used it this evening when i never touched it?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,732 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,520
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
just powering it up is enough sometims to losen something up....doesnt take much sometimes!
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,376 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#6
But from the sata port on the mobo? I can see on the hdd but the mobo?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,376 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#7
Now what I cant figure out is now that I got the hdd back why my sound immediately quit. Its not muted or anything and I even reinstalled the drivers and its a no go. Im hoping the PCI slot didnt go bad.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#8
Have you tried onboard? Or does your DFI have one of those PCI cards?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,376 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#9
In order for me to do onboard, I have to install a card like you did on the nF4 boards and that requires me taking out the motherboard.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,376 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#10
Got it!
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#11
When I had my old 36G Raptor Raid 0 setup I had issues were the RAID software kept saying there was an issue but HD tests didn't show any problems with the drives. Through trial and error I found it was the SATA cables coming loose from the drive so one day(on my day off with no one home to bug me) I opened the case and tortured the drives and sure enough I found it was from the HD's spinning up and down from shutting down and turning on that was causing the cables to become loose. Glued them to the drives and never had an issue for over two years(sold them).