• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Hard drive gone MIA

Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#1
Was working fine yesterday. Was playing games and listening to music (game/backup drive). I have my entire music collection along with several backups on that drive with no recent hard copies that I desperately need. If I have lost all my music I will be pissed.

The drive does not show up in My Computer, during POST, or in the BIOS. I have no idea where it went and frankly, no idea how to get it back. What I need to do is throw it in another computer and see if it will show up that way, but im to tired and lazy to do it at this very moment. To much of a hassle. Any ideas guys?

Thanks
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606
Likes
9,331
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
Well start at the beginning...we just gave someone else with a similar situation some help to diagnose his HDD, but when it was all done...it ended up a loose power plug.

Seems like a good place to start....jiggle it on boot up and see if it spins!?!
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#3
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#4
Well start at the beginning...we just gave someone else with a similar situation some help to diagnose his HDD, but when it was all done...it ended up a loose power plug.

Seems like a good place to start....jiggle it on boot up and see if it spins!?!
Heh. Your ever so close. Upon me trying another sata power plug, i noticed that there was a loose sata data cable going to the sata connection on the motherboard. Jiggled it back in and got back in windows and Vista read the drive. XD

Thanks for the possible solutions. Though you, sneekypeet, you are very close.

What I want to know is how it was working fine when i went to bed, then got loose by the time i used it this evening when i never touched it?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606
Likes
9,331
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
just powering it up is enough sometims to losen something up....doesnt take much sometimes!
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#6
But from the sata port on the mobo? I can see on the hdd but the mobo?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#7
Now what I cant figure out is now that I got the hdd back why my sound immediately quit. Its not muted or anything and I even reinstalled the drivers and its a no go. Im hoping the PCI slot didnt go bad.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#8
Have you tried onboard? Or does your DFI have one of those PCI cards?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#9
In order for me to do onboard, I have to install a card like you did on the nF4 boards and that requires me taking out the motherboard.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#10
Got it!
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,046
Likes
1,782
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#11
When I had my old 36G Raptor Raid 0 setup I had issues were the RAID software kept saying there was an issue but HD tests didn't show any problems with the drives. Through trial and error I found it was the SATA cables coming loose from the drive so one day(on my day off with no one home to bug me) I opened the case and tortured the drives and sure enough I found it was from the HD's spinning up and down from shutting down and turning on that was causing the cables to become loose. Glued them to the drives and never had an issue for over two years(sold them).