• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

hard drive

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11
#1
i want to bulid a new computer but i want to keep my old hard drive but i have to sell my computer with the hard drive so is there any way i could buy a new hard drive and copy every thing form my old hard dive to the new one. that way i would be abole to sell my old comp with all the stuff i hade on my hard drive and be abole to have my new hard dive in my new comp with all the stuff from the old hard drive?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
1,531 (0.35/day)
Likes
0
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard ECS NForce4 A-939
Cooling CPU: Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu GFX: Zalman VF-700AlCu, 2x120mm+5x80mm w/ Ultra 7ch Fan Controller
Memory Kingston 2x512MB DDR PC3200 Dual Channel 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 7900GT KO Superclocked
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.8/9 160GB SATAII NCQ in RAID0: 300GB total capacity
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 941BW (19" widescreen, 1440x900)
Case Antec P180B
Audio Device(s) Built in. 5.1Ch Logitech Z-5500 500w soundsystem, digital Coax connection
Power Supply Spire 500W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#2
yes its not hard. just save your hold hdd, build your new system with your new hdd, slave your old hdd to the new system, and transfer data. piece of cake.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
1,937 (0.48/day)
Likes
103
Location
Fremont, Ohio
System Name The Darkside
Processor Intel i7-2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB GSKILL Ares PC3-12800
Video Card(s) VisionTek R9 270x
Storage 250GB, 320GB, 1TB, & 2TB Seagate
Display(s) 40" Sharp Aquos Quattron 1080p
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Reltek
Power Supply Silverstone Strider 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
you should be able to get the drive, put it in, make a partition for your data you want to save and install windows on another partition
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4
Sure. Buy a second drive, then use Norton Ghost and do a disk to disk image. If you just want to keep your data, just install the second hard disk, and copy the data across. Don't forget, if your using a retail or OEM version of Windows (XP I assume), then you'll need to re-regsiter windows again due to the major hardware changes.
 

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11
#5
yes its not hard. just save your hold hdd, build your new system with your new hdd, slave your old hdd to the new system, and transfer data. piece of cake.
but i have to sell my comp first so could i buy a new hard drive put it in my old pc and the transfer every thing to the new one .
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#6
but i have to sell my comp first so could i buy a new hard drive put it in my old pc and the transfer every thing to the new one .
Well, there's the dilemma. Can you buy a smaller, cheaper hard disk so at least you can copy your data off?
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#7
Or burn data to CD/DVD.
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#8

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11
#9
Sure. Buy a second drive, then use Norton Ghost and do a disk to disk image. If you just want to keep your data, just install the second hard disk, and copy the data across. Don't forget, if your using a retail or OEM version of Windows (XP I assume), then you'll need to re-regsiter windows again due to the major hardware changes.
if i do that will it also copy windows xp from my old hard drive to my s hard drive
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#10
if i do that will it also copy windows xp from my old hard drive to my s hard drive
Yep, it sure does, though you will have to re-register again with Microsoft as it will mean a major change in hardware.