• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Hardware information needed

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#1
OK I am looking at changing one pice of hardware and well I was thinking of this mobo.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...Description=ASUS+Maximus+II+Formula&x=16&y=35
Or this cpu .
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115041

Reasons for the mobo change is Massive V-Drop ( really the only grip I have with this mobo at all ) .

Reason for changing CPU well the Q6600 is getting old and I see that the Q9550 is a much faster and smaller die and a true Quad core and well new all around . V-Drop on mobo will not be as big a deal as with the Q6600 power hog .

So what would you do if you only had one thing you could change and these where the only reason's ?
 

Woody112

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
562 (0.16/day)
Likes
74
Location
Florida
System Name Woody's MBP
Processor 2.4 C2D
Cooling Frikin Air
Memory Munskin 2x2 gig 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 9400gt/9600gt W/512mb
Storage 1TB WD scorpio blue
Display(s) 15.4" on lapie/ 24" Acer P241w on the wall/ 52" LCD TV
Software OSX/ Win 7
#2
I'd go with a new board. New board you should be able to push that 6600 to 4ghz.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#3
I'd go with a new board. New board you should be able to push that 6600 to 4ghz.
No I think the highest this will get is 3.8GHz as I can reach it for benchmarking on this mobo right now and really even if I could get 4GHz out of it how is that stacking up when you look at the Q9550 at even 3.8GHz ?
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#4
I would just get a new mobo. If you don't like something about it, why would you put a new processor in it and then still have to deal with the part of the mobo you don't like?
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#5
I would just get a new mobo. If you don't like something about it, why would you put a new processor in it and then still have to deal with the part of the mobo you don't like?
Well the only gripe I have is V-Drop and well with only one gripe that is not really all that big of a deal I think and well the CPU would be a real difference right ? if not then the mobo it is :rockout: .
I mean would you get rid of a mobo just because it have V-Drop and nothing els ?
 

Woody112

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
562 (0.16/day)
Likes
74
Location
Florida
System Name Woody's MBP
Processor 2.4 C2D
Cooling Frikin Air
Memory Munskin 2x2 gig 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 9400gt/9600gt W/512mb
Storage 1TB WD scorpio blue
Display(s) 15.4" on lapie/ 24" Acer P241w on the wall/ 52" LCD TV
Software OSX/ Win 7
#6
No I think the highest this will get is 3.8GHz as I can reach it for benchmarking on this mobo right now and really even if I could get 4GHz out of it how is that stacking up when you look at the Q9550 at even 3.8GHz ?
I had a Q6600 in my current rig then was able to obtain a 9770. Did some testing with it at different clocks and with my x48bt2 my 6600 would only do 3.6ghz so I clocked my 9770 at 3.6 and left it at 1600mhz fsb mind you my 6600 was also running a 1600fsb. Ran 3dmark06 and my 9770 only scored 100+ points higher that my 6600.
I was never able to get my 6600 to 4ghz mainly due to the board I have. Intel boards have never been much for overclockers, and I mainly buy them for their rock solid reliability. But now I'm wanting to push this 9770 to the wall and my current board just isn't up to it.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#7
I had a Q6600 in my current rig then was able to obtain a 9770. Did some testing with it at different clocks and with my x48bt2 my 6600 would only do 3.6ghz so I clocked my 9770 at 3.6 and left it at 1600mhz fsb mind you my 6600 was also running a 1600fsb. Ran 3dmark06 and my 9770 only scored 100+ points higher that my 6600.
I was never able to get my 6600 to 4ghz mainly due to the board I have. Intel boards have never been much for overclockers, and I mainly buy them for their rock solid reliability. But now I'm wanting to push this 9770 to the wall and my current board just isn't up to it.
Well the I just want to know if any one would get rid of a mobo because of V-Drop first off . And this CPU is really at the Wall any way 3.7GHz is very fast yes but it is also getting very old and a 45nm Chip will perform better ? Am I getting a new mobo for the right reason ? it works really great aside for that one small problem and all . I want to be sure that if I get rid of this mobo for a different one that I am making it to get more performance not just to cure a V-Drop problem , you know ?
 

Woody112

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
562 (0.16/day)
Likes
74
Location
Florida
System Name Woody's MBP
Processor 2.4 C2D
Cooling Frikin Air
Memory Munskin 2x2 gig 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 9400gt/9600gt W/512mb
Storage 1TB WD scorpio blue
Display(s) 15.4" on lapie/ 24" Acer P241w on the wall/ 52" LCD TV
Software OSX/ Win 7
#8
Well the I just want to know if any one would get rid of a mobo because of V-Drop first off . And this CPU is really at the Wall any way 3.7GHz is very fast yes but it is also getting very old and a 45nm Chip will perform better ? Am I getting a new mobo for the right reason ? it works really great aside for that one small problem and all . I want to be sure that if I get rid of this mobo for a different one that I am making it to get more performance not just to cure a V-Drop problem , you know ?
The only way I would get rid of a board for that reason is if it was inhibiting the overclock potential of a cpu other than that, no I wouldn't get rid of it for having V-Drop.:toast:
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#9
The only way I would get rid of a board for that reason is if it was inhibiting the overclock potential of a cpu other than that, no I wouldn't get rid of it for having V-Drop.:toast:
Well it really is not I am stable at 3.7GHz and really that is pushing this CPU to the MAX . This is a nice mobo I like it and all I want more performance and well if changing the mobo will not give me more performance out of the current components then I will ask will getting the Q9550 do it then I can over clock the Q9550 right ? Netting me even more performance ?
 

Woody112

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
562 (0.16/day)
Likes
74
Location
Florida
System Name Woody's MBP
Processor 2.4 C2D
Cooling Frikin Air
Memory Munskin 2x2 gig 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 9400gt/9600gt W/512mb
Storage 1TB WD scorpio blue
Display(s) 15.4" on lapie/ 24" Acer P241w on the wall/ 52" LCD TV
Software OSX/ Win 7
#10
Well it really is not I am stable at 3.7GHz and really that is pushing this CPU to the MAX . This is a nice mobo I like it and all I want more performance and well if changing the mobo will not give me more performance out of the current components then I will ask will getting the Q9550 do it then I can over clock the Q9550 right ? Netting me even more performance ?
Ya that would be your best option in this case. I've seen alot of people push the 6600 past 4ghz stable and was assuming your board was holding you back. I don't believe this to be the case now. So ya I'd go with a new chip in this case. You should be able to overclock that 9550 very well.

Now if I could only find a x48 rampage extreme for 200 bucks:D
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#11
Ya that would be your best option in this case. I've seen alot of people push the 6600 past 4ghz stable and was assuming your board was holding you back. I don't believe this to be the case now. So ya I'd go with a new chip in this case. You should be able to overclock that 9550 very well.

Now if I could only find a x48 rampage extreme for 200 bucks:D
Yeah this is just what I have been thinking taking the priced into account and the performance gain as well I just can't see getting a new mobo for this CPU . The Q9550 will net me more gains than the Q6600 as I have really tapped it for ALL she has .
Well that has put my mind at ease I want to thank you for the help and for clearing it up for me as well . Man next week is going to be a big week for me :D .
 

Woody112

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
562 (0.16/day)
Likes
74
Location
Florida
System Name Woody's MBP
Processor 2.4 C2D
Cooling Frikin Air
Memory Munskin 2x2 gig 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 9400gt/9600gt W/512mb
Storage 1TB WD scorpio blue
Display(s) 15.4" on lapie/ 24" Acer P241w on the wall/ 52" LCD TV
Software OSX/ Win 7
#12
Yeah this is just what I have been thinking taking the priced into account and the performance gain as well I just can't see getting a new mobo for this CPU . The Q9550 will net me more gains than the Q6600 as I have really tapped it for ALL she has .
Well that has put my mind at ease I want to thank you for the help and for clearing it up for me as well . Man next week is going to be a big week for me :D .
Ya that first week after getting new hardware is always fun.:D Glad I could be of help and Good luck.:toast:
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#13
Ya that first week after getting new hardware is always fun.:D Glad I could be of help and Good luck.:toast:
Yeah it is fun . I haven't picked it up yet still looking for the very lowest price I can get one for ...
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#14
I would get the Q9550. Your mobo is good and that Q6600 doesn't have that much room to improve.