• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hardware or Software issue?

Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
5 (0.19/day)
System Name DESKTOP-VQ1IHPE
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700k CPU @ 3.70GHz 3.70GHz
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z370-P ATX CROSSFIRE SATA 6 USB 3.1 LGA 1151 M.2
Cooling CPU wattercooler
Memory 16 GB RAM
Video Card(s) Nividia Geforce RTX 2080 TI 11GB GDDR6
Storage 2TB
Display(s) ASUS ROGPG279
Case Black Cyberpowerpc Onyxia Mid Tower Gaming Case with Tempered Glass Window Retail
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 P2 Platinum
Mouse Cyberpowerpc standard gaming mouse
Keyboard Cyberpowerpc standard gaming keyboard
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Hello Techpowerup, i recently had a random 1 second power outage last week while playing a game, apon gaining my power back 1 of the fans in my pc ran abnormaly loud, i didn't know if it was my graphics card or case fan, out of fear i turned it off to avoid further damage. the 1st thing i notice when i started my pc was my monitor on the fritz. after turning it on and off over and over i finaly got it working again, but isn't the real issue at hand. So, i booted up the game i was playing (FF14 online) before the random power outage and noticed that there was this bizzare "quality like tears" rather than screen tears. After and hour of tweaking settings i could not restore the performance to what it was before. I then tried other games to see if it was the same issue. There were no quality like tears like in FF14 Online, but there was a problem of how it renders quality of far away objects and some at even close range. Its almost the same for every game i play.
The 1st thing i tried was uninstalling the nividia graphics driver, restarted pc and reninstalled it. Sadly it did not work. I then thought it might just be my monitor and switched my display with my old Monitor and still the issue persists, so its not my monitor. Now i switched my current GPU, the RTX 2080 TI to my old one, GTX 1070 TI, along with my current PSU to my old 1 incase there were damaged power cables. Still, it changed nothing. At this point im at a complete loss. I can't identify if this is a hardware or software problem, nor how to solve it.
here is a link to a vid i record of such issue.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,113 (0.23/day)
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900x @4.2-4.46
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3466mhz
Video Card(s) Titan V HBM2 12GB
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/120gbKingston ssd
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
I noticed the shimmering, maybe your pc thinks it crashed and has lowered your settings ingame. check GeForce experience and its profile for this game is optimised. Good luck!:toast:
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
5 (0.19/day)
System Name DESKTOP-VQ1IHPE
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700k CPU @ 3.70GHz 3.70GHz
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z370-P ATX CROSSFIRE SATA 6 USB 3.1 LGA 1151 M.2
Cooling CPU wattercooler
Memory 16 GB RAM
Video Card(s) Nividia Geforce RTX 2080 TI 11GB GDDR6
Storage 2TB
Display(s) ASUS ROGPG279
Case Black Cyberpowerpc Onyxia Mid Tower Gaming Case with Tempered Glass Window Retail
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 P2 Platinum
Mouse Cyberpowerpc standard gaming mouse
Keyboard Cyberpowerpc standard gaming keyboard
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Tysm for the reply! I did indeed try that, but no matter how much i tried geforce and ingame otimization its still wonky. Its been REALLY hard to pinpoint the cause of this.

here is another of a dif game.

Notice how the candles change in quality in such a close range?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,733 (6.03/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Try removing the power strip from outlet and plug directly in.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
6,913 (3.09/day)
Location
USA
My advice is to turn off all optimizations and set everything manually. I do this for every game in my collection because of glitches like this.

And Welcome to TPU!
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
5 (0.19/day)
System Name DESKTOP-VQ1IHPE
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700k CPU @ 3.70GHz 3.70GHz
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z370-P ATX CROSSFIRE SATA 6 USB 3.1 LGA 1151 M.2
Cooling CPU wattercooler
Memory 16 GB RAM
Video Card(s) Nividia Geforce RTX 2080 TI 11GB GDDR6
Storage 2TB
Display(s) ASUS ROGPG279
Case Black Cyberpowerpc Onyxia Mid Tower Gaming Case with Tempered Glass Window Retail
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 P2 Platinum
Mouse Cyberpowerpc standard gaming mouse
Keyboard Cyberpowerpc standard gaming keyboard
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Try removing the power strip from outlet and plug directly in.
Do i unplug in it when PC still on? Sorry im still a noob to pc gaming. XD

My advice is to turn off all optimizations and set everything manually. I do this for every game in my collection because of glitches like this.

And Welcome to TPU!
Ty! This is very nice community. :3
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,733 (6.03/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
:wtf:
Go on youtube, they have how to videos.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
5 (0.19/day)
System Name DESKTOP-VQ1IHPE
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700k CPU @ 3.70GHz 3.70GHz
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z370-P ATX CROSSFIRE SATA 6 USB 3.1 LGA 1151 M.2
Cooling CPU wattercooler
Memory 16 GB RAM
Video Card(s) Nividia Geforce RTX 2080 TI 11GB GDDR6
Storage 2TB
Display(s) ASUS ROGPG279
Case Black Cyberpowerpc Onyxia Mid Tower Gaming Case with Tempered Glass Window Retail
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 P2 Platinum
Mouse Cyberpowerpc standard gaming mouse
Keyboard Cyberpowerpc standard gaming keyboard
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Is it possible that my software could have been corrupted?
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,494 (2.01/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
5 (0.19/day)
System Name DESKTOP-VQ1IHPE
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700k CPU @ 3.70GHz 3.70GHz
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z370-P ATX CROSSFIRE SATA 6 USB 3.1 LGA 1151 M.2
Cooling CPU wattercooler
Memory 16 GB RAM
Video Card(s) Nividia Geforce RTX 2080 TI 11GB GDDR6
Storage 2TB
Display(s) ASUS ROGPG279
Case Black Cyberpowerpc Onyxia Mid Tower Gaming Case with Tempered Glass Window Retail
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 P2 Platinum
Mouse Cyberpowerpc standard gaming mouse
Keyboard Cyberpowerpc standard gaming keyboard
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Yes, won't hurt to verify the game installation, and Windows.
TY. :3

Cause i tested everything else hardware wise. Since i was in middle of playing a online game at the time i had that 1 second lost of power, only possble thing i can think of is some form of video software damage.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,494 (2.01/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Run System File Checker at the command prompt or in PowerShell with "sfc /scannow" minus the quotation marks.

Also a scan of the WinSxS folder with Dism wouldn't hurt
 
Top