• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Has any one Flashed there 8800GT yet?

TXcharger

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
Messages
431 (0.10/day)
Likes
2
Location
SAN ANTONE, TX
Processor Intel Prescott 3.0ghz with HT o/c to 3.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar P4M80-M4 (agp)
Cooling AIR!! with Arctic Silver 5 on processor and vga
Memory 2gb(1gb x 2) OCZ high performance PC3200 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800gto r430 445/545(1100 effective) w/ Zalman FATALITY fan and Omega Drivers 3.8.360
Storage Maxtor 80gb 7200rpm
Display(s) 19in dell flatscreen LCD
Case Dell Dimension 3000
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply stock 350 watt
Software Windows XP sp2
#51
q6600 and a 8800gt... and you play barbie? :p
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.54/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#52

bigboi86

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
1,442 (0.33/day)
Likes
30
Location
techPowerUp!
System Name Just getting started....
Processor Athlon II Propus 620 @ 3.51ghz (quad core) L3 cache enabled
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 (great heatsink, 40c max load overclocked)
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR31600 4gb 2x2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850 by XFX
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch viewable G215H 1920x1080p, AOC 22inch 1680x1050
Case Antec 300, stock for now
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Turtle Beach headphones / crappy logitech desktop speakers
Power Supply Corsair 650 watt PSU <3
Software Windows 7 x64
#53
right, oc and then oc with modded bios for 25 50 more, I really would like to see a cmparision, I would be ver ysurprised to see a 3-5 % increase, which I consider small, I would expect that the diffference between the two is negligable, that is one oc'd and one oc'd with modded bios or some typr of PHYSICAL modding.. not the use of water. I think adding water would be a bigger issue to lower temps, but , we will see.. please do follow up thanks.
To most people on this forum ANY increase is well worth it.

That is what overclocking is about. We want power. I overclock everything I buy and I am proud to say my PC performs better than most that cost way more than I paid for my parts.

This is especially true for the people buying midrange or low end parts that make a HUGE difference when overclocking.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,290 (9.36/day)
Likes
13,831
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#54
To most people on this forum ANY increase is well worth it.

That is what overclocking is about. We want power. I overclock everything I buy and I am proud to say my PC performs better than most that cost way more than I paid for my parts.

This is especially true for the people buying midrange or low end parts that make a HUGE difference when overclocking.
systems around the price range of mine are teh best example, yes i have a quad core and a GtX - but go find me a quad core at 3.6Ghz for <$500 Au :p (~$360 CPU + $100 for cooler/fan)

compared to the 2.93Ghz extreme models, OC wins :D

my GTX barely overclocks, but in some cases (3dm06/crysis) i get almost a 10% increase - oh noes, 10%.... 10% of a GTX is actually quite a lot of power, esp. if you want just that one setting cranked up more...
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.24/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
#55
I agree in part, I love oc, and when I can get my system up I hope to pur some mid 4300-4500 results, but my query was what is the difference when bios correction, tatty saw some results.. but for me, a one to 3 percent advance for an already fast card is , re bios correction only, not something that I am that excited about.. I am thinking on cool water, with active air blowing on the capacitors and memory a 700 core 2100 mem is a good target.. algready close b efore I started the upgrade ... thanks
 

Tatty_One

Combat Squirrel & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,047 (4.48/day)
Likes
6,427
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#56
I agree in part, I love oc, and when I can get my system up I hope to pur some mid 4300-4500 results, but my query was what is the difference when bios correction, tatty saw some results.. but for me, a one to 3 percent advance for an already fast card is , re bios correction only, not something that I am that excited about.. I am thinking on cool water, with active air blowing on the capacitors and memory a 700 core 2100 mem is a good target.. algready close b efore I started the upgrade ... thanks
Yeah thats a good point but a Bios Mod is free so why not use it.....it's like trying to fill a big bucket full of water, why turn the tap on only half way when you can turn it on fully and fill it quicker :D

I'll post a couple of those test now, see how they run at say 700 core (shaders linked) and 750......watch this space.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.54/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#57
systems around the price range of mine are teh best example, yes i have a quad core and a GtX - but go find me a quad core at 3.6Ghz for <$500 Au :p (~$360 CPU + $100 for cooler/fan)

compared to the 2.93Ghz extreme models, OC wins :D

my GTX barely overclocks, but in some cases (3dm06/crysis) i get almost a 10% increase - oh noes, 10%.... 10% of a GTX is actually quite a lot of power, esp. if you want just that one setting cranked up more...
:rockout::D
 

Tatty_One

Combat Squirrel & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,047 (4.48/day)
Likes
6,427
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#58
OK, this is just a quickie for freeboy, nothing sceintific, I ran my system at 24.7 settings not tweaked, identical for both runs, the first file is at 700mhz core, memory 1045mhz, 2nd file is at 750mhz again at 1045mhz memory. Nothing else has changed, I did a fresh reboot for both runs.

I used FRAPS in game on a 30 second benching loop of Counterstrike Source on the "Milita" map, this for CSS is one of the most demanding, because the Source engine is not especially demanding, just to make it interesting I had EVERYTHING on high settings with 16x CQAA and 16x AF........cannot get much more demanding than that, on my native resolution of 1680 x 1050.

The file shows min/max/average frame rates, I have not done the math for the differences, I'll leave you to do that.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.24/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
#59
looks impressive.. I have an factory oc pro1950 that is a nice older card, cough, and the new card (8800) with which I hope to set some nice system scores.. thanks .. I have not "corrected" a card bios, is it something that if u screw up can be reset?
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,712 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,047
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
#60
looks impressive.. I have an factory oc pro1950 that is a nice older card, cough, and the new card (8800) with which I hope to set some nice system scores.. thanks .. I have not "corrected" a card bios, is it something that if u screw up can be reset?
Well yes it can . a blind flash is what they call it though I have never done this before I hear tell it can be done .
I am waiting till I get some better cooling on this card then I will be flashing the BIOS back and try to get it smokin fast !
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.54/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#61
Well yes it can . a blind flash is what they call it though I have never done this before I hear tell it can be done .
I am waiting till I get some better cooling on this card then I will be flashing the BIOS back and try to get it smokin fast !
I had a bad flash once all you do is buy a cheap pci video card boot up and reflash you can then return the pci video card or keep it bought mine for 5 bucks on fleebay.
 

Tatty_One

Combat Squirrel & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,047 (4.48/day)
Likes
6,427
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#62
I have flashed blind before as I dont have a PCI card....it's really easy, all you do is pay attention carefully whilst you are flashing, when you reboot.....if it fails simply boot again to the floppy, leave it a few seconds (remember there is nothing on the screen), then even though you cant see it the "A" prompt will be there, just type in exactly the same command as before but replace the file name "newbios.rom" with "oldbios.rom"................hit "enter".........now if you paid attention to the origional flash you would know that a queestion comes up asking if you want to proceed so after waiting a few seconds type "y" hit enter again........leave it a few seconds as it will then ask you to reboot........PC off......PC on......job done!
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.24/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
#63
do I need a floppy?
I have the older cough 1950
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,712 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,047
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
#64
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.24/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
#65
any reason I could not flash from a cd?
 

Tatty_One

Combat Squirrel & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,047 (4.48/day)
Likes
6,427
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#66
any reason I could not flash from a cd?
Nope thats fine, just make a bootable CD, copy the files, process is the same, boot to CD.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Xerxes
Processor Intel E6600 @ 3GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5N-E SLi
Cooling Noctua NH-U12F
Memory 2 x 1GB Crucial Ballistix PC6400
Video Card(s) BFG OC 8800GT
Storage 500gb + 250gb Samsung Spinpoint 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell 2407WFP
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional Series 7.1
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software XP + Vista Home Premium - Dual Boot.
#67
Im new here, Ive got me an BFG 8800GT OC... and recently got hold out an OC2 BIOS file. I have only flashed a gfx card BIOS once, that was for a 2900pro to an XT BIOS, which went fine. Is it just a case of doing exactly the same thing with the ATI card? meaning do I just put the flash utility onto a bootable USB stick along with the OC2 BIOS file and then boot to the USB stick, type in the name of the BIOS file and away we go?

Thanks for the help in advance.
 

Tatty_One

Combat Squirrel & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,047 (4.48/day)
Likes
6,427
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#68
Im new here, Ive got me an BFG 8800GT OC... and recently got hold out an OC2 BIOS file. I have only flashed a gfx card BIOS once, that was for a 2900pro to an XT BIOS, which went fine. Is it just a case of doing exactly the same thing with the ATI card? meaning do I just put the flash utility onto a bootable USB stick along with the OC2 BIOS file and then boot to the USB stick, type in the name of the BIOS file and away we go?

Thanks for the help in advance.
Welcome to the forums!......Yes, kind of, make sure you have Nibitor 3.5B and NVFlash 5.57, read your OC2 BIOS first (in NIBITOR) to make sure it has 1.1V in "extra" enabled under voltages otherwise all you are doing is setting clock speeds higher at startup which you can do in anycase without the flash, if the OC2 BIOS still shows as 1.05V you would be bettrer off changing the OC2 BIOS to 1.1V using Nibitor.

Then as you said, stick your new and old rom files on your USB boot, along with NVflash 5.57, boot to the USB, when you get the "A" prompt simply type in:

nvflash -4 new.rom .........(assuming "new" is what you have called the edited OC2 BIOS).....make sense?
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Xerxes
Processor Intel E6600 @ 3GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5N-E SLi
Cooling Noctua NH-U12F
Memory 2 x 1GB Crucial Ballistix PC6400
Video Card(s) BFG OC 8800GT
Storage 500gb + 250gb Samsung Spinpoint 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell 2407WFP
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional Series 7.1
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software XP + Vista Home Premium - Dual Boot.
#69
Thats awesome, makes perfect sense. Thanks for the help dude, much appreciated. I'll post back when its done :)