• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Has anyone done extreme mods on their motherboards?

inachu

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Messages
89 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#1
I am thinking from simplistic to overly complex.


SIMPLISTIC as reseearching every part on the motherboard and buying the best replacement parts. A good example would be replacing all the capacitors with non liquid caps that do not dry out.
Many cheap motherboard makers go on the cheap side to save money by using capacitors that have internally paper and liquid that dries out thus killing your sound/motherboard.

I used to know the best brand name cap makers but this was eons ago and the name escapes me.


COMPLEX Such as cutting the motherboard and resoldering the connections for custme made cases.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,381 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,293
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#2
i wish that would be sooo cool. i hear alot of ppl do it with abit or was it asus?
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#3
I've never seen hardware die because of caps, just not working properly because the caps themselves were leaking. However replace them and the hardware is fine. I see no point in voiding your warranty by replacing them. If the caps fail you can RMA the board, if you have no warranty left you can always replace them when required. I see no reason to do it before that.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,381 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,293
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
well their is always stability better caps will prevent alot of fluctuation or in the case of sound cards noises and failing etc.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#5
Stability is such an overused argument. If there are stability issues due to caps the caps are most likely defective. Though feel free to show me reviews, work logs, etc where replacing perfectly fine caps got rid of instability. (improving stability doesn't exist, it's stable or not)
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,381 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,293
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
actually dan a cap can work fine and their can be instability due to power fluctuation because of the psu and hardware used. and seeing as that doesnt warrent a rma because the caps work fine under less stress thats why you replace them because they work but their cheap and cant hold the levels their specified as under certain amounts of stress and i wont bother proving it to you mr google man..Here
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#7
So you're saying caps are fine, but due to the PSU used they could still fluctuate under stress? How about changing all caps in the PSU as well? I doubt the issue exists very often, I never read that the world records were made using different caps for example.

Plus, I still doubt that it's the quality of the caps that can be blamed. When you ask more power from them it is more likely that you simply need different caps rather that the current are of poor quality. It's like saying your AA penlites are of poor quality because you require 1.8V instead of 1.5(1.2).
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
#8
www.badcaps.net has information about good and bad brands of caps and how to replace bad ones.

Some of the good brands are Nichicon (except for a run of overwatered HM and HN types), Nippon Chemicon, United Chemicon, Rubycon, Sanyo, Panasonic, Philips, and Illinois. They're sold by Digi-Key, Mouser, and B&D Enterprises. The latter carries solid Sanyos.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.89/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#9
If its truly a bad cap that can effect some things.. But simply replacing a lesser quality cap, it wont do you any good if you don't have the power to charge it in the first place.

Yes better quality caps can hold voltage more stable and clean up the power quite a bit better but thats all they are really responsible for.