• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Have a hauphaugue tv tuner?

Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.25/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
#1
Anyone know what to plug into it? Ie
Do I get a antenna for high definition tv?
I'm trying to by pass dsh/ direct cable altogether
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
Anyone know what to plug into it? Ie
Do I get a antenna for high definition tv?
I'm trying to by pass dsh/ direct cable altogether
I built a TV recording PC for work to record resources from Digital. Plug hauppage into PC, plug coax from hauppage card to coax on your wall, I believe if its specifically for coax, so you need a coax going to the socket on the wall or to a coax aerial. Aerial will obviously be much worse, but it should work. Then scan for channels in Media Center.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.25/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
#3
Coax on wall to what?
What is source as that's the real ?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#4
Coax on wall to what?
What is source as that's the real ?
Coax cable, plug it into the card then to the wall. If you dont have a tv port on the wall, then you can plug in a coax tv aerial into the TV card.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.25/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
#5
Right
I have only high definition over the air.
I'll see if it works, may need to use hides reliever
Thanks for help
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#6
OP, what country do you live in and what is your source of programming (antenna, analog cable, digital cable, satellite)?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#7
He already said he is trying to get over-the-air signal. Yeah you need an antenna for that thing. It didn't ship with one?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,041 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#8
ive got a PCI-E x1 Hauppage, you can run composite or coax. If you are just running an antenna to it use the coax. I run the composite to my N64.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,139 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,279
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#9
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
776 (0.31/day)
Likes
844
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name "The Gift"
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus iV Gene-Z/Gen 3
Cooling Cryorig M9i
Memory G. Skill 8GB(2x4GB) Ripjaws "X" Series - DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HIS HD 7950 IceQ Turbo 3GB
Storage WD Velociraptor Enterprise Edition - 300GB
Display(s) HP e232
Case Fractal Design - Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech T400 Zone Touch Mouse
Keyboard HP KBRF57711 Wireless Keyboard
Software Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS/Windows 7 Professional - 64 bit(GOG/Steam Only)
#10
OTA in high def is actually pretty decent. I've worked with quite a few people that are having trouble paying the bills and looking to cut costs. I personally cut my cable(phone, tv, and internet) from $200 a month down to $55, plus NetFlix and HULU+. IF you're interested in cutting your phone bill too, check out OOMA. I haven't had a dropped call in the two years I've been using it and it's free, although you have to pay taxes in your state. It's 3.47 a month in mine with free long distance as well.

This is a pretty decent antenna here,

click

or any of the RCA flat antenna's are good.

Best,

LC
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.25/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
#11
I had a 15 foot long giant on my old roof mounted on a ten foot pipe and a big silver box decoder for over the air hi def.
will my card decode I def? It's circa mid 2000's
I'll get it
Wintv HVR 1800
Atsc / qam
NTSC/fm
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.25/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
#12
I just read off amazon that they recommend tapping your cable companies line fr free over the air
Hummm
And there selling these new for big bucks still!
Ok card going in today
Looks like its a receiver or works like one
I wonder if I need drivers
Thanks
ok its in, I plugged it into cable and ran windows media... did not detect signals, Ill see if I can find a hd antenna around the house and try to connect ot an over the air signal... thanks for the encouragement
 
Last edited: