• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Have a HDD problem. Failed?

Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
354 (0.22/day)
Likes
110
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#1
So I have my grandmother's PC because it seems like the drive is done. I just need some feedback on what might be happening.
I put the drive into my PC to see if the BIOS would read it, nah it doesn't. As the PC posts I could hear the drive giving periodic noises. The drive does not appear in File Explorer but does in Disk Manager. Within Disk Manager there is a "Disk 4" that is "Not Initialized" and is sized at 3.86 GB Unallocated. The other drives 0-3 are all my current working drives. I downloaded SeaTools for Windows because Disk 4 is a Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB that came from an ASUS CM1740-US-2AE prebuilt. I ran the few tests in SeaTools on the drive and it kept coming back as 100% PASS. So I tried to initialize it using Disk Manager and MBR, it gives me the error "The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error." Also, SeaTools recognizes the drive as having 4.14GB / 3.86 GiB. My uncle told me he was using it and made a recovery CD just this month, all that does it just restore Windows settings yeah? Pretty sure that is useless right? I feel like this drive is dead with the I/O error, very low volume detection, no BIOS detection. I know all my grandmother wants from the drive is some information on a genealogy application so she does not have to input all people and make phone calls to them again. Any feedback is useful, thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
5,933 (4.34/day)
Likes
3,525
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#2
Your best bet is recovery software before any more damage is done.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,632 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,448
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#3
Sounds like a partition is deleted. Might try some recovery software like recover my files
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,132 (2.29/day)
Likes
8,223
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 4.8 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 14625:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/15253894 TS 10496:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3557134
#4
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
354 (0.22/day)
Likes
110
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#5
Your best bet is recovery software before any more damage is done.
Sounds like a partition is deleted. Might try some recovery software like recover my files
Have you tried RecoverMyFiles before?
@Caring1 any recovery software you could recommend?
You might see if some malware has set a HPA or DCO in linux using hdparm:

https://superuser.com/questions/642...-like-hpa-and-dco-also-after-malware-infectio

Read the second answer.
@R-T-B I am going to run this and see what happens. Thanks.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,132 (2.29/day)
Likes
8,223
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 4.8 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 14625:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/15253894 TS 10496:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3557134
#6
Have you tried RecoverMyFiles before?
@Caring1 any recovery software you could recommend?

@R-T-B I am going to run this and see what happens. Thanks.
Do keep in mind the second command "dco-restore" is data destructive. But if you have been overwritten by malware, may not matter.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,150 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,636
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,770 (2.56/day)
Likes
2,036
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard ASUS STRIX
Cooling Deepcool Ice Edge
Memory 8 Gb Team Delta 2
Video Card(s) Radeon R250
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 4Tb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse A4Tech X7
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 10 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#8
io err could from the hdd, the cable or the port
have you checked one by one? and does the hdd sounds normal, no strange sound, clicking or anything that unusual?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
5,933 (4.34/day)
Likes
3,525
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#9
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,632 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,448
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#10
Yes I use RecoverMyFiles. I have used a few and for me its one i like
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2018
Messages
20 (0.42/day)
Likes
27
#11
So I have my grandmother's PC because it seems like the drive is done. I just need some feedback on what might be happening.
I put the drive into my PC to see if the BIOS would read it, nah it doesn't. As the PC posts I could hear the drive giving periodic noises. The drive does not appear in File Explorer but does in Disk Manager. Within Disk Manager there is a "Disk 4" that is "Not Initialized" and is sized at 3.86 GB Unallocated. The other drives 0-3 are all my current working drives. I downloaded SeaTools for Windows because Disk 4 is a Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB that came from an ASUS CM1740-US-2AE prebuilt. I ran the few tests in SeaTools on the drive and it kept coming back as 100% PASS. So I tried to initialize it using Disk Manager and MBR, it gives me the error "The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error." Also, SeaTools recognizes the drive as having 4.14GB / 3.86 GiB. My uncle told me he was using it and made a recovery CD just this month, all that does it just restore Windows settings yeah? Pretty sure that is useless right? I feel like this drive is dead with the I/O error, very low volume detection, no BIOS detection. I know all my grandmother wants from the drive is some information on a genealogy application so she does not have to input all people and make phone calls to them again. Any feedback is useful, thanks.
Hello Upgrayedd, I am afraid I am the bearer of bad news. An I/O error along with 3.86G of un-allocated space is a sign of drive failure. Suggestion would be contacting support. There are several software's that may try to get back the information on the drive but it is not guaranteed. Seagate also offers drive recovery services. Best of luck.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,132 (2.29/day)
Likes
8,223
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 4.8 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 14625:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/15253894 TS 10496:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3557134
#12
Hello Upgrayedd, I am afraid I am the bearer of bad news. An I/O error along with 3.86G of un-allocated space is a sign of drive failure. Suggestion would be contacting support. There are several software's that may try to get back the information on the drive but it is not guaranteed. Seagate also offers drive recovery services. Best of luck.
I didn't even know we had a Seagate rep here!

Thanks for clarifying. That's clearly the issue then.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
354 (0.22/day)
Likes
110
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#13
I have another issue regarding the oem PC that the apparently bad HDD came from.

I have some 1TB Hitachi Sata 2.6 drives and a Toshiba drive that I don't know the sata revision. I plugged one Hitachi then the Toshiba in the OEM machine with a Win10 install media on a 16GB USB flash drive. The machine let me format the drive and go through the install process of Win10 on the HDDs using the flash drive and I entered the product key on the side panel. It goes through the install fine but it never gives me a final welcome and setup screen after the install and required restart. It just sits at a black screen no blinking text line.

I can install Win10 onto these HDDs using my PC in my specs just fine. I install whatever drivers it let me then I go to plug the fresh Win10 HDD into my OEM machine and boot from the BIOS to the proper drive and it just sits at a black screen with a blinking white text line, underline, idk what they are called.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,150 (5.49/day)
Likes
6,636
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
I have another issue regarding the oem PC that the apparently bad HDD came from.

I have some 1TB Hitachi Sata 2.6 drives and a Toshiba drive that I don't know the sata revision. I plugged one Hitachi then the Toshiba in the OEM machine with a Win10 install media on a 16GB USB flash drive. The machine let me format the drive and go through the install process of Win10 on the HDDs using the flash drive and I entered the product key on the side panel. It goes through the install fine but it never gives me a final welcome and setup screen after the install and required restart. It just sits at a black screen no blinking text line.

I can install Win10 onto these HDDs using my PC in my specs just fine. I install whatever drivers it let me then I go to plug the fresh Win10 HDD into my OEM machine and boot from the BIOS to the proper drive and it just sits at a black screen with a blinking white text line, underline, idk what they are called.
Cursor.

By the way rule of thumb, make sure you only have 1 HDD hooked up when installing windows.

You may want to format them, 1TB can use NTFS partition.

Windows Since XP has a propensity of putting critical files on other drives when it shouldn't
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
354 (0.22/day)
Likes
110
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#15
OEM machine is an ASUS CM1740-US-2AF.

When using the OEM machine to install Win10 it only has one HDD.

Could a bad motherboard cause this? Make the old drive eat dirt and not want to boot anything? I don't really know what else to do. I've formatted them. NTFS. Should it be MBR or GPT? I feel like I did them GPT..
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,770 (2.56/day)
Likes
2,036
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard ASUS STRIX
Cooling Deepcool Ice Edge
Memory 8 Gb Team Delta 2
Video Card(s) Radeon R250
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 4Tb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse A4Tech X7
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 10 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#16
OEM machine is an ASUS CM1740-US-2AF.

When using the OEM machine to install Win10 it only has one HDD.

Could a bad motherboard cause this? Make the old drive eat dirt and not want to boot anything? I don't really know what else to do. I've formatted them. NTFS. Should it be MBR or GPT? I feel like I did them GPT..
Gpt for hdd like 4tb and more

Have you tried using another sata port or using other sata cable

Oh try resetting bios too
Just make sure everything back to stock before you setting it up
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
354 (0.22/day)
Likes
110
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#17
Yeah I tried a different port and cable. I actually changed the BIOS from IDE to AHCI, I could go back to default though..
I feel like if it is installing Win10 then it should just boot right up. I thought about vendor locked, is replacing just the HDD normally this tedious on an OEM?
Also I tried upating BIOS from the BIOS using Asus EZ Flash 2 since it is still on the very first version not booting the HDD all the way. They are all .ROM files and its says "Image Integrity Check failed" everytime I try to update. Tried every BIOS version on ASUS website.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,712 (0.58/day)
Likes
732
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#18
Yeah I tried a different port and cable. I actually changed the BIOS from IDE to AHCI, I could go back to default though..
I feel like if it is installing Win10 then it should just boot right up. I thought about vendor locked, is replacing just the HDD normally this tedious on an OEM?
Also I tried upating BIOS from the BIOS using Asus EZ Flash 2 since it is still on the very first version not booting the HDD all the way. They are all .ROM files and its says "Image Integrity Check failed" everytime I try to update. Tried every BIOS version on ASUS website.

It could be that you unzipped the file. Don't rename anything and put the ZIP file on a USB stick and set bios to boot from the USB stick. You may have a blank screen while it is updating.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
354 (0.22/day)
Likes
110
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#19
So having the .ROM files still zipped was a stepbackwards, they didn't even show up in BIOS, kinda thought that would happen.

I decided to try and boot 3x and force shutdown to see if I couldn't get into troubleshooting menus.

I was given error code 0xc0000225 this is something about system file error, I believe this is my main issue.
Why is the OEM shitting itself on the install but my PC does it fine and if I try to take the working install to OEM machine it completely refuses it. I don't see the install media being faulty since it installs on my other PC fine.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,712 (0.58/day)
Likes
732
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#20
So having the .ROM files still zipped was a stepbackwards, they didn't even show up in BIOS, kinda thought that would happen.

I decided to try and boot 3x and force shutdown to see if I couldn't get into troubleshooting menus.

I was given error code 0xc0000225 this is something about system file error, I believe this is my main issue.
Why is the OEM shitting itself on the install but my PC does it fine and if I try to take the working install to OEM machine it completely refuses it. I don't see the install media being faulty since it installs on my other PC fine.
You should be able to flash the BIOS without any Hard Drives connected, so disconnect the hard drives. You need to use the USB ports at the top of the motherboard nearest any PS2 keyboard input and they may be USB 2.0 ports and that is correct.


https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1030923
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,260 (3.94/day)
Likes
8,888
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#21
@Upgrayedd

seagate_surfer has given you the definitive answer, but I'd like to add something.

Regardless of brand, whenever you hear a drive that's constantly clicking, but is seen by the BIOS and reads the disc, it hasn't got long before complete failure, so get your data off it quick. Clicking noise and no BIOS recognition is total failure. Same with a quiet drive (spinning or not spinning) and no BIOS recognition. Only expensive recovery services will help in such a situation. Seems that your drive can sort of be seen by the BIOS, so those software tools just might help, but I'm pessimistic about that.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
354 (0.22/day)
Likes
110
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#22
I just went ahead and built a new PC, was having way too much trouble trying to install a new HDD.

As for the old drive, it wasn't worth $450 minimum for recovery services. It just had old pictures that can be re-scanned and a higher res this time and some family tree info that can be refilled. I do have the old drive, I never really heard any loud clicking like I have heard on bad drives before, if anyone knows places cheaper than $450 cause more than what I built the new PC for... either that or I'm going to let the recovery software run on it all night.
 
Top