1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Have I brought an x800 xt or something else?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by twanspider, Apr 15, 2007.

  1. twanspider New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have just upgraded from a 9800 pro to a Radeon X800 XT AGP card. when I use the ATI tray tools it says that the GPU bios is 450 and Bios Mem is 450. Aernt XTs suppose to be 500/500 ? the memory is samsung KJ55323QF-GC16

    When I run ATI tool speeds change to 506.25/499.5 and is happy at 50 degrees.

    I just want to know if I have been ripped off. The card was brought from Ebay and is new, stickers on it state XT but I want to be sure. Windows states XT but I want to be sure that I didnt buy a PRO flashed to XT !

    This info might help : THANKS


    Display adapter RADEON X800 XT AGP (0x4A4B)
    Core Name R420
    SubVendor ATI (1002)
    SubDevice 0002
    BUS 3
    Device 0
    Function 0
    Base Address 0 C0000008
    Base Address 1 0000C001
    Base Address 2 D2000000
    Base Address 3 00000000

    Bus Type AGP
    Current AGP Speed 8x
    SMARTGART Installed Yes

    Driver Version Omega 7.01
    Release Version 8.33-061220m-040997C-ATI-OMEGA
    QuadBuffer Stereo Support No
    Catalyst Registry Path
    System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{5CB21D8E-7C61-4E44-91DE-DD85E1E2FD47}\0000

    ______________________________
    Clock Information
    BIOS VPU 450.00
    Current VPU 506.25
    BIOS MEM 450.00
    Current MEM 499.50

    ______________________________
    Overdrive
    Supported Yes
    API Version 3
    Overdrive Power Caps
    Power States 3
    1 - GPU:499.50 Memory:499.50 T Max:110°C - 2D , GPU Vid:0.9000v
    2 - GPU:398.25 Memory:499.50 T Max:120°C - 2D , GPU Vid:0.9000v
    3 - GPU:506.25 Memory:499.50 T Max:80°C - 3D , GPU Vid:0.9000v

    ______________________________
    Radeon PCI configuration space
    00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 02 10 4B 4A 07 00 B0 02 00 00 00 03 08 20 80 00
    10 08 00 00 C0 01 C0 00 00 00 00 00 D2 00 00 00 00
    20 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 10 02 00
    30 00 00 00 00 58 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 13 01 08 00
    40 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 10 02 00
    50 01 00 02 06 00 00 00 00 02 50 30 00 1B 02 00 FF
    60 02 43 00 1F 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    70 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    80 05 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    90 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    A0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    B0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    C0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    D0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    E0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    F0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Hardware Information ASIC (Software) Method
    Family 56
    Emulated Revision 2
    Gfx Engine ID 3
    VRam Bit Width 256
    Installed memory 256

    Hardware Information Direct hardware access
    Installed memory 256 Mb
    Memory Type GDDR3
    Memory Width 256 bit
    Active Rendering Pipelines 16

    ______________________________
    Radeon Registers
    RADEON_BIOS_0_SCRATCH 00000002
    RADEON_BIOS_1_SCRATCH 0300C000
    RADEON_X_MPLL_REF_FB_DIV 01E1DE0C
    RADEON_XCLK_CNTL 00807FFA
    RADEON_MCLK_CNTL 00031212
    GB_TILE_CONFIG 0001001F
    MC_TIMING_CNTL 6532C555
    MC_SDRAM_MODE_REG 10330000

    ______________________________
    Video BIOS Information
    Version 009.004.001.008
    Part Number 113-A26104-102
    Date 2004/07/07 13:42
    Vram Type DDR3

    ______________________________
    Controller Configurations
    Controller 0
    Active Connections:
    -Monitor (CRT1) (0) 1024x768x60
    Controller 1
    Active Connections:
    No Active Connections

    ______________________________
    Displays supported by adapter
    0 (1) Monitor (CRT1)
    1 (2) Second Monitor (CRT2)
    2 (4) Component Video Output
    3 (8) TV
    4 (16) Digital Flat Panel

    ______________________________
    EnumDisplays
    Display Type 0, Extended Type 1 , Max Resolution 1600x1200
    Display Type 0, Extended Type 2 , Max Resolution 1600x1200
    Display Type 4, Extended Type 0 , Max Resolution 720x480
    Display Type 1, Extended Type 7 , Max Resolution 1024x768
    Display Type 3, Extended Type 1 , Max Resolution 2560x1600

    ______________________________
    Loaded Displays
    Display 1 index 1
    Display 2 index 2
    TV Index 8

    ______________________________
     
  2. noneed4me2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    620 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    San Bernardino CA
    Thats an XT agp card alright, not sure why it is clocked that way, but use ATItool and see how high it can go, but do a little at a time with artifact scanning. You should be able to hit 500/500 no problem but again clock it up slowly as to not bork the gpu. With a good proc and ram you should be able to run Vista no problem. The GC16 ram is the best I cit 590 on my GC20s not quite as highly rated as yours but mine is pci/e and was a gto before I modded it. The r423 is pci/e the r420 is agp.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,579 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Where are the stickers? On the cooler? Perhaps the cooler was swapped and indeed you DO have a Pro modded to an XT.

    How much did you pay for it. Getting "ripped off" is an expression you can only use TOGETHER with price. You may have still got a GREAT DEAL even thought it's history is different than described.

    If you bought from a company, they would not have done the "scam". It would have been a return from a previous owner, and you have bought "B ware".

    Just guesses.
     
  4. twanspider New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    WOW i didnt expect such quick replies !Thanks for the information guys !

    The Stickers are on the red pcb board and I paid 79 sterling for the card which is new and also was offered 1 year guarantee. As regards the cooler I dont know but I will attach some pictures of the card this afternoon when I get back from work.

    I will also use ATI tool and see how much it can be overclocked and post results

    Thanks once again for your replies !:toast:
     
  5. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    http://savefile.com/projects/670063 here you can find automated flash utility with all the needed tools and BIOSes (X800XT and X800XT PE AGP). You can use them to flash your card because it will be recognized correctly after that (like X800XT or X800XT PE with correct clocks 500/500 or 520/560MHz). Just save your original BIOS and read the flash instructions ;) .
    X800XT never has dual slot cooler and the difference between X800PRO VIVO AGP, X800XT and X800XT PE is only the label and eventually the max. core / memory clock ;) .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. twanspider New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am finding it difficult to find a proper bios since all bioses are VIVO and my card is not VIVO and I understand VIVO is when you can have video in etc etc. and on label does not mention VIVO but the Rabit bios tuner stats "RADEON X800 XT VIVO"

    So I decided to dump my bios and then using RaBIT to modify it to the proper core and memory speeds. I have noticed that there are 2 overdrives 1. Default 450/450
    2. 499.5/499.5 and 3. 506.25/499.5. What happens to the 2nd and 3rd overdrive if I modify the default settings ? Anyway Im confused , what do you guys do ? Do you need this overdrive thing ?

    Also Rabit says " Device id* 4A4B Radeon x800/M18 * With Update 3D pipes rom config ....

    ???

    cheers
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2007
  7. twanspider New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    tried ATI tool but I stopped here: Core 533 no probs and no errors but I hit abort
    mem 526 and saw some yellowish lines in 3D window. ATI tool said no errors but i chickened out and stopped prog :ohwell:
     
  8. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    No VIVO? Odd. Must be some new end-of-series card. IMO, should really be labelled a GT or something, not XT. Anyway, it's still a good card for £79.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    still could of picked up a x1650xt or x1950gt for maybe £10 more with better perf and sm3
     
  10. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I think the AGP models are a bit more than £10 more. More like £30 more.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    ah ok was a while ago i read the first post, still maybe a 7600gt would be a better option for around the same price he paid but its still a sweet card
     
  12. twanspider New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)