• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Have you tried Mantle with BF4? (Frontpage poll)

Have you tried Mantle with BF4?

  • Yes, and I love it

    Votes: 2,808 25.7%
  • Yes, but I went back to DirectX

    Votes: 716 6.6%
  • I couldn't get the driver installed properly

    Votes: 172 1.6%
  • No, I'll wait for a more refined version

    Votes: 1,250 11.4%
  • I only have an NVIDIA/Intel GPU

    Votes: 5,974 54.7%

  • Total voters
    10,920
  • Poll closed .

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,524 (3.48/day)
Likes
20,503
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#1
Did you check out Mantle yet? AMD's graphics API made its debut with Battlefield 4 and Catalyst 14.1 beta, AMD managed to silence cynics with performance gains on some AMD Radeon cards. Tell us if you've checked Mantle out, and your first reactions to it.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,583 (0.44/day)
Likes
573
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#2
I think one more option should be added and that would be "Yes, But with mixed results."

My reasoning for this is because i use mantle but i do not love it.

As i have a HD7970 i only see minimal changes in BF4 so i will not comment more as its to early to tell.

I see bigger improvments in the star swarm benchmark.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,133 (1.40/day)
Likes
2,430
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung 950Pro 256GB NVMe + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
#3
Sorry, but this poll must be divided between GCN1 and GCN2 users to be useful..., don't you think?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,478 (0.59/day)
Likes
670
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabertooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#4
where is the, bf4 suck bollz but i have the mantle driver installed, option?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,403 (0.64/day)
Likes
946
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
#5
its working alright but cant see much difference. But, as far as I can tell, if I choose mantle, its a bit blurry. Not so much but thats atleast what I observed. But I am happy cause now AMD has shown something working. Not yet fully but it will take months, until it is refined.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
316 (0.08/day)
Likes
46
Location
Canuckistan
System Name Slave
Processor Core i7 920 @4.2 Lapped
Motherboard Biostar Tpower x58
Cooling Ek Supreme + Backplate, Thermochill 120.3, mcp655
Memory 6Gb Gskill Black Pi ddr3 1600 8-7-7-19 1t
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 (flashed to 290x) + DTek Fuzion block @1100
Storage Samsung 840 evo, WD Black
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 1440p
Case p180b
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme P.O.S.
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 950watt
Benchmark Scores i7 920 c0 @ 4.6ghz
#6
I get 10 more fps in BF4 but it screw up my mouse cursor in the menus and map. The cursor become offset by about 1 inch to the right of where it is actually clicking... back to DX11 for now...
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
182 (0.05/day)
Likes
13
System Name xkche
Processor INTEL Core I5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte H170 Gaming
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400Mhz (2133Mhz)
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX480 Nitro+ (4GB)
Storage Crucial MX200 275GB
Display(s) 49" LG TV 49UH6030 4K HDR
Case NZXT 410
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 600W
Software Windows 10
#7
I use Mantle on R9 270 and FPS are down a little.

Hope better performance on 14.2.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
69 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
Switzerland
System Name Double Overseer
Processor i7 3820 / FX-8350
Motherboard Asus P9X79 / MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Air
Memory Kingston 16 GB RAM 1600 / Corsair 8 GB RAM 1866 (2000)
Video Card(s) PCS+ 7950 Crossfire / Club3d 7950 13 Series / Hauppauge 5500
Storage 240 Kingston HyperX 3K / Crucial MX100 256 GB / 1+3 TB Seagate
Display(s) S240HL Acer / S242HL Acer x2
Case 2x Thermaltake Overseer
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 / 5.1 Canton
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 800 / Seasonic SS-660KM Active
Mouse 5 Euro one
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 7 64-Bit / Windows 10 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike 10400 3DMark11 13400 / triple crossfire Firestrike 12500 3DMark11 15600
#8
I tried it and the performance was amazing. I felt like having less lags and it was smoother. But then I had 1 seconds lags and went back to DX11. I am using Windows 8 (without 8.1), maybe this is an issue.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
967 (0.29/day)
Likes
221
System Name Grond
Processor Ryen 5 1600 @ 4.0ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime x370 Pro
Cooling XSPC Raystorm CPU + 2 RX360 radiator + xspc Razor R9-290 w/ backplate
Memory 16gb Corsair LPX DDR4@2999
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 w/ XSPC Razor full cover block and backplate
Storage Hyper-X 120gb-OS, WD Caviar black 2TB-Steam, Plextor M5S 256gb - MMOs+RTS games
Display(s) Samsung 23" 120hz 3d LCD w/ 3d glasses, using 'lightboost' trick
Case NZXT H630 white watercooling case
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX + Sennheiser HD 598
Power Supply XFX Pro 850 XXX semi-modular
Software Windows 10 Pro (Had some mystery error on Win7 and decided to go W10)
#9
Haven't tried Mantle yet, just finished downloading BF4 last night. Will try with my current drivers, then the new Mantle beta ones.
Will post update later tonight.

Played a lot of the campaign with the non Mantle drivers, everything was smooth as butter. Will hop into some multiplayer with the old drivers, then test out the Mantle stuff tomorrow.

Edit
Played in a multiplayer non-Mantle and got great performance. Got my ass beat down on a consistent basis, seems like everyone sees me before I see them and, and they don't seem to miss when they shoot.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,656 (0.97/day)
Likes
2,314
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 4.6 GHz Core & 4.3 GHz Cache @ 1.168V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE, Fans: 2xThermalright TY143 / 2xCorsair SP-120L / 1xYate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3200 14-14-14-34 2T @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) 2x Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 25" IPS
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Acoustic Research 2Ch Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Corsair MM600 hard pad, on top of a Inateck 900x300 XL pad, Tiger Gaming Skates.
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key, PS3 Controller
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using AsRock's handy PS/2 Simulator in Bios)
#10
Waiting for my 7970 to come back from Gigabyte (two months of RMA now... :( out of stock). I figure when I get it back, they will have mantle drivers that are non-beta. Then I'll get em.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
543 (0.17/day)
Likes
171
System Name SKY OC
Processor i3-6100 4.6GHz
Motherboard Z170 FATAL1TY K4/D3
Cooling TPC-612
Memory Trident X 2400CL9
Video Card(s) HD 7850 CFX
Storage Vector 150
Case HAF XB
Power Supply Capstone 550M
#11
Option number 6:

No, I have no interest in playing BF4, Mantle or not.

I am interested in a couple games releasing later this year on that game engine though.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,668 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,045
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#12
I don't see the point in trying it until its refined. I also don't play any games that use mantle yet.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
69 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
Location
Switzerland
System Name Double Overseer
Processor i7 3820 / FX-8350
Motherboard Asus P9X79 / MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Air
Memory Kingston 16 GB RAM 1600 / Corsair 8 GB RAM 1866 (2000)
Video Card(s) PCS+ 7950 Crossfire / Club3d 7950 13 Series / Hauppauge 5500
Storage 240 Kingston HyperX 3K / Crucial MX100 256 GB / 1+3 TB Seagate
Display(s) S240HL Acer / S242HL Acer x2
Case 2x Thermaltake Overseer
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 / 5.1 Canton
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 800 / Seasonic SS-660KM Active
Mouse 5 Euro one
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 7 64-Bit / Windows 10 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike 10400 3DMark11 13400 / triple crossfire Firestrike 12500 3DMark11 15600
#13
I just played 2 matches with my second PC (FX-8350, 7950 Boost, Windows8.1 64Bit), one with Mantle one with DX11. Because Fraps doesn't work with mantle I can only guess its performance.

I thought with Mantle it's almost that good as my first PC (7950 crossfire), but then I also had greater lags. Not that big 1 second lags, but they appeared too.

With DX11 the performance was less from my feelings (40-60 frames) but no such lags. This beta driver doesn't work out for me for now, but it was a fantastic taste of what is possible coming up with the next drivers.
Now I could even give a try to my third PC (i72600k, 7770 crossfire). :slap:
Keep the good work up AMD. :clap:
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
2,523 (1.15/day)
Likes
2,155
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.8/2.42GHz
Motherboard Asus M3N78 SE
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 4GB DDR2-800 5-5-5-12
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 780 @ 1202/1750
Storage 256GB SSD + 500GB HDD + 2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x 1920x1080
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Super Flower Golden Green 500W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores TS: 5128, FS: 14018
#14
No, I don't even play the whole game because I simply don't like it.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
154 (0.08/day)
Likes
29
System Name Trixeon
Processor Xeon E3-1230-V2
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Coolmaster EVO
Memory Gskill 2133 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9-290 Tri-x o/c bios 1000/6000MHz
Storage 128GB SSD, 256GB SSD, 3TB HDD, 1TB HDD
Display(s) 3x 22" 1050 monitors 16:10
Case Xigmatec
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Xigmatec 800W centurio
Software Win7 64bit
#15
yes, but it crashed BF4 when I tried to select options > graphics. Found on the interweb that I had to disabled the onboard (Intel) GPU. Then it worked. But made no difference anyway.

I5-3570k & 7950 crossfire.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
154 (0.08/day)
Likes
29
System Name Trixeon
Processor Xeon E3-1230-V2
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Coolmaster EVO
Memory Gskill 2133 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9-290 Tri-x o/c bios 1000/6000MHz
Storage 128GB SSD, 256GB SSD, 3TB HDD, 1TB HDD
Display(s) 3x 22" 1050 monitors 16:10
Case Xigmatec
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Xigmatec 800W centurio
Software Win7 64bit
#16
Because Fraps doesn't work with mantle I can only guess its performance.
Good point actually, I still saw FRAPS when I enabled Mantle, which probably means it wasn't working.

Another thought, you can enable a FPS counter in the BF4 console, using this;

perfoverlay.drawfps true

might try that later
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,299 (0.49/day)
Likes
420
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#17
Waiting for mature drivers ...
"Intermittent stuttering or stability issues may occur when utilizing Mantle with AMD CrossFire technology in BattleField 4 - AMD recommends using the DirectX code path when playing Battlefield 4 with multiple GPUs. A future AMD Catalyst release will resolve these issues"
" Frame Pacing for Dual Graphics and non-XDMA configurations above 2560x1600 do not currently work with Battlefield 3 and Battlefield 4. An upcoming release will enable support"
Running on single GPU @1920x1080 game runs smoother maybe??:ohwell::ohwell:
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,018 (0.23/day)
Likes
68
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1709 x64
#18
Little buggy with my 280x but it explicitly isn't designed for it yet, get about a 25% increase in BF4 on avg fps. at 1920x1200 on ultra.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,215 (0.37/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0 || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#20
tried mantle but the driver makes minecraft unplayable so had to uninstall, not voting because theres no "I dont play BF4 but tried the starswarm demo"
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,524 (3.48/day)
Likes
20,503
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,488 (0.51/day)
Likes
547
Location
State College, PA, US
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 8086K @ 5.1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 4 Corsair Fans
Memory 32GB (2 x 16 GB) Team DDR4-3200 CL16-18-18-38
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 970 Pro 512GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1220 + Sony MDR-7506 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Patriot Viper V560
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#22
I don't know what category I fit into. I own an AMD card but not the game; I'm not a fan of the Battlefield series. Mantle will be interesting to test when other games support it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
361 (0.11/day)
Likes
50
#23
BF4 as test monkey was a terrible idea, cause that game has countless issues even itself.

Other than that, I have AMD (well it was I think ATi back then) graphic card, but Im pretty positive it cant work with Mantle, no category for me eh?

Latest patch for BF4 was great, now I can play first round of game in SQDM/TDM in "no sound" mode.. so its not really what Mantle bring to BF4, more like what they managed to take out along with it. :D Yea and it crashes nicely with latest patch, unless you use some workarounds (a lot of them, I can pretty much say I tuned my software to work as good as possible with BF4 .. as result most of my games work much better, BF4 - not so much).

Seriously, AMD should use something else to beta-test or test Mantle.. BF4 was probably worst idea ever.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
615 (0.17/day)
Likes
398
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-PRO Wi-Fi ac USB 3.1
Cooling Cryorig H5 Ultimate
Memory 16 GB Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 590 OC Special Edition
Storage Samsung 970 Evo
Display(s) ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#24
Where's the NO, I have no interest in BF4 option?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
1,937 (0.44/day)
Likes
103
Location
Fremont, Ohio
System Name The Darkside
Processor Intel i7-2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling OEM
Memory 8 GB GSKILL Ares PC3-12800
Video Card(s) VisionTek R9 270x
Storage 250GB, 320GB, 1TB, & 2TB Seagate
Display(s) 40" Sharp Aquos Quattron 1080p
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Reltek
Power Supply Silverstone Strider 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#25
I just tried it on Test Range b/c thats all I had time for so far but its only a 1 fps increase there, no load ofc. But I do have them split second lags that were annoying. Ill try online here soon.
 
Top