• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Having issues with sub woofer on new setup

Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
Hey guys,

I don't know a lot about setting up sound systems so please forgive me.
I have a Pyle PT584BT speaker set and a Yamaha RX-V381 receiver. I Have hooked up all 5 of the speakers and the sub(via sub out rca type wire) to the receiver and for some reason I get no sound from the sub. I have searched everywhere and I have tried probably every option on the receiver and the sub still produces no sound. I then hooked up the left and right output of the receiver to the left and right input of the sub (with speaker wire) and still had no sound. I then decided (while L and R speaker wire was plugged in to the sub) to also put in the sub out from the receiver into sub in on the sub woofer. This setup caused the sub to produce sound. The issue with this setup though was that once I got it to about medium volume, the receiver would shut off. Any help figuring this out would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,349 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,143
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#2
As far as I can tell each of the satellite speakers should be wired to the receiver and the subwoofer should be connected to the receiver via the single RCA subwoofer line.
From what I can tell you did that...
Did you try turning up the subwoofer levels on the subwoofer?
That's really all I got.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
5,294 (4.48/day)
Likes
3,226
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 ATX
Cooling Antec C400
Memory G. Skill 8Gb (2x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) iGPU
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Case Antec Sonata (don't laugh)
Audio Device(s) No need.
Software W7 Home Premium 64 bit
#3
Have you got power connected to the Sub?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#4
If you are using the onboard chip, check for options like "speaker fill". Also check "bass management" settings and also an option for "swap center and sub woofer output". All these settings should be in the audio control panel as per your manufacturer (ADI) and/or in the sound properties of Windows itself.
My Realtek audio solution requires me to enable bass management and sub-woofer options to enable the sub-woofer.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,679 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,355
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#5
It is pretty straight forward, so maybe the speakers need an RMA on the subwoofer.


 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,170 (0.27/day)
Likes
436
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#6
You can also adjust the sub crossover on that Yamaha. Try 120Hz
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,158 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,791
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#7
I think you will end up taking those speakers back
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,349 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,143
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#8
Ok...
How do you have the audio source setup?
HDMI should work flawlessly just by switching to the correct source.
Are you hooked up via RCA?
If it's RCA you might have to setup the input in the receiver menu...audio format etc...
I'm not sure about Yamaha but on other brands you need to assign analog audio to source.... If someone knows more about Yamaha please correct this..
Say for some reason you are watching video on HDMI 1 but have audio coming from a Toslink or RCA, you would have to assign the analog audio connection to that HDMI port and sometimes the type of audio format...

@FR@NK
Good call on the sub frequency..
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
Location
New York
Processor Intel Xeon X5660 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe
Cooling TRUE 120
Memory 18GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Case CM Centurion
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Thank you all so much for the help! I have tried all recommendations and unfortunately I have had no luck. I believe that it is either the sub out on the receiver or the sub in on the sub. I am currently trying to find another sub to try to narrow this down.
Thanks again!!
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,679 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,355
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#10
Thank you all so much for the help! I have tried all recommendations and unfortunately I have had no luck. I believe that it is either the sub out on the receiver or the sub in on the sub. I am currently trying to find another sub to try to narrow this down.
Thanks again!!
I betting it is the Subs power supply or something if it is not an input issue. Test it on a friends system?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
2,248 (0.69/day)
Likes
1,336
Location
Riverside, California
System Name Red Monster
Processor Intel Core i7 7800X @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H115i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB DDR4 3466
Video Card(s) evga GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 iCX
Storage Intel 535 Series 2.5" 480GB SATA /WD Blue 1TB SSD /Radeon R7 240GB SSD /1TB, & 4TB HHD
Display(s) Samsung UN55KS8500 55" 4K & Oculus Rift CV1
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZX > Pagoda DAC > multiple amps
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherri MX
Software Windows 10
#11
what mode are you using on the receiver? Some modes won't play anything out the sub unless they receive the signal in one format or the other. On my old Onkyo if I was just listening to music then I would have to switch the receiver to 'all channels' to get sound out of my sub. Just for music. make sure you are using the proper mode for sure.