• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Having problems with RAM

Shadow_ID

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor Core i7 950 socket 1366 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58-G1-GUERILLA X58 Socket 1366
Cooling Corsair H80 cooling (idl - 35c - full load - 60c)
Memory 4GB Corsire Dominator GT 2000Mgz 10-10-10-25
Video Card(s) 2X GAINWARD GTX580 SLI 772 clock/1005 memory/1544 shader
Storage 2x Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB SATA II 7200RPM 16MB Cache
Display(s) Monitor 1: 23" ASUS VG236HE 3D Monitor 2: Samsung BX2331
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Antec 850W High Current Pro
Software Windows 7 Home x64
#1
Hi, iv just got some new RAM 8gig @800MHz timmings 4-4-4-12 @2.1v 4x2gig chips

this is upgraded from 3gig @800MHz timmings 5-5-5-15 3x1gig chips

how do i know if they are running in dual channel mode?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
Open up CPU-Z should be one of the memory tabs.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#3
If you have all four DIMMs filled they will run dual by default.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#4
if there identical chips they WILL be running dual channel as you have filled all of your ram slots, if it was 2x4gb then you would have to place them in the corresponding slots. ie: 1,3 or 1,2 dependant on board

congrats, your epenis just grew another 6 inches with that 8gb ram :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#5
Usually mentions it somewhere in teh bios or boot-up screen
 

Shadow_ID

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor Core i7 950 socket 1366 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58-G1-GUERILLA X58 Socket 1366
Cooling Corsair H80 cooling (idl - 35c - full load - 60c)
Memory 4GB Corsire Dominator GT 2000Mgz 10-10-10-25
Video Card(s) 2X GAINWARD GTX580 SLI 772 clock/1005 memory/1544 shader
Storage 2x Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB SATA II 7200RPM 16MB Cache
Display(s) Monitor 1: 23" ASUS VG236HE 3D Monitor 2: Samsung BX2331
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Antec 850W High Current Pro
Software Windows 7 Home x64
#6
thanks everyone, i found it, it is running in dual

btw anyone got any ideas why im finding that with 8GB @800 timming 4-4-4-12 i am not getting better performance than

3GB none dual @ 800 timmings 5-5-5-15????

i get lower Vista rating too?
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#7
thanks everyone, i found it, it is running in dual

btw anyone got any ideas why im finding that with 8GB @800 timming 4-4-4-12 i am not getting better performance than

3GB none dual @ 800 timmings 5-5-5-15????

i get lower Vista rating too?
Because barely any applications make use of 8 GB of ram so a performance boost isn't going to be too noticeable and your latencies are not dramatically lower either. I'd recommend that you disable virtual memory completely and you should notice an improvement.

http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/help/89ca317f-649d-40a6-8934-e5707ee5c4b81033.mspx
 

Shadow_ID

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor Core i7 950 socket 1366 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58-G1-GUERILLA X58 Socket 1366
Cooling Corsair H80 cooling (idl - 35c - full load - 60c)
Memory 4GB Corsire Dominator GT 2000Mgz 10-10-10-25
Video Card(s) 2X GAINWARD GTX580 SLI 772 clock/1005 memory/1544 shader
Storage 2x Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB SATA II 7200RPM 16MB Cache
Display(s) Monitor 1: 23" ASUS VG236HE 3D Monitor 2: Samsung BX2331
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Antec 850W High Current Pro
Software Windows 7 Home x64
#8
TY, any idea about what timings would be good to go for?

and i changed VM to min 16MB max 400MB just to keep info about any crashes, is this worth doing or should i just remove them all together?
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#9
TY, any idea about what timings would be good to go for?

and i changed VM to min 16MB max 400MB just to keep info about any crashes, is this worth doing or should i just remove them all together?

Remove virtual memory completely on all hard disk drives. The hard disk's virtual memory is more than 100 times slower than RAM, so keep VM disabled.

There is no quick fix to memory timings you have to experiment and it could take a few hours. Try every single latency combination in the bios and write down the combinations that work and eventually you will have a list of low timings e.g. first try 5-4-5-15, then 5-4-4-15, and then 5-4-4-12 and then 4-4-4-12 and so on.

If you select an incompatible timing you may have to reset your bios via jumper pin and start again.