1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Having trouble overclocking a Q9550

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by scope54, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    280 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    So i got a Q9550 for my B-day and its not overclocking as well as I'd hope. ATM im thinking its the motherboard.
    Mine is an E0 revision, and i cant get into windows (@405FSB) without the FSB overvolt at +.3. Anything over 405 seems to crash. Memory is running within specs (doesnt ever go above 1066). I had an E6550 @ 3.4 (~480FSB) and it was stable.

    So the real question is has anyone had any problems overclocking a q9550 on a gigabyte p35-ds3l (latest BIOS)?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 14, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,909 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,432
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    OK here is the thing - you're oCing a Quad - since its E0, we know its not the proc voltage - so its most likely a crap/overheating north bridge. Set your CPU voltage to the recommended 1.365 in bios (or the equivalent of +.whatever)... for now.

    Then you're going to have to up the gMCH to the maximum value, not the FSB - the FSB usually stands for FSB termination voltage, and that is very, very bad to at a high voltage as it will absolutely fry a 45NM processor over a longer period of time. gMCH = Northbridge.

    you do not wanna run the FSB at more than +.1

    OK once you up the gMCH you will need to put a fan on the NB heatsink - the DS3 L's run extra toasty and heat will cause NB instability a Bluescreen even if the proc is fine. an 80MM fan with some doublestick tape does wonders.

    Try that at a higher FSB - say 444FSB (1777Mhz) and see if it boots. Last but not least - DO NOT RUN THE MEMORY AT 1066 YET (yes had to be in caps)... if it isn't the processor, or the memory - then its the NB, the higher the memory frequency, the harder it is on the NB and the lower your Overclock will be if you set the memory too high - even if it is within memory specs.

    The higher FSB will make up for the lower ram speeds - running 900 Mhz at a 1800Mhz FSB is usually faster than 1066Mhz at a 1333Mhz FSB.

    long post, I know - but I just got an E0 and had a hell of a time untill i figured out my NB was made of pure FAIL. Let us know if this helps.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
    scope54 says thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,946 (9.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,503
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    try running the ram at 800. P35's dont clock too well with high ram, unless you crank the NB voltages.
     
    scope54 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,909 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,432
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    wow you said that in so many fewer words.... respect. :toast:
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,946 (9.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,503
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    try typing the same advice 3-4 times a day, and you get good at abbreviating it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    280 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    thank you sirs!!

    EDIT::anything higher than 390FSB either freezes at windows boot, or doesn't pass POST. (at +.1 FSBvolt, +.3MCH volt)
    and whats my target temps for the NB?
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,909 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,432
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    as low as possible for the NB... touch the heatsink - you'll see what I mean... try to run 444MHz FSB with 888Mhz 2.0v ram at 5-5-5-15 timings. also what is your v-core.

    Disable any "spread spectrum" or anything like that.

    I know how you feel... I had an e8500 that could do 540FSB on this board... but the q9650, not a hair past 435.

    It does sound like you *could* get it stable at 400ish... but you're really not going to get much more out of that board. :(
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
    scope54 says thanks.
  8. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    280 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    yea i had the ram on the lowest divider whatever FSB i put it at and default timings.

    the highest i went with the vcore was ~1.3v and it still didnt boot into windows.

    thx for the confirmation about the board, think im just going to try for 395 ish, now i have an excuse to upgrade my motherboard :D ....but only after the video card

    EDIT: the NB is idling ~40.c load at 42.c
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. waldis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hello!
    any luck with oc-ing?

    voltages are really high for that frequencies
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)