• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HD 3870 meant for Vista only?

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#1
Just thought I would post my findings thus far. I had rescently purchased a HD3870 512MB videocard. Initially I tried to run this card with XP SP2, and had run into many issues with game and testing compatability. It seemed like everytime I turned around everything I tried to run on XP with the HD3870 failed initially until it was patched in some form or another.

Well due to some rescent OC'ing killing my antivirus software and possibly corrupting my HDD, I decided to take the plunge and install Vista Ultimate 32bit. Now I have only been running this OS for 2 days now but the difference is crystal clear to me. So far everything I have installed along the lines of games which had caused issues previously ( Crysis, COD4, and even GuildWars) with crashes of VPU recoveries are gone. As far as testing (3DMarks and even Aquamark3) run absolutely perfect without patches or deleting files in the system folders.

Now I could be completely off my rocker here , but from what I've gathered here in the past 5-6 days of comparing the XP and Vista difference, I would have to say it is huge. Not only do I get the bennifit of DX10 in Crysis (which is noticable, and no video watched prior to Vista being installed does any justice for it) It clears up all my other games (optimizes?) as well.

Theses are just my findings and I would really care to read input as to whether or not patches / hotfixes were needed and what type of OS was being run at the time.

Thanks, peet:toast:
 
Last edited:

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#2
you got the DX10 megabytings now
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,967 (1.36/day)
Likes
835
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#3
mine hasnt needed patches to run in XP.. at least not in cod 4 or crysis.. admitted i had to install the drivers manually with XP which aint good.. its not the card thow more a cat 7.11 driver install ATI c-ck up in XP..

the futuremark dll thing is an ati 2000 series and onwards problem not just the 3000 series..

but the newer cats do seem to have an install problem on XP.. they cant call the windows install shied for some reason..

the vpu recovers i have had were simply down to running the core too fast.. at 830 on the core i dont get any.. i did start off at 855 and have been working my way down..

but i would agree ati have done better job with their vista driver package than the XP variant.. but no way can they only intend the card just for vista.. i think its a short term thing..

i have been running the 7.11 cats not the hotfix ones..

trog
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
Could very well just be the individual driver difference, never really looked at it that way. Altho I was getting VPU recoveries with stock clocks.

Thanks for the info and your point of view....hopefully I will be clocking a bit here in the near future!
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
Because of this finding i´ll think twice before buying a 3870/3850 card.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
Because of this finding i´ll think twice before buying a 3870/3850 card.
Its just my personal opinion, and as Trog has stated , it is probobally in fact just a driver issue. I was just stating what I had found and was wondering what others experiences were baed SOLELY on the OS!
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#7
although isn't saying these cards are made for vista kinda obvious? they are dx10/10.1 cards. lol
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#8
although isn't saying these cards are made for vista kinda obvious? they are dx10/10.1 cards. lol
Sorta...If we look back to the 8800's that all my friends are runnin , they didnt seem to need all the "adjustments" that these required . Also in the DX10 catagory!
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
1,455 (0.33/day)
Likes
43
Location
The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
Processor custom dupont risk chip cpu prototype
Motherboard custom ibm x5 solid state carbon mainboard
Cooling industrial technologies prototype dupont custom heat transfer unit
Memory 6x 2gig prototype ecc hnc ddr4
Video Card(s) prototype low energy version nvidia 9 series unnumberd card
Storage 1tb solid state hdd
Display(s) 44 inch samsung plasma screen tv/monitor
Case custom ibm mobile home server case
Audio Device(s) custom Yamaha sound processing processor in spm format
Power Supply 1200watt deli cord custom made dupont type psu
Software sun unix/windows type v
#9
it is no doubt just a driver issue which new cards always suffer, when the next official driver is released and wdm certified all the issues will be gone. Right now Vista development seems to be taking the precedent when it comes to drivers especially if something is branded vista compatible.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#10
Just thought I would post my findings thus far. I had rescently purchased a HD3870 512MB videocard. Initially I tried to run this card with XP SP2, and had run into many issues with game and testing compatability. It seemed like everytime I turned around everything I tried to run on XP with the HD3870 failed initially until it was patched in some form or another.

Well due to some rescent OC'ing killing my antivirus software and possibly corrupting my HDD, I decided to take the plunge and install Vista Ultimate 32bit. Now I have only been running this OS for 2 days now but the difference is crystal clear to me. So far everything I have installed along the lines of games which had caused issues previously ( Crysis, COD4, and even GuildWars) with crashes of VPU recoveries are gone. As far as testing (3DMarks and even Aquamark3) run absolutely perfect without patches or deleting files in the system folders.

Now I could be completely off my rocker here , but from what I've gathered here in the past 5-6 days of comparing the XP and Vista difference, I would have to say it is huge. Not only do I get the bennifit of DX10 in Crysis (which is noticable, and no video watched prior to Vista being installed does any justice for it) It clears up all my other games (optimizes?) as well.

Theses are just my findings and I would really care to read input as to whether or not patches / hotfixes were needed and what type of OS was being run at the time.

Thanks, peet:toast:
sounds like a XP driver problem
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#11
i haven't had any problems(other than the ones trog had), though i am considering installing vista anyway. how painful was the install of all your software and drivers, peety?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#12
i haven't had any problems(other than the ones trog had), though i am considering installing vista anyway. how painful was the install of all your software and drivers, peety?
dude the drivers come to YOU in vista :p
when you have installed it, it will look up windows update and download all the missing drivers, etc, but you should update to latest catalyst, audio etc from manufactors, windows update is not allways updated hehe :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#13
I can't get CCC working in 7.11s, trying 7.10s now...
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#14
i haven't had any problems(other than the ones trog had), though i am considering installing vista anyway. how painful was the install of all your software and drivers, peety?
I had no issues with the transfer over to Vista. It was smooth and painless, actually despite all the poop publicity , I was/am impressed with the easy of setup and use!:toast:
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
1,335 (0.33/day)
Likes
90
Processor e8200 3.93mhz@1.264v
Motherboard P5E3 Pro
Cooling Scythe Infinity
Memory 4gb of G.Skill Ripjaw 6-7-7-18@1404 and 1.62v
Video Card(s) HIS 5770 v2 940/1275mhz stock volts
Storage 1TB Hitachi
Display(s) Acer 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Blue Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio :(, and Klipsch 5.1 Pro Media's
Power Supply 650 Watt BFG
Software Vista 64 Ultimate
#15
My 3870 is also fine with XP, but I can't get the ccc to show withe 7.11 so I am using 7.10.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#16
My 3870 is also fine with XP, but I can't get the ccc to show withe 7.11 so I am using 7.10.
Wouldnt exactly call that fine !!!!!
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
1,335 (0.33/day)
Likes
90
Processor e8200 3.93mhz@1.264v
Motherboard P5E3 Pro
Cooling Scythe Infinity
Memory 4gb of G.Skill Ripjaw 6-7-7-18@1404 and 1.62v
Video Card(s) HIS 5770 v2 940/1275mhz stock volts
Storage 1TB Hitachi
Display(s) Acer 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Blue Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio :(, and Klipsch 5.1 Pro Media's
Power Supply 650 Watt BFG
Software Vista 64 Ultimate
#17
Wouldnt exactly call that fine !!!!!
No crashes, no patches in games, 7.10 works good. I would say that is doing better than what you described!!!
 

VictorCS

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
I've got the 3870, and 7.11 work as it should, games run stable.....
No issues on my XP SP2, no need for patched either.