1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 4870 BCCode: 117 Error

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by cplpro, Aug 11, 2008.

  1. cplpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi,

    Does somebody know about this error ?
    All I know is, that it is an graphic card error.


    LiveKernelEvent
    BCCode: 117
    BCP1: FFFFFA80053EE3F0
    BCP2: FFFFFA6002636E34
    BCP3: 0000000000000000
    BCP4: 0000000000000000
    OS Version: 6_0_6001
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 256_1
     
  2. quasar923 Guest

    that must suck, try reinstalling drivers
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Have you recently changed graphics card?
     
  4. cplpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    THX 4 Help

    I reinstalled 100 times...no result.
    My last hope is format c: - if it does not work than, the GPU will be sent back to my retailer.
    Sure of a software problem ?




    No I haven`t
     
  5. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,848 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes its a driver Issue. Uninstall ATI drivers and the "ATI Uninstall Utility". Then re-install drivers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    When do you get this error?

    And have you tried any driver cleaners in between driver installs?
     
  7. cplpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I got the error since i overcvlocked my CPU.
    But CPU works great stable (14h @Prime95).

    The error appears when running 3d applications (games and benchs).


    PS:
    I always got one of these errors

    THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER_M (100000ea)

    VIDEO_TDR_TIMEOUT_DETECTED (117)
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2008
  8. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    What drivers are you using ? If you are using the 8.8 beta go back to 8.6 or 8.7.

    Usually that code is for over heating, were you gaming when the code came up ?

    If this only happens while OC does it do the same while not OC ?
     
  9. cplpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I used Cat 8.6 <-> 8.7.....no results yet.
    I agree with that heat issue, makes sense because of the CPU, but it means that the GPU must have ~200°F (120°C) or more.

    No errors without OC (I tested only 1 time)
     
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    What sort of temps are you GPU on? Idle/load?

    If this is a GFX issue, I cant see how an orthos stable CPU OC can effect it... :confused:
     
  11. cplpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Tems should be "ok" for the 4800 series xD

    I know......GPU must be damaged somehow, there is no other answer for me :(
     
  12. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    Rma ^___~
     
  13. cplpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah seemes so.......damnit that suxx :(
     
  14. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    What does CCC and/or GPU-Z say for the temps?
     
  15. cplpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Idle:
    GPU Diode 75 °C (167 °F)
    GPU VRM 62 °C (144 °F)

    Load:
    GPU Diode 80 °C (176 °F)
    GPU VRM 102 °C (216 °F)



    Cooler hack:
    Load:
    GPU Diode 46 °C (115 °F)
    GPU VRM 90 °C (201 °F)



    VRam becomes toasty at the moment
     
  16. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Might habe something to do with the VRM temp, but after the cooling hack (fix I presume?). It should be better. Are you Ocing the graphics card at all?
     
  17. cplpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes, speed runs with 3500rpm, and vram runs with 200°F.

    No card isn`t overlocked.
     
  18. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Still could be VRM's overheating, that is ridiculously hot. But I dont have a 4870 so not sure the norm temps. I know it a hot card in any case. Has it been any better since you reduce OC on the CPU?
     
  19. cplpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I haven`t tested yet.
    The only thing I tested was Crysis, and without OC it ran like it should, so it seems to work though.
     
  20. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Well before you RMA, keep trying without OC. See if you can make it crash. If you cant that ust be the fix. Only thing I can think of is that the display driver doesnt like your OC and is corrupting itself or something.
     
  21. cplpro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok thx 4 help so far!
     
  22. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,848 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    There are also some issues with using Aero and certian cards with CCC.
    Also before reloading drivers (after cleaning out old), Try defragging the HDD and rebooting beforeloading drivers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)