• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 5450 - XPC does not boot up

DJPlanlos

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Shuttle SG33G5M
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.00 GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 5450
Power Supply 250 w
#1
Hi,

I have a Shuttle SG33G5M and just added a PCI graphic card (HD 5450). I am not able to use the PCIe as I already have a raid controller sitting on it.

The jumper is set to use PCIe.

Now, after I added the graphic card, the PC does not boot anymore. It does not even seem to initialize as it does not even get as far as calculating the memory.

It just beeps, turns the fan, and after 5 seconds it beeps again, turns the fan, ... and so on.
When I remove the graphic card, all is fine again.

What can that be related to? The power supply is 250w only but should be enough for a PCI card, isnt it?

Does anyone have any idea?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,725 (6.36/day)
Likes
7,635
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#2
Try the card in another board.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#3
Hi

This is from the AMD web site - as follows

■PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard
400 Watt or greater power supply recommended
■Certified power supplies are recommended. Refer to http://support.amd.com/us/certified/power-supplies/Pages/listing.aspx for a list of Certified products
■Minimum 1GB of system memory
■Installation software requires CD-ROM drive
■DVD playback requires DVD drive
■Blu-ray™ playback requires Blu-ray drive

source - http://www.amd.com/us/products/desk...d-5450-overview/Pages/hd-5450-overview.aspx#3

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,725 (6.36/day)
Likes
7,635
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#4
It also says you need a 16x PCI-e slot. Seeing how the card is PCI I find those requirements to be a bit useless.

Club3D recommends a 600w unit for a card that draws 13W maximum

club3D said:
PCI 2.2 or higher compatible motherboard is required with one PCI graphics slot available
350 Watt or greater power supply, Club 3D recommends CSP-S600 600 Watt Switching Power Supply
Minimum 1024MB of system memory
Installation software requires CD-ROM drive, a keyboard, a mouse and a display
DVD playback requires DVD drive
Blu-ray™ playback requires Blu-ray drive
 

DJPlanlos

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Shuttle SG33G5M
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.00 GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 5450
Power Supply 250 w
#5
I sent back the card and the vendor exchanged it.

When I put in the new one, same story in both computers. That really makes me wondering.
How likely is it to get two damaged cards in a row? And I'm quite sure he did not send me the same one back as it was orginally boxed.

In two computers I tried it and got two different symptoms:
- 1st computer does not boot, does not even show the bios start screen
- 2nd computer boots up normally but no output on the new card and new card can not be seen in Hardware Manager either.

Sounds like either card is damaged or both mainboards just do not like it. Can it have anything to do with the bios?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#6
In two computers I tried it and got two different symptoms:
- 1st computer does not boot, does not even show the bios start screen
- 2nd computer boots up normally but no output on the new card and new card can not be seen in Hardware Manager either
as theres no mention of the Brandname Make Model Number of the PC's or their hardware![*Motherboard CPU and PSU] in either the 1st or 2nd computers that the HD 5450 has been tested in; it is impossible to give a clear answer to either of the questions

atb

Law-II
 

DJPlanlos

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Shuttle SG33G5M
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.00 GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 5450
Power Supply 250 w
#7
the 1st computer is a Shuttle SG33G5M. Mainboard is Shuttle FG33. CPU is a E8400.

The 2nd one I'd need to check as it's a friend's one.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#8
the 1st computer is a Shuttle SG33G5M. Mainboard is Shuttle FG33. CPU is a E8400.

The 2nd one I'd need to check as it's a friend's one.
Hi

assuming the shuttle SG33G5M is the pc with the 250w PSU: the PSU is most likley the course of the HD 5450 not powering on. However saying this we have to assume that you have done the following:

Powered up and booted the SG33G5M with the Monitor plugged into the onboard integrated vga
next
entered the bios
next
changed the settings in the bios to boot from *PCI, saved settings and exit [Note: not PCIe]
next
powered down the PC
next
installed the HD 5450
next
moved the Monitor cable over to the HD 5450
next
Booted the pc; and still have no image/ blank screen


it's all in the details, can you find out and let the TPU community know the specs of the 2nd pc

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

DJPlanlos

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
System Name Shuttle SG33G5M
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.00 GHz
Memory 4GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 5450
Power Supply 250 w
#9
that is exactly what I did on both computers.

The second one has a ASUS A8N-SLI DELUXE-EAYZ board.
when I booted up that machine, it did not even shot the card in the hardware manager.