1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD2900Pro 256-bit, worth it?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Apocalypsee, Mar 13, 2008.

  1. Apocalypsee

    Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    223 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    Malaysia
    I want a new card, and I have enough money to buy HD2900Pro 256-bit 2nd hand. I want some opinion on people who owned this card please :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,762 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    WI
    i would go for the 512 if you could, how much are you paying?
     
  3. Apocalypsee

    Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    223 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    Malaysia
    The 512-bit costs twice as much. It costs RM480 (or 151USD), which is on my budget
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,762 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    WI
    if i were you, im not sure how much the 3870's are wher your live, but if you could i would go for one of those, much less heat and power
     
  5. Apocalypsee

    Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    223 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    Malaysia
    The cheapest HD3870 costs RM599, but the brand is Colorful and it didn't follow reference design, but the clocks are right. While the normal Sapphire HD3870 RM700+. Either way I need to save more

    How about 9600GT vs HD2900Pro? It's slightly more expensive than the Pro at RM575
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,355 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    9600GT would beat out the 256-Bit 2900, im pretty sure. And would be much easier on your 500Watt PSU:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,762 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    WI
    yes teh 2900 is a beast of a card, but it is a very power hungry beast, if i were you i would opt for the 9600, it would eb easier on your psu, and teh 9600 is a great card
     
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,159 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Just buy a HD3850 and OC it.

    same card as the HD3870/
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,819 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    yep there you go, I have mine above the HD3870's stock clocks right now

    I got my second card for 120 bucks off ebay:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,696 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    256bit 2900s are next to worthless..

    Buy a 3850/3870 they will destroy that 2900pro.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. MrW

    MrW New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    188 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Your psu should work fine with a 2900Pro. The 256-bit version isn't that bad, it is very good when compared to other cards in it's price range. It is much slower than the 3850/9600gt but they usually cost much more.
    If electricity in Malaysia is very expensive don't get he 2900Pro, they use lots of power. Get a 3850 instead.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Apocalypsee

    Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    223 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Alright then, I'll try to aim for at least HD3850, and I guess the 512MB too. Although 9600GT is cheaper than the 512MB HD3850

    My 7600GT finally died, but I still don't have enough money to buy a new cards. The 2nd hand HD2900Pro has been sold unfortunately, so I need to wait

    Anymore recommendation is welcomed :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. VroomBang New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Spain
    I just got a 7600GT 128MB for 13GBP=26USD on ebay UK, new from a store, so not only under warranty but with a nice return policy. eBay UK is also full of great second hand cards.

    With a bit of luck, you could get your HD3850 within budget, unless you're thinking about another 7600GT, which you can find dirt cheap.
     
  14. Deusxmachina

    Deusxmachina New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    526 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    How does the 512bit 2900 pro compare to the worthless 256bit 2900 pro?
     
  15. Psychoholic

    Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    537 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    my 2900XT (Which is really a Pro flashed to XT) is clocked at 820 Core and 2000 Memory 24/7, and it rocks. The 512bit pro is a good buy if you can find one, mine was $159 on newegg a while back.

    I dont know how much the 256bit bus would hurt it, it doesnt seem to hurt the 3870 Performance much.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,325 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well I know that the 512 bit is a staight up an XT with lowered clocks, but the 256 Bit however is not.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,549 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    City 17, California, U.S.A.
    I am real happy with my 512mb 3850. I think you will be happy with one. :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,819 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    it actually does hurt the performance, the 2900 series was designed to be used with a 512bit bus and the 256bit bus really hurts those cards

    just check out ebay, you can get a 3850 cheap there
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Deusxmachina

    Deusxmachina New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    526 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Got any benchmark links for that?
     
  20. KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,819 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    ohhh wait, I thought this was a GT

    the Pro I think with 256bit is probably going to be a little slower than a odinary pro with probably the 3850's performance level but will run hotter and use alot more power,

    I don't see these on newegg anymore, did they replace this with the GT
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Apocalypsee

    Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    223 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    Malaysia
    I might buy 9600GT today, I hope I made the correct decision on this
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,762 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    WI
    yes you did i love my pro(512 version) but the 9600 will serve you will
     
  23. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5,073 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    Location:
    AZ
    you did, the 9600gt is much faster than a256-bit 2900pro, and it has less power draw.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Apocalypsee

    Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    223 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Yep, you guys right. This card is awesome! I bought Albatron 9600GT. The stock cooler looks awesome (reference, but it's a beauty!). Playing Crysis like never before! 1280x960 using custom config, a lot smoother than 7600GT. I loved it.

    I got 8488 3DMark06, probably because my slow CPU
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)