1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD3850 256MB and Metro2033

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Eric_Cartman, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    678 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    My GTX460 just died on me, so I had to quickly find a replacement while I fight with eVGA to RMA it.

    EVGA doesn't want to warranty the card because I bought it from a local shop and they can't authenticate the invoice...:mad:

    Anyway, a friend had an HD3850 256MB laying around, but I just bought Metro2033.

    Can the HD3850 256MB handle Metro2033, even if I have to play at 1024x768?

    Or will the setting have to be so low it will just look like complete trash?

    He is shipping me the card so I'll have it this next week, but I just want to know before hand if it will be playable, because if it won't then I'll dedicate a little from my next pay check to buying something else to hold me.
     
  2. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,951 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,082
    Location:
    Houston
    overclock it the 3850 isn't a terrible card 256mb will kill it a little.

    as for evga and invoices i think i rma'd about a dozen boards to them without any receipt lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I think it should be able to play that game just fine if you lower down the graphic settings and overclock the card a little bit.
     
  4. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,521 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,136
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Metro 2033 is one of the most graphically intensive games on the market, that old card will have a tough time handling it properly
     
  5. meran

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    473 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    wow first i didnt believe in need of graphic memory but when i had 8800gts 320mb and dx 10 in crysis the card would run out of steam easily ,just stick with dx9
     
  6. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Can you just return the card to the retail store, or is it past the time limit? A new gtx 460 is really really cheap, but even a gtx 460 will have some serious trouble with metro 2033 unless you're playing at under 1080p resolutions with ADOF off, etc. That will give you an idea of how a 3850 with 256MB vram will hold up.
     
  7. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    678 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    The maximum resolution I will be using is 1440x900 because that is the maximum of my monitor.

    I have no problem lowing the resolution to 1024x768 if need be.

    I also don't mind running it in DX9 either as long as it won't make the game look like complete shit.

    That is what worries me, will the game be playable at 1024x768 and DX9 and will it still look good?
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,652 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,157
    "Look good" is subjective. Metro 2033 may look great to one person on low settings while someone else may say it looks like garbage. I guess you'll have to wait until you get the card or maybe someone will chime in who still uses that card and plays Metro on it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I own the game. I'll load it up on 1024x768 on dx9 & low settings and see what it looks like. I'll take some fraps screen shots and try to give you an idea.

    It honestly doesn't look bad in DX9 with low settings, but on my 24" samsungs it is very hard to play at 1024x768. If you had a crt with native res it would look a lot better. The game would be very playable at a slightly higher widescreen resolution. I'll attach a couple quick shots of the beginning of the game. These are at the lowest possible settings in DX9 that I could set:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 12, 2011
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,594 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,359
    Location:
    Rochester area
    no not even close had the 512 version about 9fps on low settings
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)