• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HD3850 Atitool temp chip issue

Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi, I'm having this little issue with my hd 3850 and Atitool

When idle GPU temp is like 30 (watercooling), load 40. But the "temp chip" temperature idles at 0 (exactly) and goes up to like 80 - 90C when running the artifact test.

Where is the "temp chip" sensor located? Is it a bad reading or maybe something is wrong with my cooling setup? Anyone else having this issue?

Thanks a lot, full sys specs in signature
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,945 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#3
I wonder if that's similar to the VRM's on the x1xxx series...I know I had VRM temps on my 1950pro and xtx (my only x1x cards). I'm sure a more experienced 38xx user will pop in soon enough Havoc.

:toast:
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Hello there it seems im getting the same results from atitool same exact version. it shows my temps at idle as follows gpu 45 and temp chip 0, but when i start an artifact scan it goes too about 70c load and 99c on temp chip. ive let it scan for 30 mins or better and it shows no artifacts. so im thinking for sure since nothing seems to be cooking in there that all is well . it may be a bug after all it is just a beta . im using .027 beta 4 . the card is a diamond ruby edition 3870.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
152 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Processor i2500k @ 4.7 Ghz w/ 1.310 V (idle~5C/bench~30C)
Motherboard MSI Z68A gd80
Cooling Water on CPU and GPU w/Waterchilled loop
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb @ 1600 w/ 1.5 V
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 oc'd 1250/1775
Storage 2x500 gb seagate barracuda's in raid 0
Display(s) Samsung 27" LCD @ 1920x1080
Case Nanoxia DS-1
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#5
I have seen the exact same thing with my Powercolor 3850 agp, mine is also watercooled with load rarely exceeding 21C (temp never goes below 19C no matter how cold the water is). I happened to remove the side of my case last night just to do some inspecting, and when I touched the ram on my gpu (used the copper bar that came with it originally) it was pretty warm not burning hot though. But, I did make the mistake of touching the bridge, damn near burned the heck out of me. I have a feeling that temperature sensor is off that chip simply because I could believe it being 99C:eek: It sure as hell felt like it!!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Have you tried using CCC or Rivatuner to monitor it?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
152 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Processor i2500k @ 4.7 Ghz w/ 1.310 V (idle~5C/bench~30C)
Motherboard MSI Z68A gd80
Cooling Water on CPU and GPU w/Waterchilled loop
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb @ 1600 w/ 1.5 V
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 oc'd 1250/1775
Storage 2x500 gb seagate barracuda's in raid 0
Display(s) Samsung 27" LCD @ 1920x1080
Case Nanoxia DS-1
Power Supply Corsair TX750
#7
As far as I can tell neither one of them displays that temp. Only seen it in ATI Tool.
 

Megasty

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
1,263 (0.36/day)
Likes
81
Location
The Kingdom of Au
Processor i7 920 @ 3.6 GHz (4.0 when gaming)
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme - Yeah I Bought It...
Cooling Swiftech.
Memory 12 GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - I Love Red
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870X2 - That Fan Is...!?
Storage 4 WD 1.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Sceptre
Case TT Xaser VI - Fugly, Red, & Huge...
Audio Device(s) The ASUS Thingy
Power Supply Ultra X3 1000W
Software Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit
#8
But, I did make the mistake of touching the bridge, damn near burned the heck out of me. I have a feeling that temperature sensor is off that chip simply because I could believe it being 99C:eek: It sure as hell felt like it!!
You do know that 99C is 210.2F. If you touched that you'll have nearly no feeling in your fingers for atleast a day then you'll have one monster of a blister. It was probably more like 70C. Anyway try gpu-z 0.1.7 or HWMonitor. They seem to work pretty well. I never got atitool to show accurate temps at all.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
#9
thread rez:cry:

That 'temp-chip' in atitool is gpu usage. It's mislabeled temp chip. Thats why it sits at around 0%, then jumps to 99% when you test it with the 3d view


Also atitool updates it extremely slowly - so it's near useless and just says "hey your gpu is working at 99% now". You can change temperature monitoring from 10 seconds to 1 or 2 and it will be more useful.
:D