• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HD3870 & power saving

durz

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Ok so I've had the HD3870 for a few weeks now and recently found a problem with its power saving feature since I was experiencing lower than expected FPS even in older games

As many of you know the card's core underclocks to ~300MHz when not under heavy load. Using Rivatuner to monitor my card I found that the card won't go back to the rated 777MHz until about 80% GPU load

That's good and all but for some older games (2005-2006ish) the GPU usage never goes above about 30-40% so the core speed stays stuck at 300MHz - resulting in diminished performance

Forcing the speed to 777MHz using Rivatuner's overclocking doesn't seem to work because the card still clocks down to 300MHz during light load

How can I fix this?

Also my card's fan speed doesn't seem to go over 40% even at 90+ degrees celcius. It doesn't really bother me because I can set up fan profiles but just wondering if its intended that the default bios doesn't increase speeds over 40%?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#2
Do you have ATI tool?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
121 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Location
Edmonton Alberta Canada
System Name Neo2
Processor Intel Core i7 CPU 920
Motherboard ASUS X58 Sabertooth
Cooling Water cooled
Memory HyperX blu 8GB DDR3-1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit (2 x 4GB) x 3
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5850 1024m x2
Storage 1x 60g Corsair CSSD-F60GB2, 1 x 1000g WD Black 2x 500g SATA2, 1x 320g SATA2
Display(s) x3 HP 2210ms
Case Thermaltake Armor VA800BWS
Audio Device(s) PCI Express X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series on Z-5000 Digtal speakers
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast Series TX850 V2
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#3
My HD 3870 also seems to slow. Well useing ATI tool 0.27 beta 3 i dont see any clock change but i do see temps in the 90'c and no fan speed. I checked it the fan is spining and it is and the PCB does not feel hot like 90'c should be. Ati tool and gpuz pick attacted.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#4
The clock change is in your Catalyst. here
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.33/day)
Likes
277
Location
Johannesburg, South Africa
System Name Blackbox
Processor Intel i5 750 @ stock for now
Motherboard EVGA P55 LE
Cooling Corsair H50 with 2 x Zalman ZM-F3 push/pull
Memory 2 x 2g team extreem DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 460 Top
Storage Seagate 500.12, Seagate 320.11
Display(s) BenQ FP222W - 22 inches
Case CM 590 with 5x various fans (Thermalright/Noctua)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software XP home SP3
#5
My 3850 is doing the same thing when I play W.O.W. :banghead:
Currently trying to get ATI tool 0.27 beta to run, as 0.26 is a no go.

Anybody figured out a workaround for this underclocking? :cry:
(I like the idea, but hate not being able to control what apps will activate 3D mode)
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#6
whats wrong with ati tool .27 not running?
you just need to make sure the fan is running at 100% and you should be fine...
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,966 (1.36/day)
Likes
833
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#7
so if i run 3dmark 2001 will i see a lousy score.. he he he

gonna try it and see.. what sort of older games are we talking..???

trog
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,966 (1.36/day)
Likes
833
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#8
my curiosity is active.. he he he



its while running 3dmark 2001 at a zillion frames a second.. it scored 58084.. the counter was locked at 999 some of the time so i aint even sure if it scored correct.. but it must represent an older game.

as u see gpu usage drops of sometimes but core speed stay up.. just trying to find out what causes it not to trigger into 3d speed or drop out.. its not high frame rates.. so what is it.. ???

unless less it decide 500 frames per second is enough and dont bother trying any harder.. :laugh:

trog
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.33/day)
Likes
277
Location
Johannesburg, South Africa
System Name Blackbox
Processor Intel i5 750 @ stock for now
Motherboard EVGA P55 LE
Cooling Corsair H50 with 2 x Zalman ZM-F3 push/pull
Memory 2 x 2g team extreem DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 460 Top
Storage Seagate 500.12, Seagate 320.11
Display(s) BenQ FP222W - 22 inches
Case CM 590 with 5x various fans (Thermalright/Noctua)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software XP home SP3
#9
ATI tool 0.27 now seems to be working, but had some nasty pixelation after adjusting the fan speed to 100%. Didn't hear it spinning up either. :confused:
I'll have to look at it in the morning, as sleep is urgently needed.

I'm asking the same question as Trogg - how does the C.C.C. know when a 3D app is running?
Maybe if someone finds the answer to that, a more elegant solution can be found to this power saving issue.

And a suitable aftermarket cooler will be purchased next month. Zalman VF1000 anyone?:D
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#10
got the vf900 on the way right now... should be here some time next week.. I'm hoping..
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,966 (1.36/day)
Likes
833
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#11
well so far i cant make it not crank up its speed.. with fear my oldest game at present it runs a nice flat 100% gpu usage at an average of 136 frames per second well maxed out..

supreme commander is very peaky.. in its gpu usage.. not flat like fear.. but it remains full speed

the lightsmark bench makes it run only 50% gpu usage but full speed on the core...

and wookie if u cant here a 3870 fan crank up its cos its not doing.. it really does sound like a leaf blower at 100%.. way too loud for none headphone usage..

can someone run one of these older games in question and run the rivatuner monitor at the same time.. ??

trog

ps... one thing i remember from trying to use atitool is the 3d app needs to be fullscreen.. 3d in a window dosnt trigger it.. with the CCC running things it does trigger for 3d in a window.. that might be one explanation why some aint getting full speed with older games..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.33/day)
Likes
277
Location
Johannesburg, South Africa
System Name Blackbox
Processor Intel i5 750 @ stock for now
Motherboard EVGA P55 LE
Cooling Corsair H50 with 2 x Zalman ZM-F3 push/pull
Memory 2 x 2g team extreem DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 460 Top
Storage Seagate 500.12, Seagate 320.11
Display(s) BenQ FP222W - 22 inches
Case CM 590 with 5x various fans (Thermalright/Noctua)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software XP home SP3
#12
Trog which drivers you running? (I'm running vanilla Cat 7.12)

I was running world of warcraft in fullscreen, (1680 x 1050) and when I swapped back to the desktop with the game still running, clock was at 300mHz with temps on GPU about 6 - 8 deg above idle temp. Game still plays allright on that clock, (designed to run on Noah's ark) but I like things to work properly.

As I've just installed ATI tool and rivatuner, I'll need a bit of time to get my head around them.

Watch this space.;)
 

Lillebror

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
719 (0.19/day)
Likes
88
Location
Denmark
Processor Intel Core2Duo e8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro w/ mBios
Cooling Xigmatec something with a orange fan
Memory Kingston HyperX 4 gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire hd4870
Storage 320 gb Maxtor 750gb samsung f11 250gb hitachi
Display(s) IIyama e1900s
Case CoolerMaster Ammo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2/PM Pci
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 7 x64
#13
I dont have this problem with my 3870

I tried with an old game (pharao) and then with need for speed Carbon.
Mine dosent throttle at anytime :s
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,966 (1.36/day)
Likes
833
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#14
i have read something about power management with the card thow.. its supposed to know when full power isnt needed and throttle back.. not just the basic 2d or 3d speed.. its supposed to use something in between speeds when it thinks full wack isnt needed.. what is supposed to make it think it can throttle back (if it does) is still a mystery to me as yet..

it did seem to be only using half gpu power during parts of the 3dmark 2001 run..praps it thought 999 fps wasnt needed.. he he he

more like system speed holding it back thow.. dunno never run these kinda tests before..

trog
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.33/day)
Likes
277
Location
Johannesburg, South Africa
System Name Blackbox
Processor Intel i5 750 @ stock for now
Motherboard EVGA P55 LE
Cooling Corsair H50 with 2 x Zalman ZM-F3 push/pull
Memory 2 x 2g team extreem DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 460 Top
Storage Seagate 500.12, Seagate 320.11
Display(s) BenQ FP222W - 22 inches
Case CM 590 with 5x various fans (Thermalright/Noctua)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX620
Software XP home SP3
#15
Well, ever since I attempted to change the fan speed with ATI tool last night, the card keeps blackscreening on me.:cry:
With everything on default, and not running ati tool, it will die on me either just after booting into windows, or run for about 20 min.

Card will be RMA'ed tomorrow morning.:ohwell:

So for now my trusty 7600GT will have to do.

I'm beginning to think that this mb is allergic to ATI cards.:banghead:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,966 (1.36/day)
Likes
833
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#16
dont run atitool is my advise.. uninstall it and see what happens..

i say it dosnt work with the 3870 card some say it does and i aint gonna argue with em..

trog
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#17
it dont work on the 3850,i tried changing the fan speed and it does nothing.Just change the cooler or use riva tune 2.03.
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#18
My ASUS EAH3870 came with a utility called "SmartDoctor", which monitors temps of the card and has variable fan speed, either manually setting a speed or having it ramp up according to user defined temp/fan speeds, much like ATI Tool would allow if it worked properly on the 3870's. You can also set clock speeds and it includes a diagnostic to say whether the card is working OK. MAYBE it can be cracked to work on other brands of card, might be worth looking into.

I don't bother with it TBH, as I don't feel that the high 80's load temp is particularly dangerous, especially since the X1900's ran similar load temps without problems. I can't stand the noise the stock fan makes when speeded up, if it gets to summer and temps are worrying then I might just slap my VF900 on it, or I might try this BIOS with the modified fanspeed table. Although I'd prefer to modify it myself, but I've heard that RaBit doesn't work with the 3870 bios....Is there a utility which does?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#19
Ati Tool .27 is a pain in the wazzole when it comes to the new 3xxx series cards. the fan speed tab doesn't like to start up til hours later. Its like this for some reason. I'm beginning to think that the 3xxx series will be ok with ati tool in a month or so... But, intil then riva tool is working wonders with a lot more people. imo
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,966 (1.36/day)
Likes
833
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#20
My ASUS EAH3870 came with a utility called "SmartDoctor", which monitors temps of the card and has variable fan speed, either manually setting a speed or having it ramp up according to user defined temp/fan speeds, much like ATI Tool would allow if it worked properly on the 3870's. You can also set clock speeds and it includes a diagnostic to say whether the card is working OK. MAYBE it can be cracked to work on other brands of card, might be worth looking into.

I don't bother with it TBH, as I don't feel that the high 80's load temp is particularly dangerous, especially since the X1900's ran similar load temps without problems. I can't stand the noise the stock fan makes when speeded up, if it gets to summer and temps are worrying then I might just slap my VF900 on it, or I might try this BIOS with the modified fanspeed table. Although I'd prefer to modify it myself, but I've heard that RaBit doesn't work with the 3870 bios....Is there a utility which does?
it wont run hotter in summer.. its set to target 90 C or so.. if the temps try and get hotter the fan simply runs a little faster.. it has plenty in reserve.. it runs less than 40% speed most of the time under full load..

the card has to shift far less heat than the 1900xtx i used to have did.. it literally spat flames out the back of the case.. the 3870 is just gently warm..

ati think the temps are okay.. its how they set them to be.. basically the older 1900xt cards struggled to maintain a noisy 90 C.. the newer card just cruises and does it thru choice.. ati made that choice..

90 C is okay.. folks make the mistake of thinking the cooler is struggling.. it isnt its well up to the job.. its rigged for silent running at 90 C instead of noisy running at 70 C..

try over volting the card and see what the fan does.. he he .. its quite capable of blowing a gale and sounding like a leaf blower if it has too..

trog
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,966 (1.36/day)
Likes
833
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#21
if 90 C bothers anybody or they want clock the shit out of the 3870.. flash this bios..

u can swop a silent 90 C for noisy 75 C easy..

being as i am clocking the shit out of my card and upping the voltage i am using it..

it targets 70 C or so and runs the fan around 80% while running the fur bench.. its noisy.. gaming its not so noisy cos the fur bench heats things up more than games do..

the stock cooler at least blows heat out of the case.. aftermarket ones act like a mini room heater and heat the case up..

trog
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#22
hmm i am really liking these cards and i do want one - but his business about clocks and fan reducing on idle and then up on load bothers me - alot.
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#23
Overvolting? No ta, LOL! I did turn up the fan, just to see how noisy it got....Unbelievable, leafblower is a very accurate description!

Yeah, I don't have a problem with 90c as I said, I prefer quiet to anal temp. control. (Erm, does that sound right?)

As for that Smart Doctor utility, scrub that. I just installed it to have a play, and it doesn't seem to work right. With it set at manual 40% I ran 3D06, and all of a sudden it increased to 100%, and continued that way till the bench had finished. Surely if its set at 40% it should stay there, not increase at all?
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#24
my card is still up and running. it's even been back from the dead. ATi tool .27 is being a pain in the butt, but I would never tell someone to think twice about getting this card. Riva tune is working and i don't see any bad thing with it.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#25
With the 3850's cooler,i set the fan to 100% with atitool(when it works) and monitored temps with riva.On 100% the fan made the temp drop by 1c,unless its more efficiant on load temps.It does sound like a leaf blower on 100% too.