• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD4800 series Spikes

jdf

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello, i have seen some spikes on my HD4850 when at idle, it constantly changes from 500-750 to 625-990... if i leave the GPU-Z window on, there is no spikes...but if i open and close windows i see the spikes...

Is this normal? Do any of your guys with HD4850/4870 series see this? And why does this happens? I'm a bit worried about this :(, any help is apreciated :)

 

SANEagent

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
83 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, OH
Processor Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4.0Ghz (471x8.5)
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro
Cooling TT Blue Orb 2
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2GB 5-5-5-15 (1:1)
Video Card(s) 2X HD4850 Toxic Edition OC 700/1200 XFIRE
Storage WD VelociRaptor 150gig 10,000RPM
Display(s) 24" Acer P241w
Case Thermaltake Soprano (Modded with extra fan, paint and foam)
Power Supply Antec 850w PSU
Software Windows Vista and XP Pro
Benchmark Scores 3dMark06 19023
#2
that sounds like CCC changing the speeds on the card.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.97/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#3
powerplay at work
 

SANEagent

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
83 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, OH
Processor Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4.0Ghz (471x8.5)
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro
Cooling TT Blue Orb 2
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2GB 5-5-5-15 (1:1)
Video Card(s) 2X HD4850 Toxic Edition OC 700/1200 XFIRE
Storage WD VelociRaptor 150gig 10,000RPM
Display(s) 24" Acer P241w
Case Thermaltake Soprano (Modded with extra fan, paint and foam)
Power Supply Antec 850w PSU
Software Windows Vista and XP Pro
Benchmark Scores 3dMark06 19023
#5
yeah, that is normal
 

jdf

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
I have a friend with a 4870X2 and he says that he doesn't see this behaviour at idle, if someone has anything more to add, please do :)

Anyone with a 4850, who could clear my doubts?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,714 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,471
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
Maybe do a complete wipe of the GPU drivers and re-install or bump to the lates drivers, assuming you arent using the CCC8.10 beta's.
 

jdf

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Maybe do a complete wipe of the GPU drivers and re-install or bump to the lates drivers, assuming you arent using the CCC8.10 beta's.
i could do that..yes i'm using CCC8.10 beta..lol...But..i saw this behaviour with the final 8.9 too... ok i'll just clean it up to see what happens.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,714 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,471
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#9
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.60/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#10
I have a friend with a 4870X2 and he says that he doesn't see this behaviour at idle, if someone has anything more to add, please do :)

Anyone with a 4850, who could clear my doubts?


Looks like I get the same thing, it's just Powerplay. This is normal behavior.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
81 (0.02/day)
Likes
17
Processor Q6600 @ 3.0
Motherboard Asus P5K-PRO
Cooling Zerotherm ZT-10D
Memory 6 GB DDR-II 667 mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 960
Storage 2 SATA RAID 0 arrays, 1 SSD
Display(s) 23" Wide TFT + 14" 4:3 TFT
Case Custom twin tower
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Dual PSU mod (2x 550W) Rasurbo BP-XII550
Software Win7 x64
#11
My 4850 does the same stuff. In general the spikes appear when gpuz loses focus and there is another program runing behind wich has a slight animation or changeing text. For example looking into a bittorent window makes the card swich speeds as the download / upload / peers data varries.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,714 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,471
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#12
one major difference tho urb.....look at your GPU load compared to the OP. He has no spikes there where yours almost exactly coincide with your clock spikes!
 

jdf

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13


Looks like I get the same thing, it's just Powerplay. This is normal behavior.

Yes i can see that! do you see it all the time? Test this leave the Gpu-z active with no other windows open...this will leave the lines with no spikes....then open some folder or anything and see if it reacts on the graph. This is what happens with mine...as soon as i start to opens windows it spikes. lol
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.60/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#14
one major difference tho urb.....look at your GPU load compared to the OP. He has no spikes there where yours almost exactly coincide with your clock spikes!
I dunno, He has one little load spike too. I'm 99.9% sure that this is just Powerplay, and is completely normal.

Edit: @jdf, I see the exact samething.
 

jdf

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
I dunno, He has one little load spike too. I'm 99.9% sure that this is just Powerplay, and is completely normal.

Edit: @jdf, I see the exact samething.
Tank you Urbklr.. :) for clearing my doubts...i guess it's just like you said above, it's just powerplay, maybe other programs interfere with it at idle, making it change the clock speeds.
 

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.18/day)
Likes
133
#16
For HD4850/HD4870 users this is PowerPlay at work, and is perfectly normal.

HD4870 X2 users will not see this happen as PowerPlay is disabled...