1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD4850 System Crash

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Moose, Jan 9, 2009.

  1. Moose

    Moose

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    316 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    UK
    I have a 4850 which crashes when under severe load, ie 3D mark or GTAIV.
    At all other times it's fine. When it crashes the LEDs on the Card go on and the computer shuts down.
    I think it may be my PSU as it isn't all that brilliant and I don't think the card's buggered. The +12V goes below 12V when the card is under load also.
    I just wanted to make sure that you all agree with my diagnosis so I dont buy a pointless new PSU.
     
  2. Moose

    Moose

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    316 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    UK
    I think I amy do a further test my using 2 PSUs if it improves things then the psu is whats at fault
     
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Ur psu brand is really "extra color value" it might be psu. Never heard of it before.
     
  4. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Location:
    USA
    I'd try a psu swap to see if that fixes your problem. I wouldn't trust any non-name brand psu to power my system. If changing the psu doesn't fix it, I would check to see what driver version you're running
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,946 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,681
    I'm 99.9999...% sure it's your PSU. My suggestion would be to get that thing out of your rig before it destroys it. :ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Moose

    Moose

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    316 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    UK
    I am even more certain it's the PSU now as when I added a second 350W PSU it made the eact same problem happen earlier in the game. I'll buy this one http://www.ebuyer.com/product/124927
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,946 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,681
    Don't buy that PSU either. It's not a matter of how many watts it has, it's a matter of quality. Quality is by far the most important aspect of a power supply.

    Get no less than this: http://www.ebuyer.com/product/151450

    Yeah it costs a few pounds more, but it's the part for the job.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Moose

    Moose

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    316 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    UK
    Well if you say quality how do you tell? Here is another that is cheaper and has more watts Antec:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/141006
    Antec look good, looking at the prices of other ones of their PSUs I'm sure I heard somewhere they were good to.
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Antec Earthwatts are great. Go for it.
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,946 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,681
    Missed that one. That is a good PSU.:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Moose

    Moose

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    316 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    UK
    Looks like ebuyer have mucked their prices up:
    Earthwatts 650W £53
    Earthwatts 500W £65
    I'll buy it then if you all agree its the best deal for quality.
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Antec Earthwatts are Delta built. I freakin love my Earthwatts 500w, I have one in my PC, HTPC and server rig. None have failed and they run super cool and quiet.
     
  13. Moose

    Moose

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    316 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    UK
    Just received the PSU and it makes such a difference my fps has gone up to 90 from 50 in one case and there are no crashes! Thanks guys! Right now I can overclock :p
     
  14. Drd

    Drd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hehe good for u man :)
     
  15. TmdRockz™

    TmdRockz™ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    236 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SRI LANKA
    glad to hear :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)