1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD4870x2 or not???

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mos187, Nov 15, 2008.

  1. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    hey guyz, i couple of dayz ago i was planning on getting either an HD4870 or dual HD4850 in a crossfire config and was so confused, but then after reading a couple of reviews i thought why not go for the HD4870x2 and get it over with, the question now is do i have the appropriate H/W to run this beast, here's my setup:
    - Intel C2D E8400
    - Asus Rampage formula x48
    - Corsair HX620W PSU
    - Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR2 800
    - 2x 320GB WD HDD'z
    - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro. PCI-E
    - Gigabyte 3DAurora Chassis

    1- Is the PSU Sufficient Enough
    2- Will the card fit well
    3- Will my processor be bottlenecked

    so here it is guyz, your help is really appreciated....

    Thanx
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. overclocker!

    overclocker! New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    51 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi, What resolution do you game at?
     
  3. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    i game at 1680x1050....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    981 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    1) yes, I use it myself
    2) do you have 11" of space in your chassis?
    3) you won't see the full performance of the card with that proc or your screen resolution, but it'll run anything you throw at it on full settings.
     
  5. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    no other suggestions, come on guyz i really need some help here.....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I would get a single 4870 in your situation.
     
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,979 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    1) Fine PSU
    2) The same size as a GTX260.
    3) If it might at all, fiddle with the memory clocks from 840-930 to see if your memory (the tricky part of the 4870x2 OC) is too fast or too slow for your setup.

    -I hope people only do this if they are curious. Flashing to a performance bios like ASUS TOP helped a lot with OC/reliability from my stock Diamond bios.​
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)