• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD4870x2 still alive and kicking but having issues.

Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
3,503 (0.96/day)
Likes
428
System Name Xazax
Processor 6700k
Motherboard ASrock Fatal1ty z170
Cooling H240X
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800mhz
Video Card(s) Gtx 980ti
Storage 1TB Mushkin
Display(s) ASUS PG27 G-sync
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Corsair 1500w Digital
Keyboard Patriot Viper
Software Windows 10
#1
Hey, all i recently pulled my HD 4870x2 from storage and slapped in my rig to give it a whirl make sure it still working. Well it is still working, 3D games play fine. havent had any crashes, however i noticed in GPU-Z and other programs that my GPU core clock and Memory clock are stuck in 2D mode, even when running 3D applications, im thinking i may have to do a BIOs flash or something to get it working properly again, if so what do i use to flash it and where can i get a BIOs for it?

 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#2
Hi

Most likley to do with drivers; make sure you have CAPS installed

From your screen shot I would say 507Mhz core 500Mhz Mem is showing as you have some apps open in windows, close all apps other than CCC and the core and mem should drop, from what I understand your 3D core of 790 and mem of 915 will only be available to both VPU's when games are run in full screen. if you run a game in a window and looked at GPUz you will only have activated one core
open catalyst control centre/performance/AMD Overdrive (leave this option open)

Try this first

open CCC

go to Performance/AMD OverDrive

next

go to Presets/add Preset -Fill in Name e.g: Default vid OC /Location remove all ticks & then Save

NEXT

Goto Control Panel\ folder options/view - select Show hidden files and folders

NEXT

open Computer/ explore C:\Users\*Your user profile*\AppData\Local\ATI\ACE\Profiles/you should see your newly created Default vid OC.xml

NEXT

Highlite - Default vid OC.xml - press right hand mouse button - select edit

you will see - Feature name="CoreClockTarget"
Example-
<Property name="Want_0" value="15700" />
<Property name="Want_1" value="55000" />
<Property name="Want_2" value="79000" />

raise the Want_0 value from 15700 to 40000
this will adjust your core clock once you are in the windows enviroment and allows you to continue using AMD's ULps settings.

open CCC go to presets and select Default vid OC; this will apply the new settings

nb: as you have a 4870x2 you should see two entries to adjust for the coreclock targets (do this for Master & Slave)

Note: if you reinstall drivers at any point you will have to set option up again

.........................................................................

**make a system resore point before attempting to edit the windows registry**

however; you could try this

disable ULps power saving settings, this will enable both VPU's / GPU's, this allows you to monitor both VPU's in CCC

open regedit

navigate to the following key

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\ (you will see lots of folders we need the thirteenth (13) folder down from "Class" - open the folder and you will see 0000

look for "EnableUlps" and change its data value to 0 (zero)

repeat this process in ControlSet002

reboot your PC

nb: only ever flash bios as a last resort *NB* ATI 4870x2 if you realy have to DO NOT FORGET to backup Both bios's Master & Slave

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
3,503 (0.96/day)
Likes
428
System Name Xazax
Processor 6700k
Motherboard ASrock Fatal1ty z170
Cooling H240X
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800mhz
Video Card(s) Gtx 980ti
Storage 1TB Mushkin
Display(s) ASUS PG27 G-sync
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Corsair 1500w Digital
Keyboard Patriot Viper
Software Windows 10
#3
thanks for the replies i think i found out what is was, i was running my games in windowed mode and i guess with AMD it keeps it still at 2D clocks i dont suppose theres a way around this?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#4
Hi

Not that I am aware of

atb

Law-II
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#5
My 4870x2 was never happy if it wasn't consuming more power and generating more heat then the rest of the system combined.
Force 3D clocks all the time, set the fans at 100% and free it from the bonds of politically correct environmental concerns !!
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
775 (0.32/day)
Likes
479
Location
Bridgwater, Somerset
System Name Complete and Total Overkill
Processor 920 D0 @ 4.65Ghz @ 1.45vcore
Motherboard EVGA Classified 762
Cooling 3 Custom water cooling loops in each rig
Memory G Skill Patriot 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) 3 x 3Gb EVGA GTX580's @ 772/1002/1544
Storage 8 x Seagate Cheetah 15k.5 73Gb 15k SAS Drives
Display(s) 3 x 30" Dell 3011WFP
Case Custom Made Danger Den Tower 21
Audio Device(s) No room :(
Power Supply Corsair AX1200W - I think I need more power!!
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores Just gaming now!! What benchmarks would you like??
#6
There is a little test in GPU-Z that you could use to test to see if its coming out of its 2D state or not... Have you tried that??
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
127 (0.04/day)
Likes
54
Location
Northern California
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @ 5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus w/ 150CFM Delta FFB1212EH
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA Geforce GTX680 Superclocked in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256g
Display(s) Samsung S27A950D
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w
#7
My 4870x2 was never happy if it wasn't consuming more power and generating more heat then the rest of the system combined.
Force 3D clocks all the time, set the fans at 100% and free it from the bonds of politically correct environmental concerns !!
I run two of these cards in crossfire and there really is no reason to keep the fan at 100% all the time. That is just going to collect dust faster and burn out the fan faster. MSI Afterburner (which OP is already using) allows you to set a custom fan curve that can keep the card both quiet and cool under most non-strenuous situations and bump it up to 100% otherwise. MSI Afterburner also displays my clocks on my G15 LCD screen showing them bump up to 3D speeds as expected when I enter a game and back down when I exit (Catalyst 12.2).