• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD5870 RBE Voltage on Load problems

Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Black Lion System
Processor i7 2600K @ 4.6 Ghz 1.295V
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Noctua NH D14 + MX-3 Thermal Paste
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Gskill DDR3 1600 Mhz CL7
Video Card(s) Asus ATI HD5870 1 GB V1
Storage Seagate 500GB x2 [Raid 0] + Western Digital 2 TB x2 [non Raid]
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 940NW + 901N
Case CoolerMaster 690 Advanced II
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair AX850W
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
Hi everyone. I finally decided to overclock my HD5870 after almost 2 years of usage, and like i did to my old computer's graphic card (nvidia one), i decided to find a stable overclock using software and then edit the bios to make it permanent. I was reading for the past few days about how to edit the Bios on a ATI HD5870 and today i finally decided to flash it.

However, after flash with my new clocks and voltages, i noticed that my card didn't change the load voltage (GPU voltage, register 0x18). After a few more tests, i figured that i can change all the voltages (Memory and core ones) and they all work just fine (tested overvoltage and undervoltage), expect the 0x18.

For example, i was trying to flash the following settings (a quick test i did, rock solid):

Clock speed: 950 Mhz
Memory Speed: 1270 Mhz
GPU Voltage: 1.200V
Memory Voltage: 1.167V
Bios: Asus HD 5870 (i got the V1 card, reference one, 1 GB)

Specs:
Intel i7 2600k 4.8 Ghz
4 GB GSkill DDR3 2133 Mhz
1 TB RAid 0 + 2x 2TB
Corsair HX 750W
Asus HD5870 1GB
Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Dual Screen Setup.
Win7 x64 Bits
Catalyst 11.10 B2

The memory voltage sticked fine, but the load one is always getting stucked at 1.125V. If i change the 0x17 register (idle one) to 1.2V, in GPUz it shows that voltage is being used.

Just to add a little more details, i can change the Vcore just fine in MSI Afterburn the most recent version. Another odd thing is that if i open MSI afterburn, and without any overclock on the program applied, if i press "reset", the voltage on load jumps to 1.167V (the same voltage RBE claims to be the defauld on register 0x18, in the backup of the untouched bios.

Does anyone know how to get this working? A trick i might not know yet, for example?

Thank you in advance for any help given :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,108 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,653
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#2
not exactly but if your card is a ref version and it sounds like it is you could do as i did use a fully unlocked asus bios on it then set the clocks and volts on that bios higher ive had no issues but i did with other bioses in both the way your saying and in that an oc ceilling sometimes was forced on the card you may have a hard bios volt limit

could do with filling in your sys spec it would help and bring more replys
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Black Lion System
Processor i7 2600K @ 4.6 Ghz 1.295V
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Noctua NH D14 + MX-3 Thermal Paste
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Gskill DDR3 1600 Mhz CL7
Video Card(s) Asus ATI HD5870 1 GB V1
Storage Seagate 500GB x2 [Raid 0] + Western Digital 2 TB x2 [non Raid]
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 940NW + 901N
Case CoolerMaster 690 Advanced II
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair AX850W
Software Windows 7 x64
#3
Hi, thanks for the quick reply. Could you please give me the link to the fully unlocked Bios? Im having a hard time finding one that is fully unlocked. Thank you. Also, Topic updated with System Specs.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,108 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,653
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#4
dont know the number so ive sent a copy of mine zipped works well un modded from oem obv as was but you can check in RBE anyway and see ahh balls i cant attach anything for some reason one min ill ava look in rbe

View attachment 43959



heres the bios

View attachment 43957

sorry got confused ive a 5850 in xfire
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Black Lion System
Processor i7 2600K @ 4.6 Ghz 1.295V
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Noctua NH D14 + MX-3 Thermal Paste
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Gskill DDR3 1600 Mhz CL7
Video Card(s) Asus ATI HD5870 1 GB V1
Storage Seagate 500GB x2 [Raid 0] + Western Digital 2 TB x2 [non Raid]
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 940NW + 901N
Case CoolerMaster 690 Advanced II
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair AX850W
Software Windows 7 x64
#5
Thanks, i will try it now, will report if it works :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,108 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,653
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#6
the 5850 bios isnt the right one i corrected that post its right now, yeh sorry i even mangaed to screenie the wrong card doh all as it should be for the 5870 bios now
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Black Lion System
Processor i7 2600K @ 4.6 Ghz 1.295V
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Noctua NH D14 + MX-3 Thermal Paste
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Gskill DDR3 1600 Mhz CL7
Video Card(s) Asus ATI HD5870 1 GB V1
Storage Seagate 500GB x2 [Raid 0] + Western Digital 2 TB x2 [non Raid]
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 940NW + 901N
Case CoolerMaster 690 Advanced II
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair AX850W
Software Windows 7 x64
#7
I Flashed with that bios, and its presenting exactly the same problem. The GPU Vcore sticks at 1.125V on load :cry: Im running out of ideas, thats for sure. I even reinstalled the driver, still sticked @ 1.125V :cry:

Could this be some bug in RBE? I mean, i can change successfully all voltages exept this one, and MSI Afterburn can overclock the card just fine too ;)

Any more ideas? :toast:


EDIT: Funny, the bios you uploaded has the EXACT same MD5 as my original one! Are you shure the one you gave me is actually unlocked?
 
Last edited: