• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HD7970 capped at 60FPS, not VSYNC

Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
123 (0.05/day)
Likes
47
#1
I've been fighting this issue for quite some time now and can't seem to figure out what is capping my FPS at 60. It doesn't matter what game I'm playing, it is capped at 60FPS no matter what. League of Legends, Mechwarrior Online, Arma 2, Hitman Absolution, etc. VSync is set to always off in CCC and it is turned off in all games. Heat isn't an issue and nothing ever seems to reach 100% CPU or GPU usage. All drivers are up to date WHQL versions and I have had the same issue with multiple reinstalls of Win7 x64.

Anyone have any ideas? I know something isn't right as I've got a friend with a similar system using a Radeon HD 7950 and was watching his FPS frequently climb above 60 in the same games. What am I missing?



System specs for reference:

Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3-iSSD
Intel Core i7 3770k @ stock clocks
16GB (4x4GB) Kingston HyperX PC3-12800
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 @ stock clocks
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD as boot, other platter drives for storage
Samsung 24" @ 1920x1200
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#2
You might have something auto-start up like EVGA Precision from a past video card which has a target frame locker on it.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
123 (0.05/day)
Likes
47
#3
Negative. Never had anything but this AMD card installed and official Catalyst drivers with it, not even beta drivers.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
1,106 (0.31/day)
Likes
178
Location
london
System Name Staggered
Processor Intel i5 6600k (XSPC Rasa)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170 Gaming K3
Cooling RX360 (3*Scythe GT1850) + RX240 (2*Scythe GT1850) + Laing D5 Vario (with EK X-Top V2)
Memory 2*8gb Team Group Dark @3000Mhz 16-16-16-36 1.25v
Video Card(s) Inno3D GTX 1070 HerculeZ
Storage 256gb Samsung 830 + 2*1tB Samsung F3 + 2*2tB Samsung F4EG
Display(s) Flatron W3000H 2560*1600
Case Cooler Master ATCS 840 + 1*120 GT1850 (exhaust) + 1*230 Spectre Pro + Lamptron FC2 (fan controller)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#4
Is triple buffering on? If so, turn it off.
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#6
Do you have anything like Sapphire Trixx or Msi Afterburner installed? That's all I can think of that would do that...
 

Grnfinger

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
637 (0.18/day)
Likes
213
Location
Canada
System Name Tahiti Treat
Processor i7 4770K @ 4500MHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Hero
Cooling Custom H20
Memory Patriot Viper 8GB @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) 2X Sapphire 7870XT (Tahiti Core) @ 1150/1500 CrossFire
Storage 2 x Intel 120GB 520 Series SSD Raid0 # 2x Seagate 1TB Raid0 # 1 WD 2TB EARS
Display(s) 3 x 22" Eyefinity
Case Cosmos S Custom
Audio Device(s) Asus X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6848547
#8
nevermind
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,648
Location
US
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#9
Well as odd as it seems you shouldn't really worry about it.

try a new set of drivers perhaps.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,864 (3.64/day)
Likes
9,024
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#10

Grnfinger

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
637 (0.18/day)
Likes
213
Location
Canada
System Name Tahiti Treat
Processor i7 4770K @ 4500MHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Hero
Cooling Custom H20
Memory Patriot Viper 8GB @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) 2X Sapphire 7870XT (Tahiti Core) @ 1150/1500 CrossFire
Storage 2 x Intel 120GB 520 Series SSD Raid0 # 2x Seagate 1TB Raid0 # 1 WD 2TB EARS
Display(s) 3 x 22" Eyefinity
Case Cosmos S Custom
Audio Device(s) Asus X-FI
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6848547
#11
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,864 (3.64/day)
Likes
9,024
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#12
That was my thinking but ...just seems strange it's capped at 60 and not a vsync issue

Yeah I read that You said it was NOT a V-sync issue, BUT I ran the un-installer on my 7970 system, and Realized that there was like 6 driver's on it. And My reasoning for mentioning it was, SOME people download NOT only the AMD driver's BUT also the CAP profiles as well, and SOME of these have V-sync enabled. If that's NOT the case, then oh-well, but I thought it was worth mentioning is all.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#14
If your refresh rate on your monitor is 60FPS anything higher ain't gonna make no difference. You do have Vsync on. That is the only way the frames would cap at 60 my friend.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#15
If your refresh rate on your monitor is 60FPS anything higher ain't gonna make no difference. You do have Vsync on. That is the only way the frames would cap at 60 my friend.
I think you mean Hz.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
123 (0.05/day)
Likes
47
#16
If your refresh rate on your monitor is 60FPS anything higher ain't gonna make no difference. You do have Vsync on. That is the only way the frames would cap at 60 my friend.
I think you mean Hz.
Thank you for correcting him. I've been a computer hardware and A/V enthusiast for the better part of 15 years and write hardware reviews for a major website. I'm well aware of what my monitor is capable of, refresh rates, the limitations involved and what will/will not make a difference. I'm here looking for a solution to my problem, not a lecture on what I will/will not notice.

I know I'm not going to see any difference, but I want to know what kind of FPS I'm seeing in specific games. More specifically, I want to know WHY things are locked at 60FPS. It most certainly is NOT VSync as it is disabled in all my games and within the CCC. If it was, I wouldn't see varying FPS when it dips down below 60. I would see it lock down to 30 until it climbs back up to 60.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#17
I think you mean Hz.
Thank you for correcting him. I've been a computer hardware and A/V enthusiast for the better part of 15 years and write hardware reviews for a major website. I'm well aware of what my monitor is capable of, refresh rates, the limitations involved and what will/will not make a difference. I'm here looking for a solution to my problem, not a lecture on what I will/will not notice.

I know I'm not going to see any difference, but I want to know what kind of FPS I'm seeing in specific games. More specifically, I want to know WHY things are locked at 60FPS. It most certainly is NOT VSync as it is disabled in all my games and within the CCC. If it was, I wouldn't see varying FPS when it dips down below 60. I would see it lock down to 30 until it climbs back up to 60.
Same thing:

Refresh rate

The refresh rate (most commonly the "vertical refresh rate", "vertical scan rate" for CRTs) is the number of times in a second that a display hardware draws the data. This is distinct from the measure of frame rate in that the refresh rate includes the repeated drawing of identical frames, while frame rate measures how often a video source can feed an entire frame of new data to a display.

I am not giving you a lecture but if your monitor "refresh rate" is stuck on 60FPS, Vsync is locked on. There is nothing else that could lock it.

If I remember correctly, althoug CCC shows Vsync off, there is another part of it that has a refresh rate.... look further into CCC. I am at work so I cannot check.

Do your games have a VSync setting that locks it?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
123 (0.05/day)
Likes
47
#18
I'm not locked, I'm capped. There is a difference. VSync would not let me display at 51FPS, 52FPS, 53FPS, etc when my frame rate drops below 60FPS. If I would drop below 30 and had VSync enabled, it would drop my FPS down to 30 until it could return back to 60FPS in order to prevent screen tearing. In fact, I can enable VSync and see just that happen.

It almost seems to be some sort of thermal/power management but AFAIK, it is all disabled.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#19
Thank you for correcting him. I've been a computer hardware and A/V enthusiast for the better part of 15 years and write hardware reviews for a major website. I'm well aware of what my monitor is capable of, refresh rates, the limitations involved and what will/will not make a difference. I'm here looking for a solution to my problem, not a lecture on what I will/will not notice.

I know I'm not going to see any difference, but I want to know what kind of FPS I'm seeing in specific games. More specifically, I want to know WHY things are locked at 60FPS. It most certainly is NOT VSync as it is disabled in all my games and within the CCC. If it was, I wouldn't see varying FPS when it dips down below 60. I would see it lock down to 30 until it climbs back up to 60.
I'm not locked, I'm capped. There is a difference. VSync would not let me display at 51FPS, 52FPS, 53FPS, etc when my frame rate drops below 60FPS. If I would drop below 30 and had VSync enabled, it would drop my FPS down to 30 until it could return back to 60FPS in order to prevent screen tearing. In fact, I can enable VSync and see just that happen.

It almost seems to be some sort of thermal/power management but AFAIK, it is all disabled.
VSync will let you display under 60FPS............ Will not go higher. I have never seen thermal issues lock the frame rate..... Just sayin. Wish I could help ya...
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
123 (0.05/day)
Likes
47
#20
Vsync will let you display under 60FPS, this is true... however not entirely. It will limit you to 60, 30, 20, 15.... which is why most people hate it as there is a massive drop between 60FPS and 30FPS very noticeable. The exception is the new nvidia stuff.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
743 (0.32/day)
Likes
332
Location
At the Pub
System Name Kaby Doll
Processor i5 7600K W.C.
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic W.C.
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli W.C.
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#22
Id say its the monitor or tv your using. I sometimes have this same weird issue. I bought a new 60" lcd tv for my htpc and ive got a lp7850 in there and for sum weird reason crysis would cap at 24fps. This never happened on my old tv so i must have a compatiblity issue there somewhere. Did it happen with your old video card? If your got a spare monitor or tv try that and see what happens.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,710
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#23
VSync isn't limited to specific frame rates like 60, 30, etc. I often times get a varying amount between 55 and 60 with VSync on.

And btw, many have said the AMD Cleanup Utility doesn't in fact uninstall the AMD CAP profiles. They are separately installed files you need to manually remove via Programs and Features.

I get the feeling this has to be something software related. I don't see how a GPU itself could limit you to 60 FPS.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2008
Messages
399 (0.12/day)
Likes
64
Location
United Kingdom.
System Name i7 Rig.
Processor i7 3930K @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition
Cooling Custom, Liquid Cooled.
Memory 32gb DDR3 2133mhz Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) 2x Gigabyte 780Ti Gigahertz Edition in SLI
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Display(s) 1x 30" Dell U3011, 2x 24" Dell U2414H
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply be quiet! Power Zone 1000W
Mouse Corsair Gaming CG M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Brown MX
Software Windows 7 Premium 64-Bit
#24
What are you using to view your frame rate?
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#25
I've been fighting this issue for quite some time now and can't seem to figure out what is capping my FPS at 60. It doesn't matter what game I'm playing, it is capped at 60FPS no matter what. League of Legends, Mechwarrior Online, Arma 2, Hitman Absolution, etc. VSync is set to always off in CCC and it is turned off in all games. Heat isn't an issue and nothing ever seems to reach 100% CPU or GPU usage. All drivers are up to date WHQL versions and I have had the same issue with multiple reinstalls of Win7 x64.

Anyone have any ideas? I know something isn't right as I've got a friend with a similar system using a Radeon HD 7950 and was watching his FPS frequently climb above 60 in the same games. What am I missing?



System specs for reference:

Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3-iSSD
Intel Core i7 3770k @ stock clocks
16GB (4x4GB) Kingston HyperX PC3-12800
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 @ stock clocks
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD as boot, other platter drives for storage
Samsung 24" @ 1920x1200
i got an HD 4870 at 1920x1080 playing at 130-230 fps and average 144 at lol, LOL (all max out) not that u can see an diferences above 60 but are big numbers :p
as regarding LoL go ingame and change the video settings remove vsync and put the frames at benchmark that should do the trick :rockout: