1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HDD Formatting Question

Discussion in 'General Software' started by wolf2009, May 21, 2009.

  1. wolf2009 Guest

    I have two OS installed on two different drives. One drive has Vista, other has Win 7.

    Can I go into Vista and format the Win 7 drive without causing any trouble ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    445
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    depends where is boot ini
     
  3. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    710
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Should be able to go into computer management in vista and do whatever you want with the drive!!
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,250 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,201
    Well, it depends really. If the drive boots from the Win7 partition, then no. Because Vista will not allow you to delete or format the partition that the computer boots from.

    If it boots from the Vista partition, then you can delete the Win7 partition without problem. However, you will still be presented with the option to boot to Win7 during boot-up. To get rid of that, you need to edit your BCD. You can do this manually, but I have found the easiest method is to download VistaBootPro and use that to edit the BCD.

    There hasn't been a boot.ini since XP.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  5. wolf2009 Guest

    so i boot into vista, just format the win 7 partition. that works ?

    then i vistabootpro to edit bcd and remove win 7 booting option ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,250 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,201
    Yes, assuming your Vista partition is the primary partition.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. wolf2009 Guest

    yes it is, but what if it was not ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,250 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,201
    Then you need a 3rd party disk management software, that is bootable. Then you boot to the disk, arrange the partitions the way you want. Then boot to the Vista DVD and tell it to repair startup issues(sometime you have to do this twice).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)