• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hdd not detected (new)

Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
313 (0.15/day)
Likes
40
Location
Malaysia
System Name Elmo
Processor i7 3930k
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH D-14
Memory 16 GB DDr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 770 Windforce X3
Storage 60gbforce3,120gbchronos,120gb force GS,120GB Kingston Hyperx 3k,750gb hitachi, 500gb wd green
Display(s) Samsung 23" led 1080p X 2
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W
Software win7 ultimate 64 bit
#1
So i have a 1tb wd blue. Its shown in device manager but notihng in my computer. Even displays itself in bios. I have changed the sata cables still the same . help please :s
 
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
313 (0.15/day)
Likes
40
Location
Malaysia
System Name Elmo
Processor i7 3930k
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH D-14
Memory 16 GB DDr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 770 Windforce X3
Storage 60gbforce3,120gbchronos,120gb force GS,120GB Kingston Hyperx 3k,750gb hitachi, 500gb wd green
Display(s) Samsung 23" led 1080p X 2
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W
Software win7 ultimate 64 bit
#2
Ah nvm i found in disk management and formatted it. Worked like a charm
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#3
go to disk management and set it up there.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,166 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,806
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
Start / my computer right click/ manage Disk management. You will need to format it there
 
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
313 (0.15/day)
Likes
40
Location
Malaysia
System Name Elmo
Processor i7 3930k
Motherboard Asus P9 X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH D-14
Memory 16 GB DDr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 770 Windforce X3
Storage 60gbforce3,120gbchronos,120gb force GS,120GB Kingston Hyperx 3k,750gb hitachi, 500gb wd green
Display(s) Samsung 23" led 1080p X 2
Case Nzxt Switch 810
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W
Software win7 ultimate 64 bit
#5
Okay anyway uhm why does this happen? its a new hdd, besides when i buy new hdd i just plug and play havnt had to do this before? Do you guys know why?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,018 (0.46/day)
Likes
1,423
Location
Indonesia
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.9 Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR X370GT7
Cooling Cryorig H5 Universal dual fan mode
Memory Team T-Force Night Hawk DDR4-3200 2x16 GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D GTX 1080 GAMING OC
Storage 512 GB Samsung 850 Pro + 3 x 2 TB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Leopold FC980M (Ergo Clear 68g) | KBD75 (Zealio 65g) | DZ60 (Gateron Silent Black)
Software Windows 10 version 1607 x64 + Ubuntu 16.04
#6
Okay anyway uhm why does this happen? its a new hdd, besides when i buy new hdd i just plug and play havnt had to do this before? Do you guys know why?
FYI, this always happened with a brand new HDD.

The OS will not recognize unpartitioned drive (RAW drive). You need to create at least 1 partition and format it into known partition type (FAT32, NTFS, etc) so the OS able to recognize the drive and you can use your new hard drive.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
1,027 (0.51/day)
Likes
121
Location
Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
System Name Oldtimer(Always Crunching)
Processor Intel P4 631 @ 3.2 GHz [Stock 3.0 GHz]
Motherboard Intel D945GCPE
Memory 512 MB x2 DDR2 (533MHZ and 366 MHZ)
Storage 160GB Sata1 7200rpm
Display(s) ViewSonic VA703m
Power Supply Normal 450W PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#7
Before working on a New HDD you must format it or it wont show in my computer.
Well looks like your prob is solved