• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HDD not showing up at all.

Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
566 (0.20/day)
Likes
121
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair XMS3 8GB PC3-12800 1600MHz (4x2GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 280X Vapor X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) 2x Samsung S24B300 @ 1920*1080 + 1 Samsung LE40B550 40inch @ 1920*1080
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply XFX Pro Series 850W Black Edition PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit/Ubuntu
#1
Hi,

So I have two HDD installed on my computer, However under my computer only my primary is displayed,

If I go to Device manager my secondry HDD is displayed as working correctly but I do not know how to get access to it.

Help please?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
884 (0.20/day)
Likes
400
Processor 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance 1600 9-9-9-24 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470
Storage Crucial m4 128GB + Seagate RAID 1 (1TB x 2)
Display(s) Dell 22" 1680x1050 nothing special
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W
Software Windows 7 64bit Pro
#2
You need to go into the Disk Management and format your drive before you can access it.

Edit: This is assuming it's a new drive that you just installed.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
566 (0.20/day)
Likes
121
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair XMS3 8GB PC3-12800 1600MHz (4x2GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 280X Vapor X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) 2x Samsung S24B300 @ 1920*1080 + 1 Samsung LE40B550 40inch @ 1920*1080
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply XFX Pro Series 850W Black Edition PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit/Ubuntu
#3
Right, I've found the drive and it's been partitioned with Linux installed (the PC I bought was "tested" with Linux by the company I bought from.

I can see one partition of 930gb out of 1000, but can't see the Linux partition to format it.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#4
disk managment is different that device manager.

In win7, click the start button, find the item marked "computer" on the right side, right click, select manage.

Under storage, there will be one item - disk managment. Click on that.

Look for the drive and let us know what it says under layout, file sys, type and status.

you won't see the drive/partition in windows explorer if it is not formatted or partitioned, if it is hidden, if it is a boot partition and probably a few other reasons.

if you don't have W7, go to control panel -> administrative tools -> double click 'computer management' -> disk management.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,588 (2.59/day)
Likes
5,986
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#5
You can check if that HDD was really just tested or was used for longer periods. Run CrystalDiskInfo program and check the "Power on Hours" number. If the number is larger than ~6 hours (especially in the 100's of hours), they sold you an used HDD. Just a tip if the drive was not sealed in anti-electrostatic bag and you want to be sure.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,517 (0.84/day)
Likes
758
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#6
actually that 930gb is the whole drive... it has to do with how windows and hard drive manufacturers count storage... of you do 1000 * 1000 * 1000 * 1000 then /1024 /1024 /1024 you get ~930gb. The multiplication is to get to the drive size in bytes. then divide by how windows counts (1024bytes = 1kb) and so on. thus the 930GB. So just re-format that 930GB partition you see to NTFS and your good to go!

Edit, if its truly a new tested drive, then you can get away with a quick format... a full format will take all day lol
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
566 (0.20/day)
Likes
121
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair XMS3 8GB PC3-12800 1600MHz (4x2GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 280X Vapor X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) 2x Samsung S24B300 @ 1920*1080 + 1 Samsung LE40B550 40inch @ 1920*1080
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply XFX Pro Series 850W Black Edition PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit/Ubuntu
#7
Working! for some reason it wasn't allocated a drive letter, weird lol
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,517 (0.84/day)
Likes
758
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#8
good to hear you got it working. yea it usually doesn't get a drive letter until you format it to a format that windows can access.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
566 (0.20/day)
Likes
121
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair XMS3 8GB PC3-12800 1600MHz (4x2GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 280X Vapor X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) 2x Samsung S24B300 @ 1920*1080 + 1 Samsung LE40B550 40inch @ 1920*1080
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply XFX Pro Series 850W Black Edition PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit/Ubuntu
#9
good to hear you got it working. yea it usually doesn't get a drive letter until you format it to a format that windows can access.
However if I do try to format it I get the error

"Windows cannot format the system partition on this disk

It says it is "Healthy (Active, System, Primary Partition)
but my other drive (with windows installed also says
"Healthy (Boot, page file, active, crash dump, primary partition)

So how can I have two primary partitions?
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#10
I may have gotten lost along the way, but isn't the other partition the one with Linux on it? Windows no habla Linux so that's probably why.

If you want to blow away the linux partition, you'll might need some partitioning software like Acronis. I think W7 will let you delete a partition too, but I don't remember.

Once the space is free, then you can resize the main partition to occupy the space that had been allocated to Linux. Hope that helps.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
566 (0.20/day)
Likes
121
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair XMS3 8GB PC3-12800 1600MHz (4x2GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 280X Vapor X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) 2x Samsung S24B300 @ 1920*1080 + 1 Samsung LE40B550 40inch @ 1920*1080
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply XFX Pro Series 850W Black Edition PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit/Ubuntu
#11
I may have gotten lost along the way, but isn't the other partition the one with Linux on it? Windows no habla Linux so that's probably why.

If you want to blow away the linux partition, you'll might need some partitioning software like Acronis. I think W7 will let you delete a partition too, but I don't remember.

Once the space is free, then you can resize the main partition to occupy the space that had been allocated to Linux. Hope that helps.
Aye but I am not so sure there is a linux partition (I may have been mistaken)
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#12
If you're absolutely sure the other partition isn't accessible or it doesn't have anything on it you need, you can try deleting it in disk management.

I think you right click on the partition and select delete volume.

Then you can either create a new partition in the same space or leave it as unallocated and expand the neighboring partition.

Acronis makes you apply your changes before it actually does anything. I'm not sure if W7 disk management works the same way but it should prompt you through the process.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#13
Oh, and always quadruple check that you are performing the operation on the partition that you THINK you are.

Nothing sucks quite like blowing away your boot partition.

BTW, you can have multiple active primary partitions.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Suijin

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2008
Messages
61 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor Q6600
Motherboard ABit P35 Pro
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 8600 GT
Display(s) HP 2207
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Enermax 750W
Software Vista 64 bit Ultimate
#14
Couple points of information when looking at disk management:

The partition it has listed as "system" is the first "active" drive that the computer sees and starts to load from. The main file used here is bcd (it is a hidden file). This file determines where to load the operating system from, and can also be set up for choosing between different operating systems at the computer's startup.

The partition it has listed as "boot" is the one it is using for your operating system.

Both of these will be in use as you are using your computer and you will not be able to format those partitions while loaded in your operating system.

If you want more information on the bcd file then look up "easybcd 2.0" and or go to http://www.multibooters.co.uk

Another way to edit the bcd is with a widows program called bcdedit. Look it up and understand what you are doing first though.

Messing with the bcd file can prevent your computer from being able to boot. Make sure you are technically saavy and have a repair disk ready to be used. You will mess it up if you are learning about these files.
 

Suijin

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2008
Messages
61 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor Q6600
Motherboard ABit P35 Pro
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 8600 GT
Display(s) HP 2207
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Enermax 750W
Software Vista 64 bit Ultimate
#15
Also, I believe you can only have one "active" partition per drive. You can have many "active" drives installed on the computer though. The only bcd it will load from though will be the first "active" partition it sees. You can check if it is using a particular bcd by trying to open it with notepad, it will not open due to being in use if it is currently the one being used. In windows 7 at least the file path is X:\boot\bcd
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
System Name CM'HAF932
Processor Intel QX9650
Motherboard Asus Rampage Extreme (bios v1202)
Cooling TRUE120(black) + Noctua P12 fan
Memory A-Data DDR3-1600G (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) HD4870x2|Single| (Sapphire, stock-air)
Storage Hitachi HDP7250GLA360;WDC WD2500JS; Smg SP2004C
Display(s) DELL 2408(WFP) + Samsung Syncmaster 204B
Case CM HAF'932
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX (Creative X-Fi)
Power Supply Seasonic X Series 1050W (modular)
Software (MultiBoot) W7U.32bit; W7U.64bit; XpPro32bit(sp3); Vista HP.32bit; Ubuntu 10.10
#16
If you are not sure it is Linux volume or unsure what partition it is? ( just as Suijin wrote above ) or what influence that extra HDD have to your current system ?...

You can simply clear up things for yourself by going a little harder way, but more foolproof and safer IMHO ...

First disconnect that (secondary drive ) from system and start up Your PC,
just give it a try without that (secondary) hdd
if U can now boot up normally on current primary HDD without (secondary) HDD present, and everything run properly -
- then there's no issues.. if you kill that secondary HDD (volume) partition, reformat and do whatever you want to

To kill the Linux volumes, i have used Linux LIVE CD (for example Ubuntu 9.04) what have included GParted program
(Sorry i haven't lately used other partitioning tools (Acronis, or similar.. so can't comment that)

If i recall it right ... that gParted prog. built-in into Ubuntu 9.04 was capable even to format volumes to native NTFS
aka prepare the drive for use in windows, (may be this will speed up things a lil'bit with large volumes)

so, anyway before to launch Linux LIVE CD or any partitioning tools from it
! just double check ! what drive you gone wipe ! be extra careful !
Even for extra safety - just (temporary) pull out (primary) HDD and leave connected only that HDD what needs to be wiped!

if you are familiar with Linux, you know what I try to tell,
but if not - then it could be a lil' confusing because Linux does not name its hard drives like windows do .. C: D: E:.. X: "sorry about this side note"

anyway going with this scenario - You do not need primary HDD to be present,
as You booting from live CD (cd/dvd drive as first boot device)

probably that's all ;)
let gParted finish its job, shut down, (re)connect drives back in right order,
start up PC, go to bios, check the boot order, remove Live cd, reboot, log into windows
if still not shown new drive , go to storage manager and crate a partition and choose drive letter ..

ok just for inf - that's my "quad boot" 4 OpSystem on 4 separate (physical) HDD's
http://img.techpowerup.org/100527/capture2_1storage.png
current screen was created when running W7 ult.32bit / just trying to explain
as i have 1 (200gb )drive for Linux and also i cannot see this drive when booted from any of these (3) windows versions thoug i can see(mount) all windows drives when booted from Linux HDD
:cool:
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
566 (0.20/day)
Likes
121
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair XMS3 8GB PC3-12800 1600MHz (4x2GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 280X Vapor X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) 2x Samsung S24B300 @ 1920*1080 + 1 Samsung LE40B550 40inch @ 1920*1080
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply XFX Pro Series 850W Black Edition PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit/Ubuntu
#17
Thanks guys,

All Solved I believe, I've got a lappy with ubuntu running on it hooked my secondary drive up onto it with a USB-SATA Caddy. The 930GB is correct and there was no "hidden" partition which I thought there was. Cheers for all your help