• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HDD start getting errors.

caughtair

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey guys.,
I'm kind of lost here. My HDD, a four-year old Western Digital Caviar Black 640 gigs, SATA 2, and in the last days, I started getting checksum errors, and various read errors. I haven`t had problems with it until about now. I bought new parts to my PC, a ASRock 970 Pro 3, an AMD Phenom II 965 BE and a GTX 660 . I have a 4 year old 500W Akasa PaxPower so I should be fine with the PSU. When I installed the OS, I started having read errors from the "expanding files" stage in Windows 7 install. I had to try it 4 times to get it right. Then , after the install , I started having several read errors, several blue-screens and errors when I would use .iso files. Also , I get various checksum errors when checking with the .sfv files. Also , these errors appear on old files, not in the new only in the new ones. I don`t think it would be viruses. I did HDD checks in Windows and searched for bad sectors, also surface tests with different programs and found nothing bad. I`m at a loss. Any ideas? Is it a sign of the HDD failing ? Thanks.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,475 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,025
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#2
Id run HD Tune and check the whole drive for errors, if it doesnt come up with anything id check your RAM, run mem test and see if your memory is ok
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,551 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,059
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#3
Drive has had it. Make sure you have any important data backed up. This should be done on a continuous basis anyway, not only when you start to notice problems.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.41/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#4
If that's your only HDD in the system, or if any other HDDs you may have show any such errors, it could very well be a RAM or a PSU problem... But yeah, check your HDD for physical errors with Victoria, MHDD, HD Tune or similar. In case of bad blocks/sectors, RMA the drive while it's still under warranty.
 

caughtair

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
wow

Thanks for the answers, helped me a lot . I've ran about everything I could for the HDD and no problems were found. But then I went to memtest. Damn, over 200000 errors in 1 run . The things is , the sticks are brand new. Is it definetely something wrong with the memory, or can it be something with the motherboard also ? Probably tomorrow I'm returning the memory sticks. Corsair XMS DDR-3 1333 Mhz, 2x4gigs, I think I forgot to mention it.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#6
Are you overclocking? If so, drop back to stock. Your RAM may not like the OC.
Hold off on returning them just yet. It may be something else.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
357 (0.19/day)
Likes
28
System Name Broken Butterfly.
Processor Intel Core i5-3570.
Motherboard Asus P8H67-M LE.
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus.
Memory 2x4gB Corsair Value Series.
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660 FTW Signature 2.
Storage 180gB Intel SSD 330 Series, WD Blue 500gB (AAKX).
Display(s) Samsung BX2031.
Case CM Elite 334.
Power Supply Corsair CX 430.
#7
Damn that's a BIG number!.

Get a value ram and check.
 

corehazard

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Charlotte,NC
System Name Primary Gaming PC
Processor Intel Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X 58
Cooling CPU: Coolermast HN 520, 1x 200mm case fan, 4x 120mm case fan
Memory Wintec 8 GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon EAH 6850
Storage 1 TB Games, 500 GB OS
Display(s) ASUS VH232H
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Power Supply Cooler 850 Watt modular
#8
It could possibly even be a loose cable; other than that its most likely a problem with the drive, RAM, or PSU as everyone else said.
 

caughtair

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
I didn't OC nothing yet. Just bought these components this week. Haven't had time for OC, plus I would not start on it with the stock cooler on the Phenom 965BE ; it sounds like a freakin' jet boeing in full load.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
357 (0.19/day)
Likes
28
System Name Broken Butterfly.
Processor Intel Core i5-3570.
Motherboard Asus P8H67-M LE.
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus.
Memory 2x4gB Corsair Value Series.
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660 FTW Signature 2.
Storage 180gB Intel SSD 330 Series, WD Blue 500gB (AAKX).
Display(s) Samsung BX2031.
Case CM Elite 334.
Power Supply Corsair CX 430.
#10
It could possibly even be a loose cable; other than that its most likely a problem with the drive, RAM, or PSU as everyone else said.
Its clearly RAM or motherboard.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#11
Do you have all of the RAM slots full? Some mobos like a little more voltage when that is the case.
 

caughtair

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Just two out of four. I've noticed that only one of the two sticks has problems. I'll try to see if errors pop out on daily use with only the healthy stick . If they don't, I guess it's from the memory only - non HDD related.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#13
It could be slot related or stick related. I've seem both.
Run the RAM tests on each stick separately. If they both pass, start playing slot musical chairs to see it you get errors only in a particular slot.

Fun stuff :toast:
 

caughtair

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Hey you know what, I've entered Windows with the healthy dimm . I had a couple of torrents stuck in tons on hashfails. They all finished with no hashfails (they were stuck at 99,9%). Guess the problem is solved. Can I do anything to test also the motherboard itself?