• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Hdmi

smiggy74

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have recently upgraded my grahics card to a nvidia geforce 210. I get sound on my tv using a HDMI lead but when I use the vga for my monitor I cant get any sound. Can I get sound using a HDMI to DVI cable.
Some people say you can others say you can't. Please help I'm confused
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
DVI and VGA both don't carry any sound signal. So the only way to get sound is to use HDMI on both the card and the monitor.
 

smiggy74

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Can I use a sound card with my graphics card?? Or will the graphics card overpower it like it has to my computers built in sound???
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
You should be able to use your onboard sound with your graphics card without a problem. However, Windows can only output to one device at a time, so you have to go into your playback devices and select the onboard sound card as your default output device.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#6
DVI and VGA both don't carry any sound signal. So the only way to get sound is to use HDMI on both the card and the monitor.
Ahem what?
DVI can handle video, audio, data, AND power at once.
Nvidia cards can transfer audio over all their digital ports at the same time, ie you can have both dvi and hdmi with audio output going at the same time. I've been using audio over dvi since the gtx280 (with the passthrough cable because they didn't have onboard audio then)

But as you mentioned for the OP, they must change their playback device to the onboard audio.
May have to make sure the BIOS is set to enabled, because if it's on auto it usually disables when the gpu audio is detected at boot.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#7
You ahve to change the sound setting in the properties

Nvidia 210 was an upgrade?
 

smiggy74

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Since Ive fitted my graphics card it says I have no audio devices in my sound settings. Yet before this it was fine.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
DVI can handle video, audio, data, AND power at once.
You are correct on DVI handling audio, though not official, audio can be sent via DVI. AMD and nVidia have both been doing this since at least the G92 cards(that is when I started using it, and I'm still using DVI->HDMI with sound on my GTX670). I misspoke. What I meant was that the DVI/VGA port on the monitor can't accept audio input, at least I've never seen a monitor that accepted audio over DVI. Of course that makes sense since audio over DVI is not a officially supported, so monitors don't support it, even TVs with DVI don't support it. You have to use a DVI to HDMI adapter and plug into the monitor/TV with HDMI.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,159 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,705
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#10
Ahem what?
DVI can handle video, audio, data, AND power at once.
This has come up before, and I argued the validity of DVI audio. I found out you have to have a special adapter that enables audio over DVI (such as ATI and HIS have made), because the default DVI connections don't in fact carry audio. The adapter enables the center pins which aren't enabled on DVI, so saying DVI carries audio is not really true. The original format and even DVI ports and cables still made today don't by themselves carry audio.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
376 (0.18/day)
Likes
291
Location
The city with the former druggie Mayor
System Name That computer
Processor Intel I7 960 OC @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte G.1 Guerilla
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 12gb G.Skill DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon 6950 2GB
Storage 120GB Samsung 840, 2x 1TB WD Black Raid 0
Display(s) 2X ACER S232HL
Case Thermaltake Amour A90(modded)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply 600W OCZ MODXSTREAM PRO
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#11
This has come up before, and I argued the validity of DVI audio. I found out you have to have a special adapter that enables audio over DVI (such as ATI and HIS have made), because the default DVI connections don't in fact carry audio. The adapter enables the center pins which aren't enabled on DVI, so saying DVI carries audio is not really true. The original format and even DVI ports and cables still made today don't by themselves carry audio.
Yep, DVI wasn't designed to carry audio. Even if you had the adapter, the monitor would't able to take the audio signals from the DVI input. TV's don't have a DVI port so you're going to end up using a DVI - HDMI adapter. It's a better choice to run audio through HDMI as it's cheaper and less work
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#12
This has come up before, and I argued the validity of DVI audio. I found out you have to have a special adapter that enables audio over DVI (such as ATI and HIS have made), because the default DVI connections don't in fact carry audio. The adapter enables the center pins which aren't enabled on DVI, so saying DVI carries audio is not really true. The original format and even DVI ports and cables still made today don't by themselves carry audio.
At work we have a projector that has an extra long DVI port. Come to find out it has extra pins for USB. I'm sure there are plenty of weird and obscure things that aren't supported by anything but exist nonetheless.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#13
This has come up before, and I argued the validity of DVI audio. I found out you have to have a special adapter that enables audio over DVI (such as ATI and HIS have made), because the default DVI connections don't in fact carry audio. The adapter enables the center pins which aren't enabled on DVI, so saying DVI carries audio is not really true. The original format and even DVI ports and cables still made today don't by themselves carry audio.
I've been using a $3 DVI-HDMI cable for years. Nothing special, the DVI end has all the pins filled minus analogue.
Also works with every branded and generic DVI-HDMI adapter I have too.

I'm aware that back in the X1900/GF7 days quite possibly it was different.