• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HDTV vs Monitor for PC gaming ?

Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#1
I currently have a 24 inch full hd monitor and a full hd 32 inch HDTV...

I was wondering if I should try connecting my PC to the HDTV instead of my current monitor. I have a radeon 6950 which would allow a HDMI to HDMI connection to the HDTV...

What would be the PROS and CONS of doing this. I've heard you can get deeper blacks on HDTV and a more dynamic color range...

I also hear a PC monitor is better "pixel wise"... I'm not really an expert on the subject. What do you guys think? Let me know :O)
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,312 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,722
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
Pros
Every thing bigger
makes things easier to see
Great for Track IR
HDMI carrys sound so you could plug it in your receiver first

Cons
Can make things more blocky
MIGHT need more AA ( depends on a few factors like resolution )
Screen refresh is typically higher.
I sit pretty dam close to mine but love the larger screen over a smaller one so to me the pros defiantly out do the cons.
More space taken up

Try it only real way if ya going tell if ya like it or not.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,527 (1.12/day)
Likes
6,075
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
#3
The TV might have a bit of lag. Be sure to set it to "game mode" if it has one. The TV might also ghost more than the monitor. Be sure to set the HDMI audio as your default sound device (Radeons have a built-in sound card).

..but as AsRock said, if you have both of 'em handy, try them out. A friend of mine used his HDTV on his computer. Had the stupid thing a few feet away from his face. Had to turn his head to follow the mouse around. He enjoyed it quite a bit, but ended up selling it to pay the bills.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#4
I've never been able to stand the tv monitor setups. I'm running 1080p on a 21" because anything larger just isn't sharp enough. I mean ignoring that it's pretty ridiculous to have to move your head around trying to see everything on some 42" 3 feet in front of you. It's just silly and awkward unless you're a considerable distance from the display. Like I guess if your pc desk was right up against the back of your living room sofa it would make sense.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,537
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
as long as the TV is set to 'game' or "pc" mode, its lag free and fine.

the only concern is making sure theres enough distance between you and the screen - a meter or two at least (if its 26"+)
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
652 (0.18/day)
Likes
124
Location
Bay Shore NY
System Name BACKTOTHEFUTURE
Processor Stock I7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-DS4 BIOS F6
Cooling 4 120mm 1 140mm top fan
Memory 12 gigabytes of DDR3 1333 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780ti
Storage Samsung 1.5 terrabyte Steam Drive and 2 Samsung 750 gig Sata 2 in Raid 0
Display(s) HP LP3065 30" Monitor
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Solid Gear Neutron 750 watt
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit
#6
32" 1080p HDTV is the sweet spot

For a long time I have jumped on the modern HDTV as a monitor bandwagon. The short of it is a quality LCD HDTV with decent response time will be a great monitor. There are a few things to consider other than response time. It is kind of a crap shoot but certain HDTVs will be more optimized for PC use. On the Vizio VO32L I am using right now its VGA input is awesome for PC use. It supports a wide range of resolutions and the auto adjust feature is easy to manage. It suppors full 1080p resolution without scaling needed. Some HDTVs are not real 1080p sets even though they claim to be. They simply automatically scale to there actual native resolution which is close but not all the way 1920 * 1080. The Sceptre X32BV Full HD TV I had did not truly support 1080p via VGA because it in fact only supported something like 1800 * 1000. It will not even run Shadowgrounds Survivor due to resolution issues. The game crashes. When you used HDMI it had all sorts of scaling issues and support issues for gaming. It also had poor response from black and ghosted even though the backlight was very uniform. Ghosting was at it worst in VGA.

As long as you sit a few feet back from a 32" 1080p LCD HDTV you will be mesmerized at how awesome it really is. There is no better and easier on the eyes way to play a RTS game. Everything is legible on the screen and it my case the pixel density is just fine from about 4 feet away. Lets just say that depending on the videos you watch it is a very lifelike experience. I say go quality HDTV and don't look back. 32" is ideal for a true multimedia monitor.:toast:
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#7
thx for your advice... What about Cable choise? My Radeon 6950 supports HDMI, DVI and more...

But I guess my HDTV supports HDMI... I know there are a bunch of HDMI to DVI connectors or stuff alike...

But what about using HDMI to HDMI. Is that good? Can anybody actually tell me in simple intelligible words what the difference is between monitor and HDTV in terms of quality??

I would like to know if there's any lag... if the screen size bein 32 inch vs my 24 inch monitor an issue. Does a HDTV require stuff like AA or scaling... BTW, my HDTV is an LG 32 inch full HD (or at least that's what it says on the box :O)
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,312 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,722
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#8
The TV might have a bit of lag. Be sure to set it to "game mode" if it has one. The TV might also ghost more than the monitor. Be sure to set the HDMI audio as your default sound device (Radeons have a built-in sound card).

..but as AsRock said, if you have both of 'em handy, try them out. A friend of mine used his HDTV on his computer. Had the stupid thing a few feet away from his face. Had to turn his head to follow the mouse around. He enjoyed it quite a bit, but ended up selling it to pay the bills.
But that's a good thing in my case as i play Arma 2 a lot and fly and drive a lot in that game and when using Track IR you can have it less sensitive than normal.
 

cyriene

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
183 (0.06/day)
Likes
19
Location
Miami
System Name PrettyH8Machine/GameOn
Processor i7 920 D0 4.2GHz/i7 920 D0 4.0GHz
Motherboard X58A-UD7(v1.0)/X58A-UD3R
Cooling RRT Chrome EK Supreme HF/EK Supreme HF
Memory G.Skill Pii 3x2GB 1600 cas7/G.Skill Pii 3x2GB 1600 cas7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4550/XFX 6950 2GB Crossfire
Storage Corsair F120SSD/Samsung F3 1TBx2 RAID1
Display(s) Dell U3011 & Dell 2407WFP
Case Coolermaster HAF 932/Mountain Mods Duality
Audio Device(s) Onboard/Corsair HS-1 Headphones
Power Supply Corsair HX620W/Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores I should run some of these sometime...
#9
thx for your advice... What about Cable choise? My Radeon 6950 supports HDMI, DVI and more...

But I guess my HDTV supports HDMI... I know there are a bunch of HDMI to DVI connectors or stuff alike...

But what about using HDMI to HDMI. Is that good? Can anybody actually tell me in simple intelligible words what the difference is between monitor and HDTV in terms of quality??

I would like to know if there's any lag... if the screen size bein 32 inch vs my 24 inch monitor an issue. Does a HDTV require stuff like AA or scaling... BTW, my HDTV is an LG 32 inch full HD (or at least that's what it says on the box :O)
I use HDMI and it works well.
But we can't answer your question - too many variables. It depends on ther HDTV panel quality and monitor quality.
My U3011 kicks the shit out of my 42 inch Scepter HDTV quality wise. But that may not be the case with a quality TV and shitty monitor.

What I'm trying to say is hook it up yourself and see how it compares and answer your own questions.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
237 (0.09/day)
Likes
34
Location
Cyprus but i'm English
#10
My TV downstairs which is a 50inch :rockout:
Has a laptop always connected to it to watch films, youtube, music etc
And i have played a couple of games doing on this and i have to say it is lush :D

My upstairs monitor 23inch has a HDMI slot should i be using it :confused:
At the moment i am using DVI just because it was easier to set up when i first got it
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,537
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
My TV downstairs which is a 50inch :rockout:
Has a laptop always connected to it to watch films, youtube, music etc
And i have played a couple of games doing on this and i have to say it is lush :D

My upstairs monitor 23inch has a HDMI slot should i be using it :confused:
At the moment i am using DVI just because it was easier to set up when i first got it
apart from adding audio, theres no real reason to move to HDMI for a PC monitor.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,537
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
For audio i have my Logitech X-540 5.1 surround sound
So HDMI is pointless for my monitor other than connecting a PS3 or Xbox which niether i own?
pointless to upgrade to for video, yes. the video part of HDMI was directly copied from DVI, so they're essentially the same.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#14
TO OP:

Just take your ueber flatscreen and test it with the pc! It is not heavy like a CRT TV

You WILL have to adjust watching distance: TV screens are not as finepixeled as PC monitors, by design it is for watching from some meters away!

Some DVI carries sound, in my case: from DVI (PC) to HDMI (TV) with a DVI-HDMI cable :) You must use the sound driver of your HDMI video card.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,537
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
Some DVI carries sound, in my case: from DVI (PC) to HDMI (TV) with a DVI-HDMI cable :) You must use the sound driver of your HDMI video card.
thats not quite correct, you're still using HDMI.

I get what you're saying, but for some reason i just dont like the way you worded it, nerd-sense is tingling...


edit: got it. you said you're getting audio over DVI, which isnt true as you cant use a DVI cable, or DVI on the monitor/TV end for audio.

You cant even use a DVI to HDMI cable - it has to be a specific DVI to HDMI adpator on the video card, and a HDMI cable to the screen.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#16
thats not quite correct, you're still using HDMI.

I get what you're saying, but for some reason i just dont like the way you worded it, nerd-sense is tingling...


edit: got it. you said you're getting audio over DVI, which isnt true as you cant use a DVI cable, or DVI on the monitor/TV end for audio.

You cant even use a DVI to HDMI cable - it has to be a specific DVI to HDMI adpator on the video card, and a HDMI cable to the screen.
I thought it was strange that he said he was getting audio through a DVI cable aswell :)
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#17
thats not quite correct, you're still using HDMI.
edit: got it. you said you're getting audio over DVI, which isnt true as you cant use a DVI cable, or DVI on the monitor/TV end for audio.
You cant even use a DVI to HDMI cable - it has to be a specific DVI to HDMI adpator on the video card, and a HDMI cable to the screen.
Sorry Sir, you are wrong! My NVidia GTX 470 offers sound out off the DVI connector. I have direct cable from there to the HDMI-in on the monitor. And getting sound. Bingo.

Note: this was already discussed in some thread :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,537
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
Sorry Sir, you are wrong! My NVidia GTX 470 offers sound out off the DVI connector. I have direct cable from there to the HDMI-in on the monitor. And getting sound. Bingo.

Note: this was already discussed in some thread :)
you misread me, and misunderstood my point.


You are still getting sound via HDMI, not via DVI.

You are converting your DVI port to HDMI and getting audio through the use of a special adaptor for your card, but its still HDMI and not DVI that you are using.


for a relevant example - if you used a DVI to VGA converter for a CRT screen, you wouldnt say you were running DVI on the screen - you're running VGA.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#19
aha, you are saying that my DVI port looks like a DVI port but is acting like a HDMI port? No problem with that :)

BUT: no 'adaptor' here in any form or shape, fyi.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,537
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
aha, you are saying that my DVI port looks like a DVI port but is acting like a HDMI port? No problem with that :)

BUT: no 'adaptor' here in any form or shape, fyi.
yes, its HDMI hiding behind in DVI port. its how they get DVI, VGA and HDMI from the one port when you use adaptors.


If you're not using an adaptor, you cant use the audio...
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
171 (0.06/day)
Likes
34
Location
@/In a place where you aint ;) :)
System Name [HELIX]
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K @ Stock
Motherboard Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z97
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 [2x140mm]
Memory Kingston HyperX 16GB 1866Mhz CL10 XMP Beast Series
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G [2x100mm Semi-Passive] | Intel HD4600
Storage Intel 520 120GB SSD | WD Green 2TB | WD Green 1TB | Samsung SP F1 640GB | Seagate BD 150GB
Display(s) DELL U2412M (24" 1200p @ 60Hz) | Samsung SM 940BW (19" 1440x900 @ 60Hz)
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2, Black, Windowed [3x140mm/4x120mm]
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3Di | Marantz SR3001 A/V Rcv. | TANNOY Mercury MX-M 7.1 Spk.| QED Cbl. | COAX.
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W [1x140mm Semi-Passive, Modular, 80+ Gold]
Software OS:Win7x64EESP1 | 4GB SanDisk Cruzer USB-Stick w. Win7x64 (OS Installer)
Benchmark Scores NEW [HELIX]: COMING SOON OLD [PARALLAX]: 3DMARK11:P4054 [http://3dmark.com/3dm11/588204]
#21
yes, its HDMI hiding behind in DVI port. its how they get DVI, VGA and HDMI from the one port when you use adaptors.


If you're not using an adaptor, you cant use the audio...
Great explanation to why I were baffled when I actually did get sound on my HDTV/Mon speakers setting up HD-Audio in NVCP, using a DVI-HDMI cable.

//Dog
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,107 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,537
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#22
Great explanation to why I were baffled when I actually did get sound on my HDTV/Mon speakers setting up HD-Audio in NVCP, using a DVI-HDMI cable.

//Dog
you're lucky it worked with the cable, the cables usually dont work.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
171 (0.06/day)
Likes
34
Location
@/In a place where you aint ;) :)
System Name [HELIX]
Processor Intel Core i5 4690K @ Stock
Motherboard Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z97
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 [2x140mm]
Memory Kingston HyperX 16GB 1866Mhz CL10 XMP Beast Series
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G [2x100mm Semi-Passive] | Intel HD4600
Storage Intel 520 120GB SSD | WD Green 2TB | WD Green 1TB | Samsung SP F1 640GB | Seagate BD 150GB
Display(s) DELL U2412M (24" 1200p @ 60Hz) | Samsung SM 940BW (19" 1440x900 @ 60Hz)
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2, Black, Windowed [3x140mm/4x120mm]
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3Di | Marantz SR3001 A/V Rcv. | TANNOY Mercury MX-M 7.1 Spk.| QED Cbl. | COAX.
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W [1x140mm Semi-Passive, Modular, 80+ Gold]
Software OS:Win7x64EESP1 | 4GB SanDisk Cruzer USB-Stick w. Win7x64 (OS Installer)
Benchmark Scores NEW [HELIX]: COMING SOON OLD [PARALLAX]: 3DMARK11:P4054 [http://3dmark.com/3dm11/588204]
#23
you're lucky it worked with the cable, the cables usually dont work.
Yeah I figured how can this even possible:confused:

Meh I use SPDIF/Coax for sound anyways so I dont know if lucky is the right word.

//Dog
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#24
so we are 2 lucky ones, :)
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
2,276 (0.57/day)
Likes
230
Location
Cairns QLD, Aussie
System Name GaMEr / HTPC
Processor FX8320 4.5ghz so far NB- 2815mhz / X2 255 @ 3.2ghz (Temp till BD)
Motherboard 990FX-UD5 / GA-MA785GPMT-US2H
Cooling XSPC - 240rad 480rad 5 x 120mm out, 6 x 80mm in / H220-edge 1/2" & 2 x 120mm Magma
Memory 4gb PI 6,8,6,18 1T 1706mhz / 4gb Crucial D9's 1400 @ 6,6,6,18,1T
Video Card(s) 3gb HD7950 / Onboard
Storage 2 x 120gb Sandisk ultra plus 2tb WD / 60gb vertex 2 + 2 x 2tb WD Greens
Display(s) 3x24in Dell Ultra (portrait) / NEC 32" FullHD LCD
Case LL PC71A Full tower / Antec fusion black with Imon remote Modded for WC
Audio Device(s) OB / Auzentech cinema 7.1
Power Supply TT 700w TR2 / TT 600w Litepower modded with Noctua S12 fan.
Software 7 Ult / 7 premium x64
#25
I have recently shifted from gaming on my 14in laptop to gaming on a 32in LCD.. And I must say I love it!! I sit approx 1m from tv max and it rox, I must admit though - playing BC2 I do have to look around the screen so to speak to see it all. I want to sit a little further away but do not have a cordless KB yet or anything to sit my mouse on (I use it on entertainment unit) :)

I have always had issues with using HDMI on my TV. It is a full HD lcd and HDMI looks great with movies etc. but the desktop looks shit using HDMI. I stick with VGA and it looks as good as my Dell 24in LCD upstairs.