• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Headache with Windows 10 update atm...

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
18,742 (4.34/day)
Likes
6,813
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#1
Ive been on the 1809 update for a month and last night windows explorer/taskbar started freezing and crashing constantly and kept happening when i booted up this morning before i went out. I was out this morning and afternoon but came home and rolled back to 1803 update before using windows update assistant to try and update again to see if it would fix the issue.

Ive been trying to update back to 1809 since 3-4pm today Its now just coming to 8.35pm GMT (at time of posting) However the update has been getting stuck for a few hours at 86% which made me force a restart and windows to roll back the changes it made trying to update.

Any attempt to update has been met with futility... It gets stuck at checking hardware, it gets stuck at checking for updates... it gets stuck when i hit the 'x' to cancel it because its taken too damn long.

I scoured the internet for solutions, Ive used elevated command prompt to turn windows updates on and off. Ive hit up services.msc to turn stuff on and off. ive deleted files in the SoftwareDistribution folder. Everything still gets stuck and I cant update. Ive ran CC cleaner, and SFC and DISM - everything is fine but still no go.

Ive even used microsoft media creation tool to create an update date USB installation key but still get stuck...

Can somebody get me bill gates?

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
578 (2.22/day)
Likes
190
Location
Jeddah , Saudi Arabia.
System Name POTATO
Processor i3 2100
Motherboard Asus H61M-E
Cooling Alseye AS-GH1156-i7
Memory Cruical (Micron chips) 4x2GB DDR3 1600MHz , @1333MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 TI FML OC 2GB
Storage Western Digital 500 GB 7.2K RPM (5000AAKX) + Western Digital 200 GB 7.2K RPM (2000 JS)
Display(s) Samsung E1920
Audio Device(s) Creative inspire 4.1 4400
Power Supply Microdigit MD2111P , unknown wattage!(probably 400-500W) , Buying this thing was a huge mistake
Mouse Genius NetScroll 120
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#2
Actually , this morning when i fired up my PC it gave me Headaches too , idk if it's the same problem , but it disappeared after restarting the PC , i'm running 1809 too.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,434 (0.63/day)
Likes
549
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#3
I'd assume if you grab the latest Windows 10 creation Tool it contains the latest version of windows 10 so just backup things and reinstall or try to update from the USB Installer

Try to clear the updates via the cleanup system tool via your SSS/HDD system Installation disk. More importantly just boot to safe mode and delete the SoftwareDistribution folder and then use the system cleanup tool to clear the update section/recycle bin
 
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
18,742 (4.34/day)
Likes
6,813
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#4
I'd assume if you grab the latest Windows 10 creation Tool it contains the latest version of windows 10 so just backup things and reinstall or try to update from the USB Installer
yup. did all this already. currently stuck on 'working on updates 86%' again fir the past 30-45mins or so.

already tried updating from the USB installer but that gets stuck in multiple places
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,434 (0.63/day)
Likes
549
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#5
Hmm why not just reinstall / backup
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,194 (4.52/day)
Likes
4,328
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#6
I would try running the media creation tool on a different PC, or finding an 1809 iso somewhere else and go from there.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
431 (0.14/day)
Likes
150
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#7
you'll need to in-place install the EXISTING version of windows 10(already present on the system and identicle iso). Once that upgrade has completed, go ahead and update to 1809.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
18,742 (4.34/day)
Likes
6,813
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#8
Hmm why not just reinstall / backup
this install is only a few months old.

I would try running the media creation tool on a different PC, or finding an 1809 iso somewhere else and go from there.
I'll give that a go. maybe tomorrow as its pretty late in the night right now.... One thing that I have noticed though (because i attempted to install the update a 5th or 6th time after deleting the whole softwaredistribution folder) that it seems to spread the setup files around to some of my other hard drives that are hooked up. I may just pull them out and run the update again and see what happens.

you'll need to in-place install the EXISTING version of windows 10(already present on the system and identicle iso). Once that upgrade has completed, go ahead and update to 1809.
I have no idea wtf youre even saying bro :p:p
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
431 (0.14/day)
Likes
150
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 48gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @115% tdp,+95 core, +410 mem
Storage 2x ssd evo750 512gb, one for OS, one for caching spinners(10TB)
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 rs3 fall creators update ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/7500
#9
What I mean is do a repair install, to recover the proper OS state. Just use the iso same as the version you are running, and install it again on top. After that, the update to 1809 should succeed as well.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,434 (0.63/day)
Likes
549
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
#10
Was your install a pre-install from a laptop or a brand (meaning A Desktop to) That may be the issue.

Also what er557 said, I think he meant to reset "AKA the in-place" to allow some reset of settings and what not
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,425 (1.64/day)
Likes
2,084
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#11
In-place upgrade is what that's called. Even if it's not technically an "upgrade". I was having very similar issues upgrading my 1803 install to 1809. In the end, I was never able to fix it. Did everything mentioned here and then some. Finally gave up and did a clean install of 1809. It was the first time I've ever had to clean install a Windows 10 version. I've always been able to upgrade to a newer version from an existing install. All the way back to when I upgraded 7 to the very first(pre-release) Insider preview build years ago. I just hope it doesn't become a regular deal that I have to do every time or some BS. :shadedshu:
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
18,742 (4.34/day)
Likes
6,813
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#12
Was your install a pre-install from a laptop or a brand (meaning A Desktop to) That may be the issue.

Also what er557 said, I think he meant to reset "AKA the in-place" to allow some reset of settings and what not
It was a fresh 1803 on a self built because my X79 system died. I forced the update to 1809 in around december time after Microsoft had declared it was fixed and they were starting to roll out the update automatically.

In-place upgrade is what that's called. Even if it's not technically an "upgrade". I was having very similar issues upgrading my 1803 install to 1809. In the end, I was never able to fix it. Did everything mentioned here and then some. Finally gave up and did a clean install of 1809. It was the first time I've ever had to clean install a Windows 10 version. I've always been able to upgrade to a newer version from an existing install. All the way back to when I upgraded 7 to the very first Insider preview build. I just hope it doesn't become a regular deal that I have to do every time or some BS. :shadedshu:
Yeah. tell me about it. Im trying to avoid having to reinstall as it is.


Strangely enough 1803 feels more responsive within windows. I'll give 1809 one more go tomorrow but if it dont work then i dont care. I'll just wait till they push the next update after 1809



::EDIT::


well. Disconnected all my drives, pulled out the network cable and attempted to install from a freshly made USB with media creation tool... Deleted all the folders that the previous update attempt created and softwaredistribution folder and it still gets stuck at 86% and doesnt move.

This is my life currently



Somebody suggested that their update worked if they disable some Virtual thing in the bios under CPU options but mine has always been disabled anyway.


I havent had to use the reset button on my PC so much in 20 years. If i hit it anymore its going to report me to the police for domestic violence.
 
Last edited:
Top