• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Headset

Hyper

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name The Machine
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850e
Motherboard nForce 720a Chipset
Cooling Fans /w Heatsink on CPU
Memory 3GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 5770
Storage 300GB HDD + 250 GB External WDHDD
Display(s) Samsung 713n LCD
Case Thermaltake SopranoRS Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
Power Supply Prudent Way 550W PSU
Software Microsoft Windows Vista
#1
I'm a gamer looking to get a pretty nice headset for gaming. Mostly for Counter Strike source.

I've heard that the SteelSound 5H USB's are very nice, which would be great for me, since I have an onboard sound card.

But I've also considered the Razer Barracuda HP-1's, with the AC-1 sound card.
Yes, I have the money to spend, but I only worry about two things:

1. Are the Razer products [particularly the headset] that much better than the SteelSound 5H?

2. If I did get the AC-1, would my computer get lower FPS/and or lag because of it? I'm using a Dell, which is now 5 years old.. a 2.4 GHZ with 512 RAM.

If you can help me out, thanks! :toast:
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#2
I would get the AC-1 if possible. The sound card should boost your performance if anything, since it processes sound and takes some load off the CPU. That is the main reason I have one.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#3
I would get the AC-1 if possible. The sound card should boost your performance if anything, since it processes sound and takes some load off the CPU. That is the main reason I have one.
Most don't provide much of a boost, if any. Only those with dedicated DSPs provide any type of offloading. But those without don't hurt performance either. In this case, it will be about the same either way, but sound quality will take a huge jump.

That said, I think the money would be better spent on a more substantial upgrade, such as more ram. If you are a gamer, 1GB should really be considered the minimum.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#4
I didn't say the difference would be noticeable :p
Still, it's better to have some type of sound card than using onboard, quality and performance wise. Even my old Audigy SE put my Realtek "HD" (yeah right) onboard audio to shame.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#5
I didn't say the difference would be noticeable :p
Still, it's better to have some type of sound card than using onboard, quality and performance wise. Even my old Audigy SE put my Realtek "HD" (yeah right) onboard audio to shame.
Right, I couldn't agree more. But the OP only has 512MB of ram. It's my opinion that he should address that first, then worry about a sound card.
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#6
Most don't provide much of a boost, if any. Only those with dedicated DSPs provide any type of offloading. But those without don't hurt performance either. In this case, it will be about the same either way, but sound quality will take a huge jump.

That said, I think the money would be better spent on a more substantial upgrade, such as more ram. If you are a gamer, 1GB should really be considered the minimum.
I agree. Sound isnt very high on my list of priorities.
As long as I can hear, and its clear thats cool for me.

But then again some people go crazy over sound and thats fair enough, I preferred to buy an expensive (good looking IMO :laugh:) case.
I agree with Wile E though, if your running games on a Dell you probably have something in there that could do with an upgrade.

Post specs?
 

Hyper

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name The Machine
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850e
Motherboard nForce 720a Chipset
Cooling Fans /w Heatsink on CPU
Memory 3GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 5770
Storage 300GB HDD + 250 GB External WDHDD
Display(s) Samsung 713n LCD
Case Thermaltake SopranoRS Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
Power Supply Prudent Way 550W PSU
Software Microsoft Windows Vista
#7
As far as RAM, I agree.. I should have more. But my problem with that is that my motherboard only supports RDRAM. I don't think that I can put a different kind of motherboard into my computer without changing everything. Although, I'm not too sure about it.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#8
As far as RAM, I agree.. I should have more. But my problem with that is that my motherboard only supports RDRAM. I don't think that I can put a different kind of motherboard into my computer without changing everything. Although, I'm not too sure about it.
Ewww, RDRAM. Ouch! Maybe hit eBay?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#9
If you get another mainboard, your mobo or power supply or both will go up in smoke due to dell's propriatary power supplies. If you can only use RDRAM, you've been shafted up the ass :(
 

Sovereign

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
789 (0.20/day)
Likes
65
Location
Midwest USA
System Name "The Gateway Donation"
Processor Mobile AMD Turion 64 ML-34, 1975 MHz (9 x 218) (1MB L2)
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo3-FSR (3 PCI, 1 PCI-E x16, 1 AGR, 2 DDR DIMM)
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 PRO + Various 80mm Case Fans
Memory 1024 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM, Hynix & Nanya Chips)
Video Card(s) MSI HD2600XT 256MB GDDR4 Diamond OC Edition PCI-E x16
Storage Maxtor 6E040L0 (40 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
Display(s) Princeton LCD1950 19" 8ms Digital LCD (1280x1024 @ 75Hz)
Case Gateway (2000) Beige P150 ATX MidTower Case
Audio Device(s) Aureal Vortex 2 SQ2500 "SuperQuad" Audio
Power Supply HEC Orion 500 watt ATX Power Supply
Software Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 w/ SP2
Benchmark Scores SuperPi 1M @ You don't even want to know! ;)
#10
As far as RAM, I agree.. I should have more. But my problem with that is that my motherboard only supports RDRAM. I don't think that I can put a different kind of motherboard into my computer without changing everything. Although, I'm not too sure about it.
What exact model Dell PC do you have? I'm guessing the CPU is a Pentium 4 as well, correct?

And Hat, Dell didn't use propriatary/BTX PSUs back in the day of which I think his Dell is from. I'm guessing it's probably a 300-350watt Dell ATX PSU.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#11

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#12
Wasnt d44ve sellin some of that RAM?????
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#13

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#14
What exact model Dell PC do you have? I'm guessing the CPU is a Pentium 4 as well, correct?

And Hat, Dell didn't use propriatary/BTX PSUs back in the day of which I think his Dell is from. I'm guessing it's probably a 300-350watt Dell ATX PSU.
It would be a Dimention 8100 or 8200, iirc. And yes, it's a P4. If his stuff is ATX compatible, a full upgrade might be a good option.
 

Sovereign

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
789 (0.20/day)
Likes
65
Location
Midwest USA
System Name "The Gateway Donation"
Processor Mobile AMD Turion 64 ML-34, 1975 MHz (9 x 218) (1MB L2)
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo3-FSR (3 PCI, 1 PCI-E x16, 1 AGR, 2 DDR DIMM)
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 PRO + Various 80mm Case Fans
Memory 1024 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM, Hynix & Nanya Chips)
Video Card(s) MSI HD2600XT 256MB GDDR4 Diamond OC Edition PCI-E x16
Storage Maxtor 6E040L0 (40 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
Display(s) Princeton LCD1950 19" 8ms Digital LCD (1280x1024 @ 75Hz)
Case Gateway (2000) Beige P150 ATX MidTower Case
Audio Device(s) Aureal Vortex 2 SQ2500 "SuperQuad" Audio
Power Supply HEC Orion 500 watt ATX Power Supply
Software Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 w/ SP2
Benchmark Scores SuperPi 1M @ You don't even want to know! ;)
#15

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#16
If you get another mainboard, your mobo or power supply or both will go up in smoke due to dell's propriatary power supplies. If you can only use RDRAM, you've been shafted up the ass :(
That made me laugh so hard. Sorry to laugh at your pain lol.
A full upgrade sounds like a decent plan, especially considering the age of your components.
If its a P4 at least you could reuse that.
 

Hyper

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name The Machine
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850e
Motherboard nForce 720a Chipset
Cooling Fans /w Heatsink on CPU
Memory 3GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 5770
Storage 300GB HDD + 250 GB External WDHDD
Display(s) Samsung 713n LCD
Case Thermaltake SopranoRS Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
Power Supply Prudent Way 550W PSU
Software Microsoft Windows Vista
#17
Okay, I posted most of the specs that I know to my profile.. if it helps any.

Thanks for helping everyone.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#18
Okay, I posted most of the specs that I know to my profile.. if it helps any.

Thanks for helping everyone.
Are you dead set on the gaming headphones, and how much can you spend on your computer?
 

Sovereign

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
789 (0.20/day)
Likes
65
Location
Midwest USA
System Name "The Gateway Donation"
Processor Mobile AMD Turion 64 ML-34, 1975 MHz (9 x 218) (1MB L2)
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo3-FSR (3 PCI, 1 PCI-E x16, 1 AGR, 2 DDR DIMM)
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 PRO + Various 80mm Case Fans
Memory 1024 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM, Hynix & Nanya Chips)
Video Card(s) MSI HD2600XT 256MB GDDR4 Diamond OC Edition PCI-E x16
Storage Maxtor 6E040L0 (40 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
Display(s) Princeton LCD1950 19" 8ms Digital LCD (1280x1024 @ 75Hz)
Case Gateway (2000) Beige P150 ATX MidTower Case
Audio Device(s) Aureal Vortex 2 SQ2500 "SuperQuad" Audio
Power Supply HEC Orion 500 watt ATX Power Supply
Software Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 w/ SP2
Benchmark Scores SuperPi 1M @ You don't even want to know! ;)
#19
Okay, I posted most of the specs that I know to my profile.. if it helps any.

Thanks for helping everyone.
Yeah but what exact model Dell do you have? Thats what is in question atm!?
 

Hyper

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name The Machine
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850e
Motherboard nForce 720a Chipset
Cooling Fans /w Heatsink on CPU
Memory 3GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 5770
Storage 300GB HDD + 250 GB External WDHDD
Display(s) Samsung 713n LCD
Case Thermaltake SopranoRS Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
Power Supply Prudent Way 550W PSU
Software Microsoft Windows Vista
#20
Nah, I'm not dead set on the gaming headphones, I just thought they'd be a nice addition.

I'm pretty good with what little FPS I get, so I thought, hell, I might as well get some better sound.

Right now, I have around 400-500 to spend on it.
 

Hyper

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name The Machine
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850e
Motherboard nForce 720a Chipset
Cooling Fans /w Heatsink on CPU
Memory 3GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 5770
Storage 300GB HDD + 250 GB External WDHDD
Display(s) Samsung 713n LCD
Case Thermaltake SopranoRS Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
Power Supply Prudent Way 550W PSU
Software Microsoft Windows Vista
#21

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#22
Nah, I'm not dead set on the gaming headphones, I just thought they'd be a nice addition.

I'm pretty good with what little FPS I get, so I thought, hell, I might as well get some better sound.

Right now, I have around 400-500 to spend on it.
Wow. Isnt that like, overspending :p?
(If its US $)

You could have a whole new computer (excluding Monitor) for about $500Australian. With American cash you could push it even further and get a decent video card. Not to say yours is crap, my mate has one and it plays CS:S fine. CSS is a lovely game :D.
 

Hyper

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name The Machine
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850e
Motherboard nForce 720a Chipset
Cooling Fans /w Heatsink on CPU
Memory 3GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 5770
Storage 300GB HDD + 250 GB External WDHDD
Display(s) Samsung 713n LCD
Case Thermaltake SopranoRS Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
Power Supply Prudent Way 550W PSU
Software Microsoft Windows Vista
#23
Yeah, it's USD. And I meant 400-500 to spend on the computer. Not just headphones.

I wouldn't pay that much for a headset. Haha.
 

Sovereign

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
789 (0.20/day)
Likes
65
Location
Midwest USA
System Name "The Gateway Donation"
Processor Mobile AMD Turion 64 ML-34, 1975 MHz (9 x 218) (1MB L2)
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo3-FSR (3 PCI, 1 PCI-E x16, 1 AGR, 2 DDR DIMM)
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 PRO + Various 80mm Case Fans
Memory 1024 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM, Hynix & Nanya Chips)
Video Card(s) MSI HD2600XT 256MB GDDR4 Diamond OC Edition PCI-E x16
Storage Maxtor 6E040L0 (40 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
Display(s) Princeton LCD1950 19" 8ms Digital LCD (1280x1024 @ 75Hz)
Case Gateway (2000) Beige P150 ATX MidTower Case
Audio Device(s) Aureal Vortex 2 SQ2500 "SuperQuad" Audio
Power Supply HEC Orion 500 watt ATX Power Supply
Software Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 w/ SP2
Benchmark Scores SuperPi 1M @ You don't even want to know! ;)
#24
Like Dimension 8250? That's what I have.
OK, i found a decent list of parts that you would normaly find in your particular Dell ---> http://www.shopping.com/xGS-Dell_Dimension_8250~NS-1~linkin_id-8001673

It looks like it uses a standard ATX power supply and a smaller ATX or perhaps micro atx motherboard. I'm guessing you could fairly easily upgrade to a normal SKT478 motherboard that supports DDR SDRAM. You could get a decent new board, a 1 or 2 GB DDR400 memory kit, a respectable video card and a nice headset for less than $250-$300 USD!

I definitely wouldn't bother directly upgrading the existing hardware inside that Dell... RDRAM is just waaaay to expensive and far outweighs the performance gain.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#25
Like Dimension 8250? That's what I have.
Just looked it up. The mobo mounts and power connector are mATX and ATX-P4 respectively, but everything else, like power connectors, front panel connectors, and I believe some sort of spacers, are proprietary. A little modding may be neccesary, unless we can put together a new rig for you, reusing your salvageable parts. (monitor, keyboard/mouse, hard drive, etc.) Choice is yours, really.