• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Heating Issue

Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Recently I have bought a brand new phenom II BE for an easy upgrade. I just overclocked to a 3.5, (3.4 stock) but it heats like crazy! When playing gta I get 60 degrees just 2 min in! I have to admit my small case has little airflow but....
on another note: css and desus ex play fine but gta and l4d2 overheat my cpu.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#2
Might help if you would post your specs in the "User CP" in the menu on this forum page.
Don't forget to click the "show specs" box, too.

What cooler?
What case?

New build or old?
What were the temps on your old CPU ?
Have you replaced the T.I.M. lately? Hope you did... if, you replaced the CPU. How much T.I.M. ?
Checked that the cooler is mounted correctly?
Cleared all the dust out?
Checked that the fans are working?
What are your temps when the CPU is loaded, with no OC?
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#3
cpu is rated for 100c those temps are fine blah blah blah search before posting
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,436 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#4
Recently I have bought a brand new phenom II BE for an easy upgrade. I just overclocked to a 3.5, (3.4 stock) but it heats like crazy! When playing gta I get 60 degrees just 2 min in! I have to admit my small case has little airflow but....
on another note: css and desus ex play fine but gta and l4d2 overheat my cpu.
What does it get under continuous max load?

cpu is rated for 100c those temps are fine blah blah blah search before posting
No.. amd recommends max temp in the mid 60's
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#5
cpu is rated for 100c those temps are fine blah blah blah search before posting
I actually thought it was 62c..

Anyways GTA is cpu intensive which is probably why there is extra heat from it. Maybe you should try what you all ready know whats wrong and get better cooling and air flow.
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.63/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#6
Recently I have bought a brand new phenom II BE for an easy upgrade. I just overclocked to a 3.5, (3.4 stock) but it heats like crazy! When playing gta I get 60 degrees just 2 min in! I have to admit my small case has little airflow but....
on another note: css and desus ex play fine but gta and l4d2 overheat my cpu.
If you bought an OEM chip and kept the old cooler, did you apply new thermal paste? Or if you bought an aftermarket cooler, are you sure you installed it properly?

And consider adding an intake fan somewhere, or maybe a better exhaust fan.

cpu is rated for 100c those temps are fine blah blah blah search before posting
Guess you're not nice, polite, or helpful. ;)
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,680 (2.69/day)
Likes
1,998
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#7
personally i would touch the heatsink just to make it sure that the temp is right
but i guess if about 60 degree its high but not too high, you can improve by improving your airflow, better thermal paste
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#8
Overclocking sometimes increases the voltage a lot than what is actually needed.
In my experience, you can overclock your Phenom II chip +400-500 MHz easily without over voltage(I did it reducing voltage :p ).
So I suggest you watch the temps before overclocking and set the voltage manually to stock while overclocking.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2011
Messages
283 (0.12/day)
Likes
64
Location
Portugal
System Name MSIGameRig
Processor Intel 4670k @ 4.2 [1.21v]
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
Cooling EK XTX 360+240 Rad´s
Memory Corsair 16GB Dominator Plat.2800C11 DDR3 @ 2400Mhz CL11
Video Card(s) 2_WaySLI MSI Gaming_OC GTX770
Storage [RAID0] Corsair Neutron SSD 240GB / WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Dual Samsung HS24" 1920x1080 [2ms]
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 HD
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win7 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I dont care about bench, just want the max fps possible @ DX11 with extreme AA/AF
#9
Overclocking sometimes increases the voltage a lot ...
In my experience, you can overclock your Phenom II chip +400-500 MHz easily without over voltage(I did it reducing voltage :p ).
Agree

With a proper MB you can get a good OC with less voltage.
My old 955BE run @ 3.8 with less 0.5v than stock.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#10
Reply

Overclocking sometimes increases the voltage a lot than what is actually needed.
In my experience, you can overclock your Phenom II chip +400-500 MHz easily without over voltage(I did it reducing voltage :p ).
So I suggest you watch the temps before overclocking and set the voltage manually to stock while overclocking.
Alright Thanks! Ill try that.

If you bought an OEM chip and kept the old cooler, did you apply new thermal paste? Or if you bought an aftermarket cooler, are you sure you installed it properly?

And consider adding an intake fan somewhere, or maybe a better exhaust fan.



Guess you're not nice, polite, or helpful. ;)
It came with a cooler. Mabey I need an aftermarket cooler.

Might help if you would post your specs in the "User CP" in the menu on this forum page.
Don't forget to click the "show specs" box, too.

What cooler?
What case?

New build or old?
What were the temps on your old CPU ?
Have you replaced the T.I.M. lately? Hope you did... if, you replaced the CPU. How much T.I.M. ?
Checked that the cooler is mounted correctly?
Cleared all the dust out?
Checked that the fans are working?
What are your temps when the CPU is loaded, with no OC?
Not sure what the case is, (bought at local store). Its a small antec with only 1 fan.

Build is from 2010
Ill reply later
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
Yes both fans are working.

If your asking about thermal paste, it came with it on the heatsink

Not really sure about stock heat under load.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
118 (0.06/day)
Likes
8
Location
Sweden currently.
System Name I7 4770K - RAID 0 SSD - Fractal Design ARC XL
Processor I7 4770K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI HERO
Cooling XSPC RayStorm 750 EX360 WaterCooling Kit
Memory G.Skill Trident X 16GB 2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti SC SuperClocked ACX
Storage OCZ SSD 256GB Vertex 4 Series SATA III 2.5" Raid 0 / Seagate Intern HDD Barracuda 500GB Raid 0
Display(s) AOC 2963 - Super Wide
Case Fractal Design ARC XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Headset Tactic3D Wrath Wireless
Power Supply Corsair RM 1000
Software Windows 8.1 + Media Center Licensed
#12
Yes both fans are working.

If your asking about thermal paste, it came with it on the heatsink

Not really sure about stock heat under load.
Many heatsinks comes with pre paste.

It is my experience, that it is worth to remove the pre paste and apply your own paste.

It will often give you signifiently much better results.

Remember that you shall only apply very little and put it over the chip. A fat layer is no good.

This guide How to Remove and Apply Thermal Compound [Updated... can help if you never tried it before.