1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help 4ghz with e8400

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by peterg60, Jul 5, 2009.

  1. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi all just joined site today hope some 1 can help me get stable at 4ghz with my system all info is listed at bottom what i have done so far cheers

    can boot into windows but orthos test will stop after 7 mins
    [​IMG]

    Robust Graphics Booster ...............: [Auto]
    CPU Clock Ratio .......................: [ 9]
    Fine CPU Clock Ratio...................: +0.0
    CPU Frequency .........................: 4GHz

    Clock Chip Control
    Standard Clock Control
    CPU[ Host Clock Control.................: [Enabled]
    CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ..............: 450Mhz
    PCI Express Frequency (Mhz) ...........: 100

    C.I.A.2 ...............................: [Disabled]

    Advanced Clock Control [Press Enter]
    CPU Clock Drive........................: 800mV
    PCI Express Clock Drive................: 900mV
    CPU Clock Skew (ps)....................: 0ps
    MCH Clock Skew (ps)....................: 0ps

    DRAM Performance Control
    Performance[/URL] Enhance....................: [STANDARD]
    Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.)........: [Disabled]
    (G)MCH Frequency Latch.................: Auto
    System Memory Multiplier ..............: 2.00D
    Memory Frequency (Mhz) ................: 801
    DRAM Timing Selectable ................: [Manual]

    Standard Timing Control
    CAS Latency Time.......................: 5
    tRCD ..................................: 5
    tRP'...................................: 5
    tRAS...................................: 15

    Advanced Timing Control
    tRRD...................................: auto
    tWTR...................................: auto
    tWR....................................: auto
    tRFC...................................: auto
    tRTP...................................: auto
    Command Rate (CMD) ....................: auto

    Driving Strength Profiles
    Driving Strength ......................: [Auto]

    Channel A
    Static tRead Value.....................: 7--10
    tRD Phase0 Adjustment..................: [Auto]
    tRD Phase1 Adjustment..................: [Auto]
    tRD Phase2 Adjustment .................: [Auto]
    tRD Phase3 Adjustment..................: [Auto]

    Trd2rd(Different Rank).................: [Auto]
    Twr2wr(Different Rank).................: [Auto]
    Twr2rd(Different Rank).................: [Auto]
    Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank).................: [Auto]

    Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...............: [Auto]
    Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...............: [Auto]
    DDR Write Training.....................: [Auto]

    Channel B
    Static tRead Value.....................: 7---10
    tRD Phase0 Adjustment..................: [Auto]
    tRD Phase1 Adjustment..................: [Auto]
    tRD Phase2 Adjustment .................: [Auto]
    tRD Phase3 Adjustment..................: [Auto]

    Trd2rd(Different Rank).................: [Auto]
    Twr2wr(Different Rank).................: [Auto]
    Twr2rd(Different Rank).................: [Auto]
    Trd2wr(Same/Diff Rank).................: [Auto]

    Dimm1 Clock Skew Control...............: [Auto]
    Dimm2 Clock Skew Control...............: [Auto]
    DDR Write Training.....................: [Auto]

    Motherboard Voltage Control
    Voltage Type...........................: [Manual]

    CPU---------------------Normal-----------Current

    Load Line Calibration..................: [Disabled]
    CPU Vcore...............1.30000V.......: 1.42500V--showing 1.392v in cpu-z
    CPU Termination.........1.200V.........: 1.200V
    CPU PLL.................1.500V.........: 1.500V
    CPU Reference...........0.760V.........: [Auto]

    MCH/ICH
    MCH Core................1.100V.........: 1.3200v
    MCH Reference...........0.760V.........: [Auto]
    MCH/DRAM Reference......0.900V.........: [Auto]
    ICH I/O.................1.500V.........: 1.500V
    ICH Core................1.100V.........: 1.100V

    DRAM
    DRAM Voltage............1.800V.........: 2.100V
    DRAM Termination........0.900V.........: [Auto]
    Channel A Reference.....0.900V.........: [Auto]
    Channel B Reference.....0.900V.........: [Auto]

    Advanced Settings
    Limit CPUID Max. to 3..................: [Disabled]
    No-Execute Memory Protect..............: [Enabled]
    CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)................: [Disabled]
    C2/C2E State Support...................: [Disabled]
    x C4/C4E State Support.................: [Disabled]
    CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) ............: [Enabled]
    CPU EIST Function......................: [Disabled]
    ]Virtualization Technology[/URL]..............: [Enabled]

    Integrated Peripherals
    Legacy USB Storage Detect .............: [Disabled]

    can any one suggest how i can get stable thanks

    Kingston HyperX 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 8500C5 1066MHz Dual Channe


    - Power supply : Vdd: 1.8V ± 0.1V, Vddq: 1.8V ± 0.1V
    - Double-data-rate architecture; two data transfers per clock cycle
    - Bidirectional data strobe(DQS)
    - Differential clock inputs(CK and CK)
    - DLL aligns DQ and DQS transition with CK transition
    - Programmable Read latency 5 (clock)
    - Burst Length: 4, 8 (Interleave/nibble sequential)
    - Programmable Burst type (sequential & interleave)
    - Timing Reference: 5-5-5-18 at +1.8V / 5-5-5-15 at +2.2V
    - Edge aligned data output, center aligned data input
    - Auto & Self refresh, 7.8us refresh interval (8K/64ms refresh)
    - Serial presence detect with EEPROM
    - High Performance Heat Spreader
    - PCB : Height 1.180” (30.00mm), double sided compone
     
  2. Duxx Guest

    Fill out the system specs under control panel so we can at least know what mobo you have :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have in user cp
     
  4. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ive clicked yes didnt see that sorry
     
  5. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,433 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Try enabling Load Line Calibration and see what CPU-Z reads then. That helps against voltage droop (volts actually being supplied being less than what is set in bios) and could increase stability.
     
  6. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    in my bios i cant see Load Line Calibration tryed looking for this last week im running bios f8 latest for my board
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    Try setting MCH (North Bridge) to 1.35v for 450mhz fsb. You may need to bump up the CPU voltage too depending on your processor.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeh it seems my cpu is hungry what is a recommend max for vcore
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    Try for 1.41 ~ 1.42v (shown in CPUZ)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is my mem strap ok or shall i leave all on auto untill i get my cpu stable in orthos
     
  11. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    many people with the E8X00 line can do 4ghz on stock voltage, but 1.3 should be heaps realy

    loosen the ram timings right up and put the ram volts to 2.0v and keep it around the 800mhz mark (or what you know to be stable) and bump up the NB a few notches

    but have you tested to see if the NB can do the FSB you are asking ? drop the cpu multi to 6X and then test to see what your max FSB is then when you find that try and increase the cpu multi
     
  12. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    but have you tested to see if the NB can do the FSB you are asking ? drop the cpu multi to 6X and then test to see what your max FSB is then when you find that try and increase the cpu multi

    could you explain abitmore on this please soyou saying cpu multi x6
    then bump up fsb it takes like 650 to 4ghz what vcore shall i leave auto
     
  13. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    That's only the people with E0's ;)

    After you've found out that your board can do the FSB, try upping the CPU Termination and PLL couple of notches, they helped me to get 4GHz stable. Can't remember the actual settings, but then again I have a C0 E8500 so it takes a bit more juice to hit the same clocks.

    Go to bios and set the multiplier to 6x. Then set your fsb to 440-450. Test if stable. If so, then keep raising the fsb until it's not stable anymore. That way you can find out the max fsb the board does, without the cpu limiting the fsb that much. (6x450=2700 vs 9x450=4050)
     
  14. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    921 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    186
    Location:
    London, UK
    about the load line calibration, you have it shown as disabled above your cpu voltage. enable that.
     
  15. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i cant see the option in bios is it called something eles it ant in my bios
     
  16. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok i set 6x 450 screenshots below orthos dont stop straight away everything is on auto even memory and all voltage settings vcore seems high


    [​IMG]
     
  17. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    Can you post a bit bigger pic, can't see anything? Or is it just me? :)
     
  18. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry bout that vcore seems highi still cant find the llc in bios lol

    here you go

    [​IMG]
     
  19. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    921 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    186
    Location:
    London, UK
    voltage is way too high for a 45nm chip. try not to go over 1.35, the e8x00 series dosent need even that much to get 4-4.5ghz :)
     
  20. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thats what i cant understand the pc wont boot if i give it lower than 1.4 something ant right iand i cant seem whey
     
  21. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my stock vid is 1.3000 and they ant no llc in bios some one said do pencil mod forget that out of my leauge lol
     
  22. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    True, way too high cpu. Mine, a crappy C0, did it @ 1.325 bios

    Now that you see that the nb can take it, up the multiplier to 9 and start playing with the voltages. Put the cpu @ ~1.3 and start toying with the PLL and termination. Up them by say 0.5 and see if it helps. Also the GTL ref seems to help some people. Also try searching for same kind of setups, I'm sure there are some around the internets.

    GL, I have to sleep for a change.
     
  23. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ive done everything i can if i put vcore to 1.3 and play with other voltages pc wont boot if i put vcore to1.3975 pc gets to windows xploading screen then restarts i know chips are differnt but surley not this much
     
  24. peterg60 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok i have gone and tryed 3.80ghz instead as 4ghz to much formy head lol ok i have posted a screen what do you guys think does it look ok temps are good orthos on full load only 49c

    is vcore ok my board i have found out has no llc in bios and people state it has got alot of vdroop as you can see in screens vcore is a 1.392(bios 1.4365) andfull load it goes to 1.360v

    is these vcore safe and is my mem in cpu-z ok cheers

    [​IMG]
     
  25. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,685 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I have been running my E0 at 4.0 for the past several months and have had success at 1.35. However now after reading some of the articles I have about the diminishing return past 3.8ghz, I am trying to down clock to make the cpu a bit happier temp wise. I use d to run at 44C/52C at 4.0...but at 3.8 so far I get 36C/44C, with minimal performance difference and the chip seems alot cooler.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)