• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help! Are these temps highs?

farid

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
Valencia, Venezuela.
System Name St0rm // Dad's
Processor i5 2500K@4.2GHz // Q6600@3.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H // Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper N520 // Thermaltake TMG i1
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance // 6GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) EVGA 560 SC // EVGA GTX260 Core 216
Storage Corsair Force 120GB+1TBWDC // 1TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) ASUS VS248H-P 24" // Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout // CoolerMaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W // Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bits
#1
Heya all! My dad just bought a new PC, his build is:
CPU: Q6600 G0
MOBO: Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
RAM: Corsair Dominators PC8500@1066 MHz (2x2GB)
Cooler: Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

I wanted to OC, then I started RealTemp before OCing it to take a look at the temps, so I though that those temps were quite high, and decided to run OCCT to take a look at the temps when the CPU its@100%, so far, these are the results after 5 mins of running OCCT:



I think that those temps are quite high for the CPU, but I would like to be sure about that.

If those temps are high, what could be the problem? I mean, the case has a good airflow, and I did a good cable management while installing the PC, I could attach a pic later if you guys want me to.

Also the PC takes a lot of time to start and to shut down the system, is that problem related to the temps?

Thx a lot for ur help guys :D
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.68/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#2
Yes, their very high.

Make sure you seated the Heatsink properly. It may be loose, or not enough TIM.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.66/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#3
On stock speeds its at minimum 30c too high. Like MoonPig said, check that Freezer for proper mounting.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#4
eh i'm definitely thinking bad seating with the heatsink. It's kinda hard to not apply enough TIM, most apply more than needed. i too have a q6600 and the Freezer Pro 7, oc'd to 3ghz@ 1.24v(1.22v load) with 36 idle/54 load. Just pop the side of your case off and try to move your heatsink a lil, it should feel very solid, but u may have only gotten 3 pins completely secured, last one's always a bitch.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
According to your screenshot of RealTemp core 0 got too hot. That's why it says "LOG" instead of "Ok". Don't worry about damage or anything, they can take it. Like others have said, reseat your CPU cooler.
 

farid

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
Valencia, Venezuela.
System Name St0rm // Dad's
Processor i5 2500K@4.2GHz // Q6600@3.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H // Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper N520 // Thermaltake TMG i1
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance // 6GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) EVGA 560 SC // EVGA GTX260 Core 216
Storage Corsair Force 120GB+1TBWDC // 1TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) ASUS VS248H-P 24" // Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout // CoolerMaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W // Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bits
#6
Ok, im gonna try to do that right now, thx a lot! Ill update soon! :D
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,808 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,796
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#7
According to your screenshot of RealTemp core 0 got too hot. That's why it says "LOG" instead of "Ok". Don't worry about damage or anything, they can take it. Like others have said, reseat your CPU cooler.
Yikes, yea, the max for core 0 says 100c.

You definitely need to do something!
 

Naekuh

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
503 (0.16/day)
Likes
108
Location
Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
System Name Nadeshiko
Processor i7 980X @ 4.2ghz /w HT ON 24/7
Motherboard eVGA Classified E759
Cooling Custom H2o
Memory Corsair Dominators 6 x 2GB
Video Card(s) 2 x HD4870X2 in Xfire
Storage 3 x X-25V in Raid 0 (OS) + 3 x Raptors in Raid 0 (Game)
Display(s) Dual Gateway 2485
Case MM U2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Ultra 1.6KW
Software Win7
#8
your fan must be dead.

your idling in 70's on stock is not a good thing.

OR you didnt get the pushpins in correctly.

Or your used brasso on your base of your freezer, and added a coat so your not getting good thermal transfer.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#9
I don`t think that that is on idle. It think he is saying that is just 5 min to OCCT.
He just stoped OCCT and took the screenshoot .
 

farid

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
Valencia, Venezuela.
System Name St0rm // Dad's
Processor i5 2500K@4.2GHz // Q6600@3.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H // Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper N520 // Thermaltake TMG i1
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance // 6GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) EVGA 560 SC // EVGA GTX260 Core 216
Storage Corsair Force 120GB+1TBWDC // 1TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) ASUS VS248H-P 24" // Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout // CoolerMaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W // Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bits
#10
Ok, so I removed the Cooler, cleaned the thermal paste, added thermal paste again, now running RealTemp with OCCT its throwing me this numbers, what about now?



I think theyre still quite high
 

farid

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
Valencia, Venezuela.
System Name St0rm // Dad's
Processor i5 2500K@4.2GHz // Q6600@3.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H // Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper N520 // Thermaltake TMG i1
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance // 6GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) EVGA 560 SC // EVGA GTX260 Core 216
Storage Corsair Force 120GB+1TBWDC // 1TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) ASUS VS248H-P 24" // Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout // CoolerMaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W // Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bits
#11
I don`t think that that is on idle. It think he is saying that is just 5 min to OCCT.
He just stoped OCCT and took the screenshoot .
Thats right, that was AFTER i stopped the OCCT, right now the image above shows the temps on OCCT running, I think that theyre still quite high :S
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,880 (1.83/day)
Likes
3,175
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#12
that looks better, remember you only need a rice kernel of thermal paste and it's a Arctic Freezer 7 Pro on a Quad and hes living in Venezuela. not a Xigmatek or Thermalright :p
 

farid

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
Valencia, Venezuela.
System Name St0rm // Dad's
Processor i5 2500K@4.2GHz // Q6600@3.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H // Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper N520 // Thermaltake TMG i1
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance // 6GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) EVGA 560 SC // EVGA GTX260 Core 216
Storage Corsair Force 120GB+1TBWDC // 1TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) ASUS VS248H-P 24" // Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout // CoolerMaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W // Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bits
#13
Hmmm :confused: isn't a good cooler for a Quad?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,880 (1.83/day)
Likes
3,175
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#14
it's alright.. I used it on my E2180 but there is better.
 

farid

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
Valencia, Venezuela.
System Name St0rm // Dad's
Processor i5 2500K@4.2GHz // Q6600@3.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H // Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper N520 // Thermaltake TMG i1
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance // 6GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) EVGA 560 SC // EVGA GTX260 Core 216
Storage Corsair Force 120GB+1TBWDC // 1TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) ASUS VS248H-P 24" // Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout // CoolerMaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W // Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bits
#15
And which cooler do u guys recommend me to use on a Q6600???
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#16
Freezer 7 pro's are meant more for dual-cores. Q6600's are rather "warm" chips to begin with. How did you apply the thermal paste?
 

farid

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
Valencia, Venezuela.
System Name St0rm // Dad's
Processor i5 2500K@4.2GHz // Q6600@3.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H // Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper N520 // Thermaltake TMG i1
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance // 6GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) EVGA 560 SC // EVGA GTX260 Core 216
Storage Corsair Force 120GB+1TBWDC // 1TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) ASUS VS248H-P 24" // Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout // CoolerMaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W // Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bits
#17
I just put the paste in the middle of the contact of the cooler, and with a plastic glove covered all the area of the copper contact, I think that I did it as it should be done, cuz I did the same to my PC cooler and its working great.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#18
Well, i thk what u said was u put some on the cooler and then spread it evenly on the base. I've always followed Arctic Silver's directions for applying AS5 to quads, which is put a line across the chip. like this


though i used even less paste than what is applied there probly 1-1.5cm shorter a line, and well look at my temps :). As for your temps, they are somewhat high, but i'd assume in Venezuela the ambient temp is higher than here in north eastern USA. But they are fine, q6600 is spec'd to run up to 71.2celcius, and up to 1.5v pumped into it before the warranty is voided.

How warm is the room your PC is in? and what case do you have?

and for a CPU cooler around the same price as the Freezer Pro 7, you should have gone with the Xigmatek S-964 HDT and the mounting bracket, which together is ~$32.
 

farid

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
5
Location
Valencia, Venezuela.
System Name St0rm // Dad's
Processor i5 2500K@4.2GHz // Q6600@3.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H // Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper N520 // Thermaltake TMG i1
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance // 6GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) EVGA 560 SC // EVGA GTX260 Core 216
Storage Corsair Force 120GB+1TBWDC // 1TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) ASUS VS248H-P 24" // Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master Storm Scout // CoolerMaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W // Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bits
#19
Well, i thk what u said was u put some on the cooler and then spread it evenly on the base. I've always followed Arctic Silver's directions for applying AS5 to quads, which is put a line across the chip. like this
http://www.circuitremix.com/images/124/apply_2.jpg

though i used even less paste than what is applied there probly 1-1.5cm shorter a line, and well look at my temps :). As for your temps, they are somewhat high, but i'd assume in Venezuela the ambient temp is higher than here in north eastern USA. But they are fine, q6600 is spec'd to run up to 71.2celcius, and up to 1.5v pumped into it before the warranty is voided.

How warm is the room your PC is in? and what case do you have?

and for a CPU cooler around the same price as the Freezer Pro 7, you should have gone with the Xigmatek S-964 HDT and the mounting bracket, which together is ~$32.
Wow thx for the info! Right now the temp in our country is near to 36 Centigrade. And my dad's case is an Midtower Apevia Xcruiser. I would like to OC that CPU, but with those temps I dont think that can reach more than 3.0 GHz.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#20
you'll still notice a difference at 3ghz, i do. when i got my q6600 i wanted to reach at least 3.2ghz 24/7, wanted 3.6ghz but yea got the freezer pro 7 cause i didn't know what was a good cooler then and just went with "best rating" on newegg. but with my 680i LT, voltage required for 3.2ghz is 1.34v, from 1.24v 3ghz so not worth it for me. But from 2.4ghz to 3ghz, my system boots up faster, my games get slightly better FPS(GPU limited), and my start-up apps a load much faster, as well as general systme response being better.

try to keep your voltage at stock, and just increase the FSB and see how high u can oc on stock volts, temps shouldn't increase much.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
#21
OCCT puts a pretty big load on your cores. Most software you run won't put a load like this on it so you probably won't have to worry too much about temps when you're actually using it and not just benching and testing.

Pray for some cooler weather. 36C sounds like brutal overclocking weather. :)

Here's the latest version of RealTemp with a few minor improvements:
http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/RealTempBeta.zip

In your first screen shot, RealTemp shows that Thermal Throttling was logged (LOG) on Core 0. That's not a good thing because it will slow down all cores when this happens to automatically cool off your CPU. Keep the Thermal Status area full of the word OK and as long as your computer is stable, you don't need to worry too much about core temperatures. I've run Prime Small FFTs stable before at over 95C for hours without any problems. It thanked me when I finally turned the CPU fan back on. :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#22
OCCT puts a pretty big load on your cores. Most software you run won't put a load like this on it so you probably won't have to worry too much about temps when you're actually using it and not just benching and testing.

Pray for some cooler weather. 36C sounds like brutal overclocking weather. :)

Here's the latest version of RealTemp with a few minor improvements:
http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/RealTempBeta.zip

In your first screen shot, RealTemp shows that Thermal Throttling was logged (LOG) on Core 0. That's not a good thing because it will slow down all cores when this happens to automatically cool off your CPU. Keep the Thermal Status area full of the word OK and as long as your computer is stable, you don't need to worry too much about core temperatures. I've run Prime Small FFTs stable before at over 95C for hours without any problems. It thanked me when I finally turned the CPU fan back on. :D
Crazy basterd lol i'd never run my q6600 over 80 celcius for an extended period :p.

and farid, unclewebb is the man, and his software program realtemp is the shit :). Though i still wouldn't like those idle temps at stock. They are fine, i just don't like em lol. AS5 does have a set in time thing, which i didn't believe it at first but when i reaplied my TIM for the first time in a year(my idle was like 58 :D) the temps went from 39-40 idle, to 36-38 now after some time to let the AS5 set in.