• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

[HELP] choosing the best media player for the money

wahdangun

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
1,511 (0.45/day)
Likes
114
Location
indonesia ku tercinta
System Name blacky
Processor amd 5000+ BE @ 3.0 ghz
Motherboard MSI K9NGM
Cooling artic colling frezzer 64
Memory V-GEN 1,5 GB
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 3850
Storage seagate 250gb
Display(s) compaq 7500
Case simbada sim-x (cheapo chasis)
Audio Device(s) creative x-fi extreme music
Power Supply antec earth watt series
Benchmark Scores hohoho
#1
allright guys, I'm ditching my PS3, can you help me choose the best media player that can play any video format (especially MKV) but under $100.


please guys, ;)
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#2
most blue ray players can i think?
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.20/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#3
Your computer? :confused:
 

wahdangun

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
1,511 (0.45/day)
Likes
114
Location
indonesia ku tercinta
System Name blacky
Processor amd 5000+ BE @ 3.0 ghz
Motherboard MSI K9NGM
Cooling artic colling frezzer 64
Memory V-GEN 1,5 GB
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 3850
Storage seagate 250gb
Display(s) compaq 7500
Case simbada sim-x (cheapo chasis)
Audio Device(s) creative x-fi extreme music
Power Supply antec earth watt series
Benchmark Scores hohoho
#4
most blue ray players can i think?
but, its over $100, I don't have much money right now

no, I can't use my computer, because the computer is not in my living room.

so I have no other choice except buying a new media player or using my PS3 to streaming it(but its always give my random DLNA error),
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,368 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#5
I don't quite understand how your PS3 isn't sufficient? I use mine as a media server 98% of the time as opposed to using it for gaming. As for MKV I just use mkv2vob.
Not sure why your having DLNA errors. I use TVersity for streaming but still don't have issues using regular WMP if I choose too. I stream from both my laptop(wireless) and my desktop(wired on a gigabit network) without any issue with TVersity.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#6
Why ditch the PS3, if your getting an error usually a restart of the PC or of the Media Server program fixes that. I don't think there are many other good options out there, the PS3 is awesome.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
1,302 (0.40/day)
Likes
261
System Name Hakase
Processor Core i5 6600k @ 4.5GHz 1.23V
Motherboard ASUS Z170-A
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @ 2666MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX670 Power Edition
Storage 120GB 850EVO - 2x600GB Cheetah 15k7 - 2x2TB Constellation ES - 2+3TB Green - 500GB Deskstar
Display(s) LG 19" TV
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Fostex PC100USB
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Mionix Naos 5000
Keyboard daskeyboard Ultimate S Clicky
Software Win 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores not benching anymore...
#7
take a LOOOONG HDMI cable, and plug your PC to your TV.
thats an option.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#8

wahdangun

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
1,511 (0.45/day)
Likes
114
Location
indonesia ku tercinta
System Name blacky
Processor amd 5000+ BE @ 3.0 ghz
Motherboard MSI K9NGM
Cooling artic colling frezzer 64
Memory V-GEN 1,5 GB
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 3850
Storage seagate 250gb
Display(s) compaq 7500
Case simbada sim-x (cheapo chasis)
Audio Device(s) creative x-fi extreme music
Power Supply antec earth watt series
Benchmark Scores hohoho
#9
I don't quite understand how your PS3 isn't sufficient? I use mine as a media server 98% of the time as opposed to using it for gaming. As for MKV I just use mkv2vob.
Not sure why your having DLNA errors. I use TVersity for streaming but still don't have issues using regular WMP if I choose too. I stream from both my laptop(wireless) and my desktop(wired on a gigabit network) without any issue with TVersity.
I have 1 TB of MKV video, and I event can't connect the TVersity to PS3 (its always give me DNLA error), I use PS3 media server although its sometimes give me DLNA error or data corrupted,

Why ditch the PS3, if your getting an error usually a restart of the PC or of the Media Server program fixes that. I don't think there are many other good options out there, the PS3 is awesome.
thats the part why its so frustrating, and sometimes give me data corruption

take a LOOOONG HDMI cable, and plug your PC to your TV.
thats an option.
but " a LOOOONG HDMI cable " is expensive.

btw ahok " mau meliput pameran komputer gak ?"
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#10
I have 1 TB of MKV video, and I event can't connect the TVersity to PS3 (its always give me DNLA error), I use PS3 media server although its sometimes give me DLNA error or data corrupted,



thats the part why its so frustrating, and sometimes give me data corruption



but " a LOOOONG HDMI cable " is expensive.

btw ahok " mau meliput pameran komputer gak ?"
10 meter cost like £10 on the net, dont get a gold plated or anyother fancy shit, it is all digital now and makes NO difference so the cheapest will work the best:rockout:
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#11
10 meter cost like £10 on the net, dont get a gold plated or anyother fancy shit, it is all digital now and makes NO difference so the cheapest will work the best:rockout:
yep gets my vote as well... get your self a long HDMI cable.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#12
Anything under $100 probably isn't going to be worth having.

I've used units from Galaxy and a couple other manufacturers and you always run into shit it doesn't recognize.

The best solution is get a cheap dvd player and burn what you want to watch. You can get very good conversion programs for way less than $100 and the Sothink dvd burner will even resample each recording so they will all fit on one dvd. Oh, and it's free (you just get a 5 second nag screen at the start of each title - which you can fast forward through if you are super impatient).

Even better, get a dvd player than can handle mp4, wmv, avi, etc. IIRC mkv is just a container for mp4 so you still might have to do a conversion but it should be simple.

I'm pretty sure you can get recording DVD players that will recognize all those file types for way less than $100.
 

wahdangun

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
1,511 (0.45/day)
Likes
114
Location
indonesia ku tercinta
System Name blacky
Processor amd 5000+ BE @ 3.0 ghz
Motherboard MSI K9NGM
Cooling artic colling frezzer 64
Memory V-GEN 1,5 GB
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 3850
Storage seagate 250gb
Display(s) compaq 7500
Case simbada sim-x (cheapo chasis)
Audio Device(s) creative x-fi extreme music
Power Supply antec earth watt series
Benchmark Scores hohoho
#13
10 meter cost like £10 on the net, dont get a gold plated or anyother fancy shit, it is all digital now and makes NO difference so the cheapest will work the best:rockout:
hmm, is that true, because yesterday i bought 3 meter HDMI cable for $10 and its not even have gold plated in it.

Anything under $100 probably isn't going to be worth having.

I've used units from Galaxy and a couple other manufacturers and you always run into shit it doesn't recognize.

The best solution is get a cheap dvd player and burn what you want to watch. You can get very good conversion programs for way less than $100 and the Sothink dvd burner will even resample each recording so they will all fit on one dvd. Oh, and it's free (you just get a 5 second nag screen at the start of each title - which you can fast forward through if you are super impatient).

Even better, get a dvd player than can handle mp4, wmv, avi, etc. IIRC mkv is just a container for mp4 so you still might have to do a conversion but it should be simple.

I'm pretty sure you can get recording DVD players that will recognize all those file types for way less than $100.
but if I burn it to DVD, I wont have 1080P, and I have over 90 movie in 1 TB hdd so it will be pain in the ass to convert and burn it.

so there are no under $100 media player that doesn't suck ?
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
1,302 (0.40/day)
Likes
261
System Name Hakase
Processor Core i5 6600k @ 4.5GHz 1.23V
Motherboard ASUS Z170-A
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @ 2666MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX670 Power Edition
Storage 120GB 850EVO - 2x600GB Cheetah 15k7 - 2x2TB Constellation ES - 2+3TB Green - 500GB Deskstar
Display(s) LG 19" TV
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Fostex PC100USB
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Mionix Naos 5000
Keyboard daskeyboard Ultimate S Clicky
Software Win 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores not benching anymore...
#14
"eh kapan?"
boleh"
hahaha



HDMI cable is a bit expensive here though..
so, put that aside, PS3 i think is the best job for watching 1080p movies.
or your PC
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#15
I did a search on newegg for 'media player' and here is what I found (under $100) that looks like it handles 1080p. But read carefully because sometimes they say 1080p compatible or just say 1080 (which probably means 1080i). Anything with composite cables is out obviously. I can't remember though if component cables handle 1080p or just 720p.

the last one is a Haupauge unit that will stream over ethernet. It also does wireless but double check that the wireless side can handle 1080p. Haupauge is a pretty good company so you can probably call their tech support with questions.

Masscool MP-1371RS 1080P HDMI 2.5" SATA HDD/USB/NA...
ViewSonic VMP70 1080p Digital Media Player w/2 USB...
ASUS O!Play HDP-R1 HDMI HD Media Player
Western Digital WD TV Live HD Media Player WDBAAN0...
Argosy HV335T Mobile Video HDD Media Player
Open Box: Argosy 500GB USB 2.0 TV HD Home Media Pl...
Open Box: Argosy HV335T-EN000 Mobile Video HDD Med...
Open Box: Hauppauge Media player 1016 Ethernet 100...

Edit - I'm pretty sure none of these include the hard drive you will need although for the streamers, that's not an issue.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#16
Might have to scratch the last one - couldn't find what it's max resolution is but if it only handles 802.11g I don't think it will do 1080p wireless.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#17
Yeah I say the wd tv live is going to be your best option.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#18
Here's another search - don't know why i didn't search on 'media player 1080p' the first time. There is some overlap but some new items. All are between $75 and $100. I didn't see anything under $75 that was what you are looking for.

$75 - $100,media player 1080p
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
507 (0.18/day)
Likes
203
Location
Edmonton, AB, Canada
System Name Project Neverending
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus X Hero
Cooling Corsair HX 115i
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Video Card(s) (2) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME, 2 Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 (3840X2160), 2 Samsung 2443's
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX X-Fi
Power Supply Corsair AX 860i
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19079 - Fire Strike 7497 - Time Spy Updates coming soon ®
#19
I use the original WD TV Player. It's not networkable but newer versions are.
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/index.asp?cat=30

I've got a Vantec dock connected to it via USB, and a matching dock conected with eSATA to my PC.
http://www.vantecusa.com/en/product/view_detail/414

The WD player has handled everything I've thrown at it. Only downside to my version is it's only HDMI or composite/TOSlink output. But it's got 2 USB ports so you can toss a movie of TV show on a flash drive and plug it into the player without moving cables for other storage devices.
 

wahdangun

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
1,511 (0.45/day)
Likes
114
Location
indonesia ku tercinta
System Name blacky
Processor amd 5000+ BE @ 3.0 ghz
Motherboard MSI K9NGM
Cooling artic colling frezzer 64
Memory V-GEN 1,5 GB
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 3850
Storage seagate 250gb
Display(s) compaq 7500
Case simbada sim-x (cheapo chasis)
Audio Device(s) creative x-fi extreme music
Power Supply antec earth watt series
Benchmark Scores hohoho
#20
wow, I never tough it will be that expensive, I expect it will be around $50 for non HDD one, and around $80 for including HDD.

hmm, what do you think about Argosy HV335T Mobile Video HDD Media Player ? its seems good, and can be installed HDD but is there will be a major draw back that i didn't realize(im noob about this thing) ?