• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help computer will not boot!

Victas2009

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Windows XP Professional
Processor AMD athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+2.71 GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE S-series
Memory 1 GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT
Storage 2x250GB and 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre
Case Apevia
#1
Hi everyone,
I'm not very good with computers so I'm going to see if you guys will help me or not...
My computer sometimes won't go past the motherboard screen it just stays on there and I can't even press a button to go to another screen like the BIOS or something. It has done this before like 3 times before and my brother usually just reformats it for me and it will start working fine...but now it has done it again and I'm not sure why. Sometimes after a while of the computer being off it will start working again, but when I restart it or something it doesn't want to go past that screen. Please if you guys can help I would appreciate. Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,227 (0.61/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight
Processor QX9650 @4.4GHz max OC
Motherboard DFI x48 Dark Knight
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory 8 Gb Geil Esoteria rev.2
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 2 x 500 Gb wd (ext. port), 1 x 1.500 Gb Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate (AC Ryan box)
Display(s) LG M2094D-PZ 20'' HD (1920 X 1080)
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
Benchmark Scores 18509 single 4870 - 23996 3dmark06 4870 crossfire(vista ult.64@4Ghz)/ P16213 3dmark vantage
#2
try with a different PSU! The symptoms you describe point to this being a very likely problem!

if you try this and you still have the same problem, we can go through an elimination process to find out which component is to blame for your troubles!
 

Victas2009

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Windows XP Professional
Processor AMD athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+2.71 GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE S-series
Memory 1 GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT
Storage 2x250GB and 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre
Case Apevia
#3
Any good one that you may recommened right now I have a 500w Rosewill one I believe
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Go into your bios and turn off all unnecessary things such as IDE (if you don't use it), serial ports, FDD etc. Make sure your IRQ settings are to AUTO.
 

Victas2009

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2009
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Windows XP Professional
Processor AMD athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+2.71 GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE S-series
Memory 1 GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 8600 GT
Storage 2x250GB and 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre
Case Apevia
#5
Ok I'll see if my computer won't boot up again and try that. But what are those things for?