• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help! Computer won't boot.

Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
329 (0.10/day)
Likes
88
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
Hello everyone. I've been using TPU as a hardware news angency for a couple of month's.
Never registered before :D but i browses tpu's forums everyday. Learnt a lot of stuff here, thanks!

At the moment, my computer won't boot at all
after switching power on, monitor keeps blank and never shows a thing. debug light jumpped twice and always stops at "54". After a few seconds, my cpu cooler will become a lot louder.

I've been tweaking here and there for more than 2 hours yesterday. I'll list everything i did last 2 days below.

Here is the story:
I recently changed my Q9450's stock cooler to a Zalman 9700NT.
with this new cooler i were able to push the vcore a little bit higher from 1.25 to 1.45, and it were stable @ 3.5ghz.

I wasn't happy with the results coz @1.25 it would give me a stable 3.4ghz already, so i did a little bit reserch on google and here.

After seen WileE's posts talking about 45nm chips degrades pass 1.4v, i was terrified. changed every voltage back to stock for around 2 hours. then started tweak again.

Voltages were set to:
Vcore 1.4250 (CPUZ showing 1.37~1.38 load 1.35)
FSB 1.3 SPP 1.4~1.45 MCP 1.525 HT link 1.30~1.35
rest were all at auto or stock setting.

I couldn't make anything above 3.5 stable. Then i did a little bit reserch on google, heard about changing GTL reference would give you a OC boost. then i tried it. changed everyGTL lane to 55mvolt, i was able to boot to OS @ 3.6ghz!!

no matter what voltage i put in from 1.4~1.45 (Cpuz 1.35~1.4) i could never make prime95 stable more than 20 mins. at this stage, everytime i press the reset button, It won't boot, I'll have to power off my computer then power back on in order to make it work. It even freezed once in BIOS- -..

then after a couple of tries it no longer boots even i powered off. It was 1a.m. in the morning. So i decied go to bed first then see my luck tomorrow. and i wake up today...
T__T no luck at all.

things i've tried: remove the ram's and the video cards into different slots, take the battery on MB off then put it back in, and pressed the clear cmos button when its powered on.
won't give me any changes.

my HT link were setted at 300x5 and it was 250x5 before i changed the cooler.
I also removed the fan on northbridge an putted an antec spotcool there coz it was way too loud.

Sorry about my bad english and this super long "asking help" post, thanks for reading this

and..thanks in advance!

edit: just found in my MB's manul , debug light number 54 is reserved and number 55 is :Detect CPU speed and display CPU vendor specific
version string and turn on all necessary CPU features. I'm really scared now seeing this.. T____T my cpu might dead
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#2
Try taking your battery out for a longer time and reseting your CMOS when powered off.

You didnt say how hot your CPU got. A quad at >1.4V is a lot of work for an air cooling set up.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
329 (0.10/day)
Likes
88
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
will try that tomorrow, thanks for the reply!
the temp was around 37C idle 45 load, 50~ish in prime95 heat test when set voltage to 1.38
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#4
Your CPU is probably ok. Saying that, if you still can not get your rig to boot, try another cpu and if that works, reset CMOS again and try the first processor again.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
329 (0.10/day)
Likes
88
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#5
take out battery for longer time didn't work : (
I don't have another CPU to try
If it's not the CPU, would it be my PSU? if PSU having problem, will it be like my this?
(no display at all always blank)
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#6
I am running out of ideas.

Try any/all of the following

1. Check all your power cables, make sure they are securely plugged in.
2. Try booting with only 1 RAM
3. try booting with only 1 Vid card
4. unplug all uneccessary USB devices

If we cant get the rig to start, at some stage you will have to find someone near you and try swapping CPU's to determine if you have a bad CPU, BIOS, Mobo or whatever. Unfortunately it's hard to say what the problem is yet.

Regarding removal of the northbridge fan - I have a different board but used to have an Antec spot fan blowing on it. When I swapped this for a 40mm fan connected to the NB heatsink, my temps dropped 8C. If we get your rig going again, you should check that the fan swap has not made the northbridge hotter.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderatorâ„¢
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#7
Do you have a spare video card which you know for sure works? Try and check if it boots up with it. I had a pc recently which didn't want to boot unless I changed video card, same symptoms, no boot, no beeps (old MX400 card!).

Did you lock the pci-e frequency to 100 in the bios before you overclocked?
You can damage the graphics cards themselves (or is it the motherboard slot?)... if you didn't lock it...
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
329 (0.10/day)
Likes
88
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#8
My pci E slots are 2.0 version. won't let me to adjust frequency.tried with different cards no luck : (
thanks black panther and bundyrum&coke for the ideas.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#9
I have run out of ideas besides

1. try reseating the CPU
2. try resetting the CMOS again but hold the button on for at least 30 seconds
3. put your location in your TPU profile, maybe there is a TPU member nearby who has a CPU you can try?

I still do not think you did enough "bad" things to kill your CPU, thus making me think the CMOS has not properly reset or the NB has gotten too hot.

Lots of people have viewed this thread, I'm surprised nobody has solved this prob yet. We will - TPU will not be defeated:)
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
329 (0.10/day)
Likes
88
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#10
I sent my rig to fix. and the tech there told me the BIOS was corrupt. Simply remove the battery or clear cmos won't help.He used a special techniq fixed it, but he won't tell me what he did. (I doubt what he said tho.)

Anyway thanks for the help!

@bundyrum&coke
my SPP temp with original fan was around 25~30C
After I switched to spotcool the sensor no longer working even i put the oringinal fan back on(always shows 124c~127c/255F and sometimes shows ---/--- in BIOS which is impossible imo)

but with spotcool i can hardly feel any heat on the SPP heat sink. with oringinal fan on 100% the heat sink is more than warm.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
Location
VA
System Name 2010 System / 2008 System / 2007 System / 2006 System
Processor Intel i7 930 / Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / Intel 6700 Core Duo / Athlon 64 X2 4400+
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme / Asus Rampage Formula / Asus Striker Extreme / Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H50 Water / ZALMAN CNPS9700 / Thermaltake Big Typhoon / Asus Silent Knight II
Memory G.Skill Trident 6GB DDR3 2000/ G.SKILL 4GB 1066 (PC2 8500) / 2GB Patriot (PC 9600) / 2 GB RAM PC3200
Video Card(s) Tri-SLI EVGA 280GTX (3) / BFG 8800 GTX / (2) BFG 7900 GTX - SLI
Storage 1TB SATA Caviar Black, 2 x 1.5 TB SATA, 1TB NAS (RAID 0) / 500 GB SATA
Display(s) ViewSonic 26" LCD X Series VX2640w / Samsung 22" LCD / Samsung 22" LCD
Case Thermaltake Armor (Full Tower) / TT Sonata Mid Tower / Mid Tower
Audio Device(s) Rampage SupremeFX II 8-CH Audio / Asus on-board sound
Power Supply BFG EX-1000 PS / Thermaltake Tough Power 750W / Seasonic S12 650W / Antec Trio 650W
Software Windows 7 (32 bit), XP Home, Stardock/Wincustomize, etc.
#11
Concerning the NB cooling, I had a NB fan die on my Asus A8N-SLI motherboard and at first I tried the Antec Spotcool, but it was difficult to keep cool and variations in the case temps raised the NB. I found a 40MM Cooler Master Blue Ice fan and heat sink at a local computer show (for $7) that dropped the NB temps by 10-15C.