• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help!EVGA GTX460 768MB SuperClocked ruined my weekend :((

K.Lin

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have to confess that I am not a pro at picking the right graphics card, so I bought EVGA GTX460 768MB SuperClocked just because of its over-the-top brand name. So I’ve heard that EVGA is number one in the States, is it really that good? This card was definitely not cheap at all, especially compared to other leading brands, but I didn’t give a shit if it was pricey, I want a good solid graphics card.

BUT!! IT IS NOT WORTH A GODDAMN PENNY!!!!:shadedshu

All I could see was the "Welcome" message on the blue screen with Windows 7's logo. And it just stuck there FOREVER!!!!! I couldn’t even get on Windows 7. It was alright after I changed it back to my good old 9600GT. I tried several times to solve this problem. Windows 7 safe mode worked alright with EVGA GTX460, well, it looks like it worked fine without driver… So I tried going to Win7 with 9600GT and removed the driver. Then, I could finally get on Win7 with my EVGA GTX460. So I installed the new driver. And then… WT*!!! It was stuck at the same f**king place again!:mad:

S**t…………… Did I waste my ENTIRE WEEKEND just to get on Windows 7?? !! I am such a retard for getting stuff without checking online first! Can anyone PLEASE tell me how to solve this freeeeeeeaking problem? Or should I just return this card and get a new one instead? Any graphics card recommendations? This piece of junk totally ruined my plans… :mad:
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
969 (0.32/day)
Likes
173
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / BW-16D1H-U PRO blu-ray
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, Dali Zensor 7´s, Dali Zensor Vokal, Dali Zensor 1´s, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#2
Hy K.Lin and welcome to TPU.
First fill in your system info, so that we know what parts we are dealing with. Than we can help you.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#3
WOW! Welcome to TPU! We kinda frown on the extent of foul language that you have used in your post but we will help u. As heky said fill in your system specs in userCP and please cut the lang to a minimum plz :)
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,829 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,116
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#4
If the 9600 gets you into windows but the 460 does not, it can only be a knackered 460 IMO, I would RMA the card and try again. EVGA are a good brand, personally I don't think they are the best but we all have different experiences, I like Asus personally, if you bought the card from a shop then they might give you your money back, if you bought on line they are just likely to replace the card.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
Maybe a issue with the PSU not being enough to support the card. When he posts his system specs in userCP we can judge is his PSU is strong enough
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
969 (0.32/day)
Likes
173
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / BW-16D1H-U PRO blu-ray
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, Dali Zensor 7´s, Dali Zensor Vokal, Dali Zensor 1´s, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#6
+1 on probably being the PSU.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,598 (1.61/day)
Likes
921
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#7
It can very likely be the 9600 drivers. With the 400 series Nvidia made some major changes.

Plug the 9600 back in (it will already be I think).
Uninstall the Nvidia graphic driver you have in Control Panel, Installed Programms.
Also use a Driver Cleaner!!

Power off. Exchange video cards, and boot. Install the latest www.nvidia.com drivers for your card.

I really don't think a PSU on the low side will not let him BOOT. Unless the PSU is already broken.
 

K.Lin

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Sorry for being rude this way. I am just pissed off after so much effort taking. My friend told me that I may find solution here, so I registered today. Thanks for you guys’ warm welcome.

Here comes my system configuration. Is it really PSU problem?

CPU: Intel Core i7 950
MB: ASUS P6TD Deluxe
Memory: Patriot DDR3-1333, 2GB×3
HDD: Seagate ST3320418AS, 320GB
PSU: ENERMAX EMG700AWT, 700W
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
Driver: nVIDIA ForceWare v258.96
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#9
Well his PSU def is powerful enough. have u tried installing the 9600GT then uninstall ALL Nvidia software, then use driver sweeper in safe mode to clean out all files, then install the 460 and the new drivers?
 

K.Lin

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
I did uninstall NV and ATI drivers in safe mode, though I didn't use the driver sweeper.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,829 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,116
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#11
If your only getting to the welcome screen it is unlikely that Windows has loaded/tried to load drivers at that point...... I might be wrong there but I think that driver loading comes at the back end of the process, have you gone into Windows in safe mode yet? if you can get in using safe mode it pretty much confirms it's a software/driver error.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.46/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#12
If your only getting to the welcome screen it is unlikely that Windows has loaded/tried to load drivers at that point...... I might be wrong there but I think that driver loading comes at the back end of the process, have you gone into Windows in safe mode yet? if you can get in using safe mode it pretty much confirms it's a software/driver error.
Yeah, he said it works in safe mode m8. I agree with you, sounds like driver/software problems.

PS: TS, before shelling out any £££ or $$$ on an expensive bit of PC hardware, always check on forums like this first.....you will be surprised how much cash and heartache you will save ;)
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,829 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,116
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#13
In that case, go thru the process again of booting without drivers, then install drivers but perhaps check GPU-Z and MSI afterburner to see if anything looks odd.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.46/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#14
I take it he's got 2x 6 pin power cables plugged into it? Thats not me taking the p!ss either. Sometimes the most simplest of things are overlooked :D

If all else fails, back up everything you need and do a fresh install of Win 7 :)

OT: TS, shouldnt you really be running Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit, since your using 6GB of RAM?
 
Last edited:

K.Lin

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
Thanks for the suggestion.
I tried but after installing the driver, before GPU-Z can work, windows needs to be rebooted.
Yet there is no any chance to get into windows again under normal mode...
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.46/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#16
Thanks for the suggestion.
I tried but after installing the driver, before GPU-Z can work, windows needs to be rebooted.
Yet there is no any chance to get into windows again under normal mode...
I know its a pain, but have you thought about a reinstall of Windows? I would also suggest Win 7 64bit so you can actually use your 6GB of RAM ;)
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,598 (1.61/day)
Likes
921
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#17
Windows 7, be it Ultimate, Pro, Home, whatever.... is completely *irrelevant*, bragging rights for the Ultimate users apart, of course.

In the hardware area it only matters if it is 32 or 64 bit!

And reinstalling the OS is a crazy option, since Vista extremely rare to need such a step.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
270 (0.09/day)
Likes
353
Location
Andalucia/UK Born
System Name Office/Gamer Mark II
Processor i7 4770K @ 4.3Ghz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Raijintek Aidos, MX-4
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical BLT2K8G3D1608ET3LX0
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 120Gb,SAMSUNG HD502HJ
Display(s) LG W2261VP @ 1920 * 1080
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (On Board)
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
#18
Just one more suggestion, if you have mates who will let you try your card in there system (just to see if it does the same thing) thats alot less hassle than a complete reinstall.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,503 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,037
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#19
I would try with an OLDER Nvidia driver, just go back a few and then try again, i have seen a few times that the new drivers can have issues when loading windows. Give that a try :)

My m8 has a GTX 295 and it just hates the 258 drivers from Nvidia, went back to umm 197.XX and it works fine.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.46/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#20
Windows 7, be it Ultimate, Pro, Home, whatever.... is completely *irrelevant*, bragging rights for the Ultimate users apart, of course.

In the hardware area it only matters if it is 32 or 64 bit!

And reinstalling the OS is a crazy option, since Vista extremely rare to need such a step.
he is currently on Win 7 Ultimate 32Bit (god knows why your talking about Vista!?!?). I was suggesting he steps up to Win 7 Ultimate 64Bit (because he has Ultimate edition already) so he can make use of all 6GB of his RAM, not just 4GB.

If he cant test the new card in another system, to see if the card is defective, what other option does he have? (if he has tried everything else). Sometimes, a fresh install of Windows is needed. if he doesnt have a lot of data/programs to backup, I dont see the problem.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,598 (1.61/day)
Likes
921
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#21
i just used your post to say it. sorry :)
I see too many people informing us of their speaker brand, windows 7 sub-version (and sometimes not if it is 32 or 64 bit, haha) and mousemat size when tallking about solving problems :)
 

K.Lin

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#22
OK. I spent a WHOLE day reinstall my Win7, but it did not turned out well....
I tried it on my friend's PC (his OS is Win7), but it stuck at welcome page as well. :(((

Then I found it's not only a single issue, cus someone bought EVGA's GTX 460 on Newegg got the same problem

Quote:
"Cons: 1. Defective card. The card will seem to work ok. But you get random lock up of computer, at welcome screen, games, etc.
2. Noisy at fan over %55-60"

Damn, it seems to be EVGA's problem instead of others. All I could do now is sending back to RMA.

Thank you all!!
 
Last edited:

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.46/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#23
i just used your post to say it. sorry :)
I see too many people informing us of their speaker brand, windows 7 sub-version (and sometimes not if it is 32 or 64 bit, haha) and mousemat size when tallking about solving problems :)
No problem dude :D

OK. I spent a WHOLE day reinstall my Win7, but it did not turned out well....
I tried it on my friend's PC (his OS is Win7), but it stuck at welcome page as well. :(((

Then I found it's not only a single issue, cus someone bought EVGA's GTX 460 on Newegg got the same problem

Quote:
"Cons: 1. Defective card. The card will seem to work ok. But you get random lock up of computer, at welcome screen, games, etc.
2. Noisy at fan over %55-60"

Damn, it seems to be EVGA's problem instead of others. All I could do now is sending back to RMA.

Thank you all!!
Well at least you tried everything possible and can tell them this information when RMAing it :( if I was you, I would ask for a refund and purchase a cheaper version of that card ;)