• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help fixing fake 7670 4GB from ebay back to 1GB

Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
62 (0.69/day)
System Name HAL
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard ASRock B450 Pro4
Cooling AORUS Liquid 240
Memory 32GB Teamgroup 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 GTX
I have one of the "4GB Radeon 7670" cards sold on ebay. Obviously , these cards are fake, as there was never a 4GB model of this card. The card works in some apps, right up until one expects it to actually have the 4gb it reports.

I've determined the one I have to be a 7670M chip, as most others are. The RAM on it seems different, but if my math is correct, is still 1GB total. It has 4x SK Hynix H5GQ2H24AFR-T2C chips on it.

I have access to dos atiflash currently, and have a chip programmer on the way I hope will help me fix this card and a 1050ti/550ti I have. The fake 1050ti has several corrected bios files here, but I haven't found a corrected one for this 7670M.

The bios file is attached. Can any of the gurus here edit it to report 1GB, or point me to the relevant bits in a hex editor so I can do it myself? Thanks in advance for any assistance.

The bios has been uploaded here.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,827 (4.15/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Can we get a picture of the card with the cooler removed??
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
3,052 (3.25/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
With these fakes you usually need to remove the cooler and clean the goop off the die so that you can read the die markings.

Knowing which silicon narrows it down to a handful of cards, and then the type and number of VRAM packages gets you even closer. At that point you have a shortlist of BIOSes to try and if you're lucky there's one with the right display outputs that will work with your fake card.

With Nvidia it's easy - it's 99.9% of the time a GTS450.
With AMD it could be one of many things, so pictures of the board, where the experts here (I'm not one of them) can read the GPU die markings and the labels on the VRAM packages really are required.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
62 (0.69/day)
System Name HAL
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard ASRock B450 Pro4
Cooling AORUS Liquid 240
Memory 32GB Teamgroup 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 GTX
I'm somewhat puzzled by the responses here of "take pictures" and "remove the cooler to see die markings". I did that already, and had hoped including the relevant information in the OP would save some time.

Unlike the nvidia cards, where it's truly a rebrand of another card, these cards seem to be custom made. They've taken a mobility chip and put it on a pcie card. I suspect trying to fix the existing bios would be easier than finding one that matches, because from what I can tell, there isn't anything that matches this.

It's a Radeon 7670M chip (p/n amd 216-0833000) with 4x SK Hynix H5GQ2H24AFR-T2C VRAM chips.

Think I may have found why this doesn't match up with any actual 7670 boards...

Maybe this is really a firepro v4900?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,537 (0.73/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i7 10750h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2070 super
Storage Seagate 2tb Firecuba 510 m.2, XPG SPECTRIX S40G 4tb m.2, Samsung 870 8tb ssd
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 230w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
If you know what the card is, what help do you need.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
62 (0.69/day)
System Name HAL
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard ASRock B450 Pro4
Cooling AORUS Liquid 240
Memory 32GB Teamgroup 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 GTX
Copy and pasted from the OP, "The bios file is attached. Can any of the gurus here edit it to report 1GB, or point me to the relevant bits in a hex editor so I can do it myself? Thanks in advance for any assistance."

I know what the chips are. The card itself appears to be something that never existed in a retail format. So, as originally asked, need help editing the bios to report 1gb.

Seems like this may not be the place to look for assistance after all. No one actually read the post before replying. :/
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
3,052 (3.25/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
I'm somewhat puzzled by the responses here of "take pictures" and "remove the cooler to see die markings". I did that already, and had hoped including the relevant information in the OP would save some time.

Unlike the nvidia cards, where it's truly a rebrand of another card, these cards seem to be custom made. They've taken a mobility chip and put it on a pcie card. I suspect trying to fix the existing bios would be easier than finding one that matches, because from what I can tell, there isn't anything that matches this.

It's a Radeon 7670M chip (p/n amd 216-0833000) with 4x SK Hynix H5GQ2H24AFR-T2C VRAM chips.

Think I may have found why this doesn't match up with any actual 7670 boards...

Maybe this is really a firepro v4900?
You said the RAM on it seems different, so it's not a 7670M - and that's exactly why @FreedomEclipse and I asked for more info.

7670M refers to the combination of die, disabled units within that die, and VRAM type/speed/quantity. There will be multiple options of 7670M BIOS for various clock/power/RAM configurations but even if you match all of those things you have to get a BIOS that (partially) matches the display outputs you have on your card too. That's why the experienced people here will want to know the markings around the die and the VRAM so that they can look up the exact RAM type/speed/quantity.

I don't think the fake BIOS is much use as that will basically cause a bluescreen when the driver tries to use VRAM that isn't physically present on the fake card. Some people here may be willing to edit your BIOS but until that happens you might as well try existing BIOSes instead. I'm not a BIOS editor but it's not a trivial task, and I think it's doubly difficult if you don't have the card in hand. Blind edits can go back and forth several times before arriving at a set of edits that works properly.

Could be; It matches the die config and RAM type/quant/speed you posted. If you can find a BIOS that matches the video outputs of your fake then try it.
You've already made a backup of the original BIOS so at this point you've got nothing to lose, assuming you have a second card or IGP to fall back on and let you restore a working BIOS to the card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,537 (0.73/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i7 10750h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2070 super
Storage Seagate 2tb Firecuba 510 m.2, XPG SPECTRIX S40G 4tb m.2, Samsung 870 8tb ssd
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 230w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
Copy and pasted from the OP, "The bios file is attached. Can any of the gurus here edit it to report 1GB, or point me to the relevant bits in a hex editor so I can do it myself? Thanks in advance for any assistance."

I know what the chips are. The card itself appears to be something that never existed in a retail format. So, as originally asked, need help editing the bios to report 1gb.

Seems like this may not be the place to look for assistance after all. No one actually read the post before replying. :/
The issue is that this card is a mobile version and its at least 10yrs old and very few people know how to edit these types of files.
And a little patience really helps.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
62 (0.69/day)
System Name HAL
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard ASRock B450 Pro4
Cooling AORUS Liquid 240
Memory 32GB Teamgroup 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 GTX
Ok, so for anyone else who comes across this looking for a fix...

I bought a $8 CH341A bios programmer to test this thing.
The card is a custom card. There is no direct equivalent for it.
The BIOS they used for it is a dump of a VTX3D HD6570 , which was a GDDR3 card. They added SKHynix GDDR5 memory registers. Flashing the original BIOS doesn't work.

OK so I've used a hex editor a couple times before.. I can fix this.

Compare all the bits that have changed. Easier to edit the amount of RAM in their existing BIOS than to add memory support for the original.

Trial and error time. Get it right on the second flash. Reports 1GB to windows. Time to have a beer and run Furmark for a few hours.

Here's the fixed BIOS I created.

Note: My VGA & HDMI ports work, but my DVI doesn't. It didn't before I messed with, either. Possibly a bad port on mine, or possibly DVI just doesn't work on these things. I don't care enough to really fool with it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,163 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Use it as a spare test gpu...
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
62 (0.69/day)
System Name HAL
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard ASRock B450 Pro4
Cooling AORUS Liquid 240
Memory 32GB Teamgroup 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 GTX
I've attached a few pictures here for anyone that comes across this thread later. Pics of the card, the type of ram on it, and GPU-Z showing it now being reported correctly.
 

Attachments

  • gpuz.png
    gpuz.png
    38.3 KB · Views: 38
  • s-l1600 (1).jpg
    s-l1600 (1).jpg
    148.5 KB · Views: 33
  • s-l1600.jpg
    s-l1600.jpg
    310.7 KB · Views: 35
  • thumbnail.png
    thumbnail.png
    2 MB · Views: 37

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,163 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Looks like a GA hsf

How many ram chips are on the card front to back?

I've attached a few pictures here for anyone that comes across this thread later. Pics of the card, the type of ram on it, and GPU-Z showing it now being reported correctly.

That card is reminiscent of this


 
Top