• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HELP - HIS 6950 2GB bios needed!

samcuh

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
I didn't make a backup of my bios prior to flashing :/ I've tried all of the HIS bios's in the download section and none have worked. When I originally flashed it, everything went smoothly and it gave me the success message and told me to reboot. When I rebooted I got nothing but a black screen. I threw in an old 7950GT and booted with that as my primary card to try and flash some stock bios back onto the 6950 but none have worked. When I use atiwinflash via cmd prompt with unlockrom and force flash I'm not getting any errors but I don't get the "completed" screen that tells me to reboot. When I use atiwinflash in GUI mode it gives me an error saying "subsystemIDs mismatch".

It's important to note that I just bought this card last week. After researching a bit I found that the newer cards don't support shader unlocking at all so I guess mine falls into that category. The model I have is H695FN2G2M which can be seen here: HIS H695FN2G2M Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PC...

I'm hoping someone on these forums has this exact card and can upload their bios. If anyone has any other ideas please post them. Thanks
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#2
I hate to say it but "you should have backed up your BIOS". It takes seconds and can save you from all this grief.

I think that the 6950 unlocking is coming to an end basically. People are way too hyped on flashing their cards BIOS.

You might want to try looking at the big collection of BIOS's here on the TPU website. Although yours is definitely one of the brand new models, so I don't know if the site will have that BIOS yet. Good luck man, and remember - ALWAYS MAKE BACK UPS.
 

samcuh

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#3
I learned my lesson. All the bios's on in the TPU database are pretty old (dec, jan) and I've tried all the HIS ones without success.

I'm willing to try almost anything at this point and if the manufacturer doesn't respond and I'm not able to get a working one from somebody I'm just going to buy another card and copy its bios lol.

If anyone has a newer 6950 of ANY brand (or know anyone who does) could you please upload the bios?
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#4
Where did you buy the card? I would just exchange it for a new one, or a real 6970. The real 6970's have a ton of OC potential guaranteed.
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.16/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
Hi,

Perhaps try to flash the card and force the "flashtype" parameter (at your own risk, especially when you don't have the backup of the original bios anymore, so it may not work with the bioses from older revision videocards):

From the picture you posted earlier you can see that the flashtype is M25P10/c and that's STMicroelectronics. Perhaps try:

atiflash -st -f -p 0 bios.rom


or if atiflash didn't work out, then try out Flashrom:

Flashrom -p -st 0 bios.rom -f


If it still doesn't work, then the only solution would be rma, otherwise you need to buy a new videocard.


Good luck!
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
742 (0.21/day)
Likes
134
Location
Auckland
System Name PBD
Processor Core i5 760 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Gene
Cooling Corsair H-50-1
Memory 4 x 4096mb G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 Cas7
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 670 DirectCU TOP
Storage Crucial 256GB SSD (system) + 2x Samsung F3 1TB (storage) + 2x 2TB Raid-1 NAS (backup)
Display(s) Dell SP2309w 23" 2048x1152
Case Antec Max Fusion Remote
Power Supply Corsair AX750W
Software Win 7 Pro x64
#7
No bios switch on these new models?
 

c0re

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
And I failed hard with exact same video card.
But I made backup of bios before flashing with new one.
I also was not able to flash back, just nothing happens.
BUT! Successfully flashed back with new version of atiwinflash.
I've attached original HIS 6950 H695FN2G2M BIOS.

In short instructions:
1) turn off pc
1) install working video card to 1st PCI-E slot and install failed 6950 to 2nd PCI-E
3) turn on pc
4) run cmd with administrator privileges
5) use new atiwinflash to identify which adapter number of your card (atiwinflash -i). Mine was 0 in 2nd PCI-E. May be because 1st was geforce.
6) run "atiwinflash -unlockrom 0". I do not know is it needed, but I did it.
7) run "atiwinflash -f -p 0 bios.rom" (bios.rom attached in zip file to this message). It says that it flashed successfully.
8) turn off pc, and reincert to 1st PCI-E slot your 6950.
9) PROFIT!!! :) it works again!
 

Attachments

Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#9
Hi

Welcome to TPU

well necroed thread from 2011

And I failed hard with exact same video card.
But I made backup of bios before flashing with new one.
:) it works again!
*congrats for making a backup
:toast: and good to see your up and running

Note: better to recover at a DOS prompt; to many variables in windows environment for this process to go wrong

atb

Law-II