• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[help] How to lower voltage on Ryzen + MSI motherboard?

Processor Reasonably good Intel CPU
Motherboard Eh, the cheapest ATX that supports the processor
Cooling Big ass Noctua always a good thing to have
Memory Cheapest 32GB kit for my needs
Video Card(s) Nvidia 3070
Storage NVME 2x, SSD 2x, HDD 1x
Display(s) Dual monitor 1080p for life!
Case NZXT Flow
Audio Device(s) ALC something-something
Power Supply Good ol' Corsair
Mouse Good ol' Corsair
Keyboard Cheap Logitech wireless keyboard
Software Windows 11 Pro
I'm very new to AMD overclock, well actually my last overclock was Celeron 366... So I'm really in the dark with Ryzen overclock.

I wanted to peg the processor at 4.1GHz all cores, however I have a peeve about power usage. I use power saving mode daily, with about 60 watt of power on browsing and office work. Blindly overclocking to 4.1GHz with just changing multiplier and setting CPUv to 1.35v my PC now uses about 70 watt of power doing the same thing.

I noticed the system doesn't lower its voltage on power saving mode and checking on MSI board forum it's a quirk of the BIOS that the CPUv is fixed like that, so I cancel my overclocking effort. However a couple months back MSI updated the BIOS with something called offset which I assume allows for lowering voltage when not needed. I tried overclocking again and tinker with the offset options to no avail.

Anyone knows how to overclock Ryzen on MSI motherboards and have it lower its CPUv on idle/low power usage?

Processor Ryzen 5900X
Motherboard ASUS Prime X470 Pro
Cooling Arctic liquid freezer II 240
Memory 2 x 16 Gb Gskill Trident Z 3600 Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus 3060 Ti OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500 Gb / 860 EVO 1 Tb
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF
Case Lian Li Lancool II Mesh
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win 11