• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help! Installing crossfireX!

Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
830 (0.23/day)
Likes
62
Location
Chicago
System Name Smilk
Benchmark Scores Infinite....
#1
I got my 4850 1gb in today. So I already had 2 4870 1gbs. I followed these instructions for crossfireX and got a blue screen of death and windows is now disabling my 4850 telling me to install the appropriate driver for it. Ati is telling me theirs no ati drivers installed for it

1.Uninstalled all ati software from windows uninstall
2.Rebooted
3.Ran Cnet cleaner to remove all registry stuff etc
4.Shut down
5.Removed 1 of my 4870's (1 4870 graphics card only installed)
6.Booted
7.Windows installed a standard vga driver etc
8.Shut down
9.Installed the other 4870
10.Booted
11.Windows installed the device (4870)
12.Rebooted
13.Shut down
14.Installed the 4850, installed the 2 bridge cables
15.Booted
16.Windows installed the 4850 device
17.Rebooted
18.Installed 9.2 Catalyst package
19.Rebooted
20.Blue screen of death :(
And heres where I am now. Help guys :respect:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,189 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
tweakguides Driver Guide, also i recommend you grab the DX9C redist from Nov 2008 and get DX updated, Recommended Drivers are Catalyst 8.10-8.12
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
830 (0.23/day)
Likes
62
Location
Chicago
System Name Smilk
Benchmark Scores Infinite....
#4
Im going to try the 8.12 drivers, but that guide doesnt tell you how to install 3 graphics cards and configure them correctly.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
830 (0.23/day)
Likes
62
Location
Chicago
System Name Smilk
Benchmark Scores Infinite....
#5
I tried the 8.12 drivers and it still blue screens. When I enable the 2 4870's it works, but when i enable the 4850 then restart the pc it blue screens. I have to remove the 4850 for it to boot now. This isnt working as easy as I thought it would be, any tips? :(
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.65/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#6
You have to install the drivers before you put the bridge on the third card. And make sure it doesn't install the generic drivers!!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#8
Using an AMD chipset I was able to Tri-Fire using the drivers only and not using CCC. The standalone drivers are available under the full catalyst drivers on AMD's page.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
830 (0.23/day)
Likes
62
Location
Chicago
System Name Smilk
Benchmark Scores Infinite....
#9
Hm so it seems I tried every possible install configuration with these 3 video cards. The 3rd slot is giving me the issue. I tried installing each driver seperatly to, but once I installed the driver in the first card, it went to all 3 somehow and when it restarted I got the bsod. The 3rd slot wont give me a bsod when the card is in, but it will only if the display drivers from ati are installed. It still works perfectly with 2 cards in crossfire in the 2 x16 slots. I tried 8.10-8.12 and even 9.2 drivers and installed CCC seperatly. I looked in my manual and on their website and biostar specificly says this 3rd port is a 4x pcie and some video adapters "may not work with it". Im leading towards this because I am using the 4850 right now flawlesly by itself in one of my 16x slots. Ill give it a bit more to see if anyone else has any ideas im not aware of because I have never done this before, but I might be stuck with 2 cards with this board(which isnt bad). Im a little disapointed, but atleast the card isnt faulty.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.80/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#10
domy this is weird, although i am running 2 cards and not 3, I just got my 2nd 4870 today, put it on, plugged up the 6 pin connectors, bridged them, booted into windows and started to bench. Thats it. Good luck and hope you get it resolved soon bro :toast:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,189 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,745 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,009
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#13
OK, try this, as strange as it sounds, it looks like your process is good, I had a similar problem with 2 cards, when you get BSOD, re-boot in safe mode, go to Control panel > system maintenance > Administrative tools > services

Then find "ATi external events utility" then right click and disable it, save then re-boot in normal mode.

Other than that, yes, check if the card will work in a x4 slot, although it certainly should, most P35 chipset boards have their 2nd slot at x4.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,189 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
could be a Driver Issue on the AMD Chipset trying to force the Card to run at maximum speed, if it doesnt detect its running on a PCI 16 bus it probably has a quirk in the driver somewhere.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
830 (0.23/day)
Likes
62
Location
Chicago
System Name Smilk
Benchmark Scores Infinite....
#15
Well, I removed/installed the ati drivers and CCC so many times with it giving me multiple bsod windows cannot install vgapnp.sys drivers anymore. It keeps failing. I booted into safemode and unhide nonused devices under device manager and deleted the 2 4870's showing that wernt installed. That didnt work. I reformated at like 2am as a last resort AND it still fails to install the vga adapter driver lol because it can detect a previous instance of this. I am running a 3 pass kill disk erase tool on the drive right now.... hoping when i reinstall windows it cant find anything previous info, im not sure if I want to try this again after going through this heh. I would try your idea Tatty_One, but im afraid to lol. Im beginning to believe eidairaman1 with the drivers not being compatible with 4x. Im going to search on this problem if its compatible with 4x or not. :toast: :respect:
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,745 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,009
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#16
Well, I removed/installed the ati drivers and CCC so many times with it giving me multiple bsod windows cannot install vgapnp.sys drivers anymore. It keeps failing. I booted into safemode and unhide nonused devices under device manager and deleted the 2 4870's showing that wernt installed. That didnt work. I reformated at like 2am as a last resort AND it still fails to install the vga adapter driver lol because it can detect a previous instance of this. I am running a 3 pass kill disk erase tool on the drive right now.... hoping when i reinstall windows it cant find anything previous info, im not sure if I want to try this again after going through this heh. I would try your idea Tatty_One, but im afraid to lol. Im beginning to believe eidairaman1 with the drivers not being compatible with 4x. Im going to search on this problem if its compatible with 4x or not. :toast: :respect:
Lol why afraid, you cannot do any harm and you can enable it again afterwards easily. I cannot beleive its a 4x driver issue, as i said, there are many boards out there where the 2nd PCI-E slot is 4x so that cannot be it IMO.
 

merkk

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
183 (0.05/day)
Likes
52
System Name AMD Dragon
Processor Phenom II 940 (24/7 3.6 ghz.)
Motherboard Jetway HAO7-Ultra
Cooling Aquagate Max cooler master
Memory Patriot PC2-8500EL 1066 5-5-5-15 4 Gigs (2x2gigs)
Video Card(s) Two XFX 4850 (1G) running in crossfire
Storage 2 WD 80Gigs SATA-2 running in raid-0
Display(s) 19" Hanns-g LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply PC POWER & COOOLING 750w silencer crossfire edition
Software Vista-32
Benchmark Scores 3DMARK-06 20784
#17
Well my old AMD rig i ran 3 3850s on a DFI landparty dk m2rs mother board and the PCIe slots were 16x16x4x and crossfire ran trouble free on it but than it was a all AMD rig .
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#18
Check BIOS settings as well, i know with my MOBO you need to press CTRL+F1 , that brings the hidden options to view. in there is where you can set the speeds for graphics cards. may be alredy there in your bois not sure about your mobo.
The setings i would check are PCI Gen 2 speed mode etc etc...
Also, type the BSOD code into google, it will help.
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#19
I dunno why people bother with all these cleaners to remove unnecessary files of the GPU in safe mode... etc.

I just uninstall then bang in a second card then re install drivers or whatever. I never bother with all these cleaners crap. Too much hassle.
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#20
I dunno why people bother with all these cleaners to remove unnecessary files of the GPU in safe mode... etc.

I just uninstall then bang in a second card then re install drivers or whatever. I never bother with all these cleaners crap. Too much hassle.
Sadley its not always that simple. in some cases simply uninstalling still leaves crap in the registry.
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#21
Not necessary really.
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#22
right you can do it manually. or run a simple program that will do it for you. simply uninstalling Dose Not Work all the time, especialy when dealing with gfx cards,
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
830 (0.23/day)
Likes
62
Location
Chicago
System Name Smilk
Benchmark Scores Infinite....
#23
So after reinstalling windows. I put myself back to where I had my 2 4870's crossfired. Then I shut down, installed the 4850, restarted, then it loaded the drivers, flickered the screen many times, but it lost signal, so then i shut down the pc, restarted and it was installed! Then i shut down, then installed the crossfire bridge and CCC let me chose either 2 gpu or 3 gpu config. I set it for 3gpu config and everything is working now. Im not sure what happened before or what I did differently, but it wasnt much. I am using the 9.2 catalyst driver btw.

Thanks everyone for all your help, I will post a screen shot of 3dmark soon. :toast: :respect:
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
830 (0.23/day)
Likes
62
Location
Chicago
System Name Smilk
Benchmark Scores Infinite....
#24
This is using 3Dmark Vantage

First Pic: 2GPU's crossfire OC'ed
Second Pic: 3 GPU's Stock
Third Pic: 3 GPU's OC'ed

Overall the 3 gpu running at stock speed = the score of 2 gpus overclocked. With 3 gpus oc'ed I jumped about 1,500 score points.

CrossfireX Setup:

1st: 4870 1GB
2nd: 4870 1GB
3rd: 4850 1GB

This is with running my 920 @ 3.4ghz

Opinions are welcome. Price vs Performance for this 3rd card, do you think it was worth the extra performance? Once I get some games installed I will see if their is a noticable difference. :rockout:
 

Attachments

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.80/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#25
nice runs domy, any 3dmark 06 action yet?