1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me break 3.5ghz !!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by shevanel, Aug 6, 2009.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Hardware:

    Evga 780i FTW

    G. SKill PI 1100mhz DDR2 2x2gb

    Antec EA650 earthwatts cpu

    E6600 core 2 duo VID 1.325 2.4ghz 4mb L@ cache

    Right now fsb is 1333 @ 3000mhz

    Mem speed is 1110 mhz 5-5-5-15 31 2T

    Unlinked of course.

    Vcore is at default, I pass prime95 all day at 3ghz ..

    If I run 3200 mhz, core 0 fails at 2hours or sooner, core 1 fails around the 9 hour mark @ default vcore.

    I have not raised my vcore any since Im already idling at 47-50c with a xigmatek

    What can I do to get this chip higher? I know all chips arent created equal but If not 3.5ghz Id like to try 3.25? :rockout:

    If you think its not possible or need more info please let me know.

    Thank you.
     
  2. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Unfortunately I think its your VCore, I think its time to raise it
     
  3. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    As of right now Im running P95 at 3150mhz and I DROPPED my vcore to 1.296..

    I want to see how my temps react to this lower vcore and how long it will stay stable.

    64-67 so far on load.. at 1.35 or 1.37 my max temps would be 75 round about
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,999 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,819
    Location:
    Florida
    you should try lapping and reseating that xig something isnt right iv throttled a E6400 to 3.9Ghz and i was just getting those temps at 1.45v on a core contact freezer
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    731 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    How is the airflow on your case? It can cause CPU temps to be a bit high even with a good cooler if not enough fresh air is coming in or hot air is circulating inside. See if leaving the side panel off drops your cpu temps a bit. On my AMD rig I had kind of high temps even once I put the Xiggy on. It wasn't till I switched out stock fans for higher CFM ones and added an intake fan the the Xiggy could really stretch its legs and it runs nice and cool now never over 56C.
     
  6. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    it's mostly warm in that pocket between the gtx 275, NB and the HSF.

    Ambient temps using speedfan report 44c
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)