• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help me chose my second Graphic Card

Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#1
Hi, I have a question regarding my second graphic card.

I actually have a radeon 6950 2gb (it's an XFX) I want to get myself another one to crossfire with my xfx...

should I get the exact same model, or can I buy the same card from a different brand (like HIS or MSI...)???

Also, there are a lot of XFX 6950 cards that have weird names like "695x-CNFC".... What's the difference between these and the ones with the normal name on 'em??

Also, what does Crossfiring involve? Must I reconfigure everything? If I already have my first card "shaders unlocked"... must I undo that unlock before crossfiring...?

Basically, can someone give me a little step-by-step guide to what I should do from purchasing the new card to installing it and configuring it?
 

Spectrum

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2011
Messages
473 (0.19/day)
Likes
46
Location
Surrey, UK
#2
i've never crossfired so i'm not 100% sure, but don't buy his or msi... xfx cards are very good. buy another one of those. (it will work with a HIS or MSI card though)
actually, if you have xfx, either buy another xfx or asus.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
does your XFX have a bios switch?

If so go for it... if not forget it!!! Loss!!!
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
i've never crossfired so i'm not 100% sure, but don't buy his or msi... xfx cards are very good. buy another one of those. (it will work with a HIS or MSI card though)
actually, if you have xfx, either buy another xfx or asus.
Sorry for the double post!!! But Im using HIS 6950's and both unlock.... The only thing XFX is good at is replacement lol
 

Spectrum

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2011
Messages
473 (0.19/day)
Likes
46
Location
Surrey, UK
#5
does your XFX have a bios switch?

If so go for it... if not forget it!!! Loss!!!


xfx has one.. msi doesn't?! why the hell did MSI remove it? there was a thread on here about a month ago where somebody had fucked up a bios flash on an MSI card and there was no switch.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#8
There's really no need to over-think it, you're just essentially installing two cards into your computer and installing one software driver to run em both. I'd recommend to get 2x reference models so that you can unlock them both as the reference models are the ones that come with dual BIOS.

Read this thread if you're new to crossfire http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51219
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
381 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
#9
put the second card in
boot up
open ccc
go to the crossfire page
is enable crossfire already checked? can you check it?
If you can't open device manager sleect your grapics card and uninstall the driver.
Reboot, go to ccc and enable crossfire(it may already be enabled now)
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#10
I have 8gb ram (2x4gb) (1600 mhz) 9 9 9 24.

Is there 8gb (2x4gb) ram sticks that have 2000mhz and good timings??? I've been lookin around but didn't find yet
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
532 (0.16/day)
Likes
157
Location
VA/PA
System Name Freyja
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) Diamond Radeon HD 7970
Storage Kingston HyperX 240 GB SSD + Seagate 2 TB HD
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case NZXT Tempest 210
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Seasonic X-Series 750W
Software Ubuntu 13.04 64 bit
#11
I have 8gb ram (2x4gb) (1600 mhz) 9 9 9 24.

Is there 8gb (2x4gb) ram sticks that have 2000mhz and good timings??? I've been lookin around but didn't find yet
I think you should start another thread for that, or at least get this thread moved to general hardware and the name changed, as it has nothing to do with graphics cards.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#12
I intend to upgrade my rig soon (adding another radeon 6950 and changing my RAM maybe...)

About the RAM... what should I do? I have 8gb (2x4gb) ram 1600 mhz running at 9 9 9 24... I've heard I could lower those timings... but frankly I'm no expert at tweaking the RAM settings... When I get in the configuration page in the bios for RAM... there are like 200 settings... makes me confused...

I was going to get myself another radeon 6950 to crossfire... but I've talked with a local computer technician who tells me that my motherboard might limit a little bit my Crossfire performance being that it will keep it at 8x instead of 16x PCIe...

He also seems to think that I should have faster RAM (2000mhz instead of 1600) He thinks it would allow for a better overclock and FPS increase and better crossfire performance...

But after what I read on the internet, it looks like just reaching the 2000mhz speed can be complicated with some mobos... Also I'm worried about temps... since my actual temps are just ok right now with the 1600mhz sticks. I guess I might have problems with the 2000mhz sticks...

How much of an FPS increase can you get out of 2x4b sticks 2000mhz?

Lastly, should I buy instead 2000mhz ram but lower its speed to like 1800mhz or even 1600mhz to get lower CAS... like 7 or even 6...???
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#13
ok then
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#14
List your system specs, brand/model of RAM, etc.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#15
i7 875k (Oced to 4.0 ghz with eco coolit water cooler), mobo=sabertooth 55i, 1x radeon 6950 2gb unlocked, 2x 4gb gskills ripjaws (red) 1600mhz (9 9 9 24 1t)
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2008
Messages
234 (0.07/day)
Likes
36
Processor i5 750
Motherboard EVGA P55 Sli Micro
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P
Memory G. Skill Ripjaws 4x4GB 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Msi GTX 465 Golden (flashed to 470)
Storage OCZ 60GB agility
Display(s) Sony SDM-HS95P
Case just sitting ontop of my mobo box
Power Supply Corsair HX 650
Software Windows 7 x64
#16
http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/1543/compare6950s.jpg

xfx has one.. msi doesn't?! why the hell did MSI remove it? there was a thread on here about a month ago where somebody had fucked up a bios flash on an MSI card and there was no switch.
why all the hate for msi? lol
the twin frozr is a non-reference design. it may not have a bios switch, but it has better cooling :)

if you buy a non-reference design xfx, there is no switch either.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
381 (0.16/day)
Likes
39
#17
the second card only being 8x is why I slurged on the rampage III over the sabertooth, also on the rIII you use slots 1 and 3 rather then 1 and 2 so you get some nice breathing room between the cards. If you have the spare scrilla might be worth considering.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#18
Yah agreed, but the time and trouble "switching mobos" involves makes me feel exhausted already...

Having to reinstall windows... reconfigure windows to my taste and overclocking everything.... arrrr no thx...
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#19
if you buy a non-reference design xfx, there is no switch either.
My non-reference XFX 6950 has a bios switch. Since some non-reference cards don't have them and some do, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to search for pictures of a product they want to buy as there's always different revisions coming out for products.
 

Spectrum

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2011
Messages
473 (0.19/day)
Likes
46
Location
Surrey, UK
#20
why all the hate for msi? lol
flakey. they're not as reliable as they could be.
xfx and asus are awesome.
however i couldn't find a picture of a bios switch or the crossfire port on the asus reference so i don't know if that has a bios switch. if i was to buy a 6950 i wouldn't buy a non reference card as i'd want to flash to 6970 bios.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#21
I have another question regarding my computer's monitor:

Considering that I have a radeon 6950 and that my actual monitor is a 24 inch 1920x1080 (max) (60hz max)...

Should I get myself a computer monitor that does 120hz???

As of right now, in demanding games like Crysis, I get around 30-40 FPS when I max everything out (including AA and such...)

Would I have the same performance on a 120hz monitor???
Or should I get myself another 6950 and crossfire to see the difference?

Don't tell me about 3D... I already know that a 120hz monitor is required for this (3d blu-ray movies and future 3d games....)

But in terms of performance and FPS, what are the differences between 60hz monitors and 120hz?

Do 24inch 120hz monitors have higher resolutions then 60hz?
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216 (0.48/day)
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#23
Is it possible to have 100 FPS+ on a 24inch screen 1920x1080 with enough Video Card power (crossfire and so fourth) ??
 

Spectrum

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2011
Messages
473 (0.19/day)
Likes
46
Location
Surrey, UK
#24
i have a 120hz monitor, and playing on a 60hz monitor is like lag. 120hz is only good for multiplayer fps like css, l4d etc
 
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
London
System Name Bamse
Processor Intel Core i5 4670k
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 4 x 8GB @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) MSI R9 390 Gaming 8G
Storage 1 x Samsung SSD 256GB; 2 x 1TB Western Digital
Display(s) LG 24"
Case Thermaltake Core V51
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Antec Current Gamer 620W
Mouse Roccat
Keyboard Roccat
Software Windows 10 64-bit edition
Benchmark Scores Fast enough
#25
Buy the same card. In this way you are sure that your CrossFire will not have problems