• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help me extend the signal from my router to my roomate please/

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.13/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#1
He is using a D-link N150 usb stick and I have a dlink n150 router.

he gets 7% signal while my other roomate on G gets much more.

the roomate with the low N signal is in the furthest room from my bedroom.. which is only about 30 feet?

the walls are like concrete.. I tried drilling into them for speaker mounts and it was a bitch.

Is there a way I can use a second router that I have to extend the signal to give him a better signal too?

What can I do to make his internet better?

should I try bigger anntennaes?
should i try some type of wireless extender? if so which one?

thanks for the help
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
30
Location
Staffordshire, UK
System Name My Updated Gaming Rig
Processor Intel Q6600 @ 3.15 GHz :-)
Motherboard MSI P6N SLI Platinum
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 8GB G.Skill DDR2 @ 5-4-4-14 (933mhz) OC :-)
Video Card(s) 2 BFG 8800 GTS 512 in SLi
Storage 2 500GB Hitatchi Sata 2 in RAID0 Hitatchi 1TB Sata2 for DATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 2232BW 22" LCD
Case Coolermaster Cosmos
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Akasa 850W Gaming PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Don't believe in benchies I prefer actually using the PC
#2
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#3
Visibility is main factor for longer distances. I have friend that did 25 km link with linksys wrt54gl with directional antennas with out amplifier for them. You could put directional antennas on on the windows pointing each other. Directional antenna would increase the signal but they are not much effective at home even do you know the location and direction of the router it is possible that the signal that you are getting are some kind deflection and could come from another direction.
You could put router on the other side that would receive internet from the wireless. WRT54GL has strong wireless provable better that the yours friend computer.
 

Gzero

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
718 (0.15/day)
Likes
52
Location
Scotland
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4x2gb G.Skill DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 1t
Video Card(s) HIS 4870 512mb - powerplay modded
Storage Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung LE40F86/Viewsonic vx2260wm
Case ThermalTake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 889
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
#4
I've went completely off wireless.

Using powerline (200mbps version from Intellon). It's not perfect (pings are always 3 ~ 5ms compared to wireless 1 ~ 2ms on small packets), but it is consistent especially if your electrical wiring is in better condition than the walls and neighbours you have.

Just some food for thought :p rather than faff around with angles and positioning.
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.13/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#5
Visibility is main factor for longer distances. I have friend that did 25 km link with linksys wrt54gl with directional antennas with out amplifier for them. You could put directional antennas on on the windows pointing each other. Directional antenna would increase the signal but they are not much effective at home even do you know the location and direction of the router it is possible that the signal that you are getting are some kind deflection and could come from another direction.
You could put router on the other side that would receive internet from the wireless. WRT54GL has strong wireless provable better that the yours friend computer.
I have another n router made by that cheap bestbuy brand or something.. it actually has 2 antennaes but didnt help the signal..

would it be possible to take the second router and install in the hallway to kinda push the wireless from my room to his?

the signal has to travel two thick walls... and moving the router/deks made no difference..

 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,525 (0.74/day)
Likes
506
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#6
I have another n router made by that cheap bestbuy brand or something.. it actually has 2 antennaes but didnt help the signal..

would it be possible to take the second router and install in the hallway to kinda push the wireless from my room to his?

the signal has to travel two thick walls... and moving the router/deks made no difference..

http://img.techpowerup.org/100327/rooms.jpg
Not all wireless routers have option to receive internet from wireless. And some that can could be difficult to set up. The better routers would let you do wireless networks scan and choose the network they would detect the type of encription and you just enter the password similar to like connecting from wireless card to router. But not all routers are that simple. I have come across router that reguires to enter the MAC address of the wireless router you try to connect and only supported WEP protection.
And not all routers can receive internet from wireless and are able to share the internet over wireless at the same time. But if you find router that can receive internet from wireless and can share it at the same time over wireless than you could put it at half the distance to have better distance.
 
Last edited:

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.13/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#7
so guys what should i do? should i try bigger antennaes on the router or get some type of wireless extender to put half way? are they easy to setup since the device will not be connected to a pc when put between the router and my roomates pc?
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
5,105 (1.33/day)
Likes
1,249
Location
Kansas
Processor Core i5 3570K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Pro4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory 2x4GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming
Storage 240GB OCZ ARC 100, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Antec P100
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64
#8
If your router is capable of hooking up dd-wrt put that on; it has some signal boosting capabiliteies.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
either run ethernet and put an access point closer to him (or just get him on wired, anyway) or do what has been suggested and use powerline 'homeplug' tech. wireless is not magic - you need good circumstances for it to work, and you do not have them.
 

Phxprovost

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
1,217 (0.38/day)
Likes
260
Location
Pennsylvania
System Name Result of Boredom
Processor AMD FX-6350
Motherboard ASUS M5A97
Cooling Enzo Tech Extreme-X
Memory 16gb ddr3
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Display(s) Asus 24in (1920X1080) X 2 @144hz
Case NZXT S340
Software WIN7 64bit HP
#11
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#12
Just some info: if you are living in an apt., dorm or such, they are newer, since the late 80s, I believe, they have firewalls(real ones for fire stoppage) made of some hard as steel material.
I use to run into the stuff as an installer, you have to go up and over and most of the time there ain't much room.

Like Mussel's said, powerline adapters.
Or, combo, powerline to access point. It works, I do it.
I use trendnet's stuff, works good. Make sure your power lines are on the same circuit(loop). It will work best that way. And, don't plug the power brick into a ups or filtered power strip; that is a no-no.

The ones I have. And the don't block both plugs, like some do. At Newegg and more.

And this is the access point I use, and both have been running over a year.
Newegg:TRENDnet TEW-637AP 300Mbps Wireless Easy-N-Upgrader
:)
 

933k

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
New Zealand
System Name V!RU5
Processor E8400 / Q6600 (still deciding which one to keep)
Motherboard GA-P35-D3SR
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-90
Memory 4GB Corsair
Video Card(s) Evga 8800GT
Storage Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Viewsonic VA2226w
Case RaidMax Ninja
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply RaidMax 520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 / Sabayon Linux 5.0 KDE 4.4.1 / OSX Leopard 10.5.8 IDeneb
#14
another method which i use is running ethernet through the buildings powerpoints

i use neverwire 14, simply just plug one bridge into a A/C outlet and the other connected into the router and you're ready to go also has a one button encryption/decryption for security and privacy
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
951 (0.33/day)
Likes
246
Location
Granby, Qc. Canada
System Name Loose nuts & bolts
Processor FX-8350 - EK Supreme HF full nickel
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Water EK goodness all around 2xBlack Ice X-280
Memory 2 x8G HyperX Fury 1600 @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) 2 x XFX RX 480 w/EK-FC RX 480 nickel+Acetal
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + 2xWD Black 500GB in RAID0
Display(s) Crossover 27" 2560x1440 110Hz OC
Case Cooler Master HAF XB EVO
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win 10 Enterprise x64
#15

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#16
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#17
Before you spend a dime, go to youtube and search for cheap wifi extender. There is a video that will show you how to use some cardboard paper and some alumnium foil to basically point the signal wherever you want.

Edit, heres the video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUTT8wdN_VA

Quote from the video: "Signal went up from 82% to 100%" Well worth the $0.02 cost and 10 minutes of time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
951 (0.33/day)
Likes
246
Location
Granby, Qc. Canada
System Name Loose nuts & bolts
Processor FX-8350 - EK Supreme HF full nickel
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Water EK goodness all around 2xBlack Ice X-280
Memory 2 x8G HyperX Fury 1600 @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) 2 x XFX RX 480 w/EK-FC RX 480 nickel+Acetal
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + 2xWD Black 500GB in RAID0
Display(s) Crossover 27" 2560x1440 110Hz OC
Case Cooler Master HAF XB EVO
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win 10 Enterprise x64
#18
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#19
very sure.

cat 5 is 100Mb to 100M
cat 5e us 1Gb to 100M
cat 6 is 10Gb to 100M


point is, for the shorter distances used in homes, you could get gigabit speeds from cat5 cable, let alone 5e
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#20
Wds
 

shevanel

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2009
Messages
3,464 (1.13/day)
Likes
396
Location
Leesburg, FL
#21
i wrapped a paper plate with tin foil and poked a hole so my router antennae would hold it up.. after trying different angles his reception has gone up to 13-16% from 5-7%

if i did it properly using the method in the video i should see more gains.. the paper plate was experimental.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
395 (0.12/day)
Likes
86
Location
Bydgoszcz, Poland
System Name "Złotko"
Processor AMD 1055T @ 3600 MHz
Motherboard Asrock 880G@890GX
Cooling Thermalright 120 Xtreme (lapped)
Memory A-Data 1600 Plus
Video Card(s) Asus HD6950 unlocked - WOW
Storage many more than you can imagine
Display(s) Acer AL1923 and Philips 40PFL5605H
Case Fractal Define R3
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music / onboard
Power Supply Seasonic M12D 850W
Software viruses, worms, trojan horses, spyware, adware, rootkits
Benchmark Scores 2.3 promile of alcohol in my blood and still standing
#22
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#23

regan1985

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,450 (0.34/day)
Likes
23
Location
Coventry UNI England
Processor yorkfield core 2 quad Q8200 3.2ghz 1.26v
Motherboard asus p5Q SE
Cooling akasa ak965
Memory Kingston 1066 2x2gb 1104mhz 2.2v
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD 2600 XT DDR3 857/1078
Storage 2X Samsung spinpoint 500GB 7200 4x 1tb samsung eco 5400
Display(s) 2xSamsung P2270 22" Widescreen
Case NZXT Hush Quiet Case in Black
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500w Silent Power Supply
Software windows 7 64
#24
powerline to access point is the cheapest way because its going to work!